We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping Trip and Camper Rental from Meacham's RV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great camping Trip and Camper Rental from Meacham's RV”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Our family of two adults a 7 year old and baby spent Christmas camping in Disney World Ft Wilderness Campground. The campground is wonderfully decorated for Christmas and provides easy access to the parks via Disney Transportation. We also found that we were very glad we reserved a camp site and rented a camper from Meacham's RV. Our camper was effortlessly delivered by Andrew from Meachams RV. He dropped it off for us and hooked it up - no effort from us.
The camper was perfect; clean, operating perfectly and comfortable. We did need to bring all of our own camping gear, linens and needs for inside the camper, he provided all that you need for the camper, propane, hoses, electrical hook up etc.
The ease and dependable service from Meacham RV and Andrew made our trip smooth and enjoyable. All deposits and payments where handled just as Andrew indicated and we had our deposit back before we landed back home. They are not just running a dependable business the Meacham’s are nice people. You won't regret enjoying camping in Florida or renting from Meacham’s RV. Thanks again Meacham’s from the Newsom’s from Seattle.
We really enjoyed all the activities of Ft Wilderness, be sure and splurge for a golf cart too its really a big part of the fun. Don't forget to plan time to enjoy camping we had park tickets for every day and could have done with a 50/50 split. The kids didn't realize when we were at the campground that we were not paying to be in the park becasue its certainly filled with Disney fun.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HHWEEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    379
    111
    63
    35
See reviews for
1,161
159
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

My family spent a week at Fort Wilderness Cabins this past fall, traveling with two teenagers. The campground was very nice, but covers a very large area. We rented a golf cart for the week to get around the campground, which ended up being extremely convenient. Without the golf cart, we would have been waiting for buses to take us anywhere we wanted to go in the campground. The cart allowed us to be spontaneous and was a very fun addition to the week.

The cabins are nice, but the sleeping accommodations are a bit odd. There is a Murphy Bed in the living room, a double bed and set of bunk beds in the bedroom. It would have been nicer if the master bedroom had a queen or king bed to allow privacy for the adults, with twin Murphy Beds in the living room, or a pull out bed in the couch. The beds were rather small and somewhat uncomfortable, but the quietness of the campground made up for this. It was wonderful not hearing neighbors and being able to fall asleep peacefully without noisy neighbors stomping above our heads! It was certainly peaceful.

Housekeeping leaves quite a bit to be desired at the cabins. Several days they took all our towels and left us with only two, when we had four people in the room. They did quickly deliver more when we called the front desk, however. Several days we tried to cook in the cabin to save money, but the "non-stick" pan had no Teflon left on it and everything stuck to it, the kitchen was not well stocked with pots and pans to use. We were unable to cook eggs, so we did make them in the microwave, but the housekeepers just threw the measuring cup we had to use into the dishwasher, but it was still caked with eggs after the wash cycle. A few of the days the dishwasher was not even run when we got back, so all the dishes were dirty.

We have stayed in the All-Star resorts many times, and this was the first time we strayed away from those. I will have to say that the bus system at the All-Star resorts cannot be beat. While the resorts themselves are farther away from most things, they definitely make up for it with the outstanding transportation services. It seemed everything was just a bit more difficult at the Wilderness Cabins.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbuffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We chose the cabins at Fort Wilderness because we did not want two hotel rooms with our 4 young children ages 3-12. Not a lot of choices in the moderate range resorts. The cabins were perfect for us. We had the dining plan, so did not use the kitchen much, but was nice to have. Our cabin in the 1700 loop was very clean, comfortable, and in a great location close to the swimming pool. We alloted one day as a resort day, and I wish we had more time to spend there. Mickey's beach party was great fun, and watching the fireworks and nighttime boat parade from the white sand beach was awesome. Try to get a cabin away from the bus stops or you will be listening to the beeping from the leaning buses all night. Leave lots of time when taking the boat to Magic Kingdom in the morning as the line and wait time is long. I would say be at the dock at least 40 minutes before you want to arrive at the park. We thought we left enough time with 25 minutes lead time, but missed the park opening show because the boat we were about to get on filled up. The next boat did not arrive until about 20 minutes later.
Staff at Fort Wilderness extremely helpful and friendly, especially Larry, who drove us and our luggage to our cabin. Restaurant had good food, and Hoop-De-Do Review is not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alpine524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is a great place to get away within a get away. You either take your motorhome or tent, or you can stay in a cabin. The resort itself has so many different activities from nature paths, exercise loops, canoeing, swimming, horseback riding or shows. If you wanted to you wouldn;t even have to go to Disney world because there are so many things to do there! During the fourth of July people decorate their motorhomes with patriotic atire, and same goes with all other holidays and decorating with themes. Getting to Disney world is just a quick boat ride away which is part of the fun! You can also take a bus if you prefer.
So much fun, cant imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summergirl887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

My family and I traveled to the Fort Wilderness Cabins the beginning of October. The cabins were absolutley wonderful. The housekeeping came every day and really kept our cabin cleaned and well supplied. The cabin area was a very quiet and peaceful place to stay which was a really nice change from being at the parks all day. Being able to cook meals was an invaluable asset to the cabin experience. Our family rented a golf cart from an off property vendor and its an absolute must when staying here. The golf cart we rented was half of what Disney wanted for there golf carts so I would highly recommed renting from someone off property. Overall it was a great experience and created many wonderful memories for my family to share.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybakin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2010

had a great time! beautiful place and would go back. but didnt understand why the large pool was heat and the kiddie areas where not?!?!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohyeah8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Beautiful place, easy to get around on the bus system but was shocked that you cannot have a fire at a campground! Not a question on my list to ask. You can use charcoal grill to cook but they have a no fire policy. The showers were temp controlled and cleaner than many hotels (i check for mold anywhere i go, there was none - this impresses me) Everyone was friendly and helpful. We plan to stay again as the price is right and the experience was overall great!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JensDiversion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 336 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Property: The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing