We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,880)
Filter reviews
1,880 results
Traveler rating
1,226
418
121
71
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,226
418
121
71
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rent a golf cart chip and dale trading post comfort station magic kingdom trails end the bus hoop de doo great campground trail's end pioneer hall campfire sing a long tent sites rv park fifth wheel nightly campfire boat parade
Filter
Updating list...
1,449 - 1,454 of 1,880 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

My family spent a week at Fort Wilderness Cabins this past fall, traveling with two teenagers. The campground was very nice, but covers a very large area. We rented a golf cart for the week to get around the campground, which ended up being extremely convenient. Without the golf cart, we would have been waiting for buses to take us anywhere we wanted to go in the campground. The cart allowed us to be spontaneous and was a very fun addition to the week.

The cabins are nice, but the sleeping accommodations are a bit odd. There is a Murphy Bed in the living room, a double bed and set of bunk beds in the bedroom. It would have been nicer if the master bedroom had a queen or king bed to allow privacy for the adults, with twin Murphy Beds in the living room, or a pull out bed in the couch. The beds were rather small and somewhat uncomfortable, but the quietness of the campground made up for this. It was wonderful not hearing neighbors and being able to fall asleep peacefully without noisy neighbors stomping above our heads! It was certainly peaceful.

Housekeeping leaves quite a bit to be desired at the cabins. Several days they took all our towels and left us with only two, when we had four people in the room. They did quickly deliver more when we called the front desk, however. Several days we tried to cook in the cabin to save money, but the "non-stick" pan had no Teflon left on it and everything stuck to it, the kitchen was not well stocked with pots and pans to use. We were unable to cook eggs, so we did make them in the microwave, but the housekeepers just threw the measuring cup we had to use into the dishwasher, but it was still caked with eggs after the wash cycle. A few of the days the dishwasher was not even run when we got back, so all the dishes were dirty.

We have stayed in the All-Star resorts many times, and this was the first time we strayed away from those. I will have to say that the bus system at the All-Star resorts cannot be beat. While the resorts themselves are farther away from most things, they definitely make up for it with the outstanding transportation services. It seemed everything was just a bit more difficult at the Wilderness Cabins.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbuffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We chose the cabins at Fort Wilderness because we did not want two hotel rooms with our 4 young children ages 3-12. Not a lot of choices in the moderate range resorts. The cabins were perfect for us. We had the dining plan, so did not use the kitchen much, but was nice to have. Our cabin in the 1700 loop was very clean, comfortable, and in a great location close to the swimming pool. We alloted one day as a resort day, and I wish we had more time to spend there. Mickey's beach party was great fun, and watching the fireworks and nighttime boat parade from the white sand beach was awesome. Try to get a cabin away from the bus stops or you will be listening to the beeping from the leaning buses all night. Leave lots of time when taking the boat to Magic Kingdom in the morning as the line and wait time is long. I would say be at the dock at least 40 minutes before you want to arrive at the park. We thought we left enough time with 25 minutes lead time, but missed the park opening show because the boat we were about to get on filled up. The next boat did not arrive until about 20 minutes later.
Staff at Fort Wilderness extremely helpful and friendly, especially Larry, who drove us and our luggage to our cabin. Restaurant had good food, and Hoop-De-Do Review is not to be missed.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alpine524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is a great place to get away within a get away. You either take your motorhome or tent, or you can stay in a cabin. The resort itself has so many different activities from nature paths, exercise loops, canoeing, swimming, horseback riding or shows. If you wanted to you wouldn;t even have to go to Disney world because there are so many things to do there! During the fourth of July people decorate their motorhomes with patriotic atire, and same goes with all other holidays and decorating with themes. Getting to Disney world is just a quick boat ride away which is part of the fun! You can also take a bus if you prefer.
So much fun, cant imagine staying anywhere else!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summergirl887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

My family and I traveled to the Fort Wilderness Cabins the beginning of October. The cabins were absolutley wonderful. The housekeeping came every day and really kept our cabin cleaned and well supplied. The cabin area was a very quiet and peaceful place to stay which was a really nice change from being at the parks all day. Being able to cook meals was an invaluable asset to the cabin experience. Our family rented a golf cart from an off property vendor and its an absolute must when staying here. The golf cart we rented was half of what Disney wanted for there golf carts so I would highly recommed renting from someone off property. Overall it was a great experience and created many wonderful memories for my family to share.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babybakin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

had a great time! beautiful place and would go back. but didnt understand why the large pool was heat and the kiddie areas where not?!?!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohyeah8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews