We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2005

Stayed at Fort Wilderness for 5 days in July and having stayed at other Disney Resorts was extremely disappointed.

The cabins are very nicely appointed, fully serviced and well equipped, but in Orlando in July you do not stay inside you accomodation you want to explore, the campground is remote in it's feel (some might say this is good), to use any of the amenities including the pool you either catch a bus for which there are three different colour coded routes, hire a golf cart at $44.00 a day plus tax or walk. You cannot drive to the shop or the restaurants.

The campground when we visited was full of tents and camper vans.

The pool we used whilst we were there was by definition medium to small in size with no slides for the children.

In the restaurant, the theme is tin plates and jam jars to drink out of, fun at first but when the service is abysmal and the food not in anyway on par with other Disney Resorts and expensive, there is no fun and you feel you are being taken advantage of.

The Hoop Dee Doo show is fun, the children would want to be seated downstairs and not around the balcony and the food and service compared to the rest of the resort.

Transportation to other parks and resorts is initially from the dock by boat over to the Magic Kingdom and connects from there, a good system that works well.

The shop or general store is very poorly stocked with everyday necessities and extremely expensive. Be prepared if you are going to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank UKGrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,615 - 1,621 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2005

Just got back from RVing at the campground. Campground is very nice and extremely spread out. It is a matter of personal preference as to which location you prefer to be near (the marina, pioneer hall, the pool etc.) We were in the 200 loop. Walking distance to the marina which we used often to Magic Kingdom and the Contemporary to catch the monorail and to dine at the Contemporary. We ate the dinner buffet at the Trail's End. Did not think it was worth the $70 to feed 2 adults, a teenager (considered adult) and an 8 year old. Can get a better quality meal at the Steak House at the Contemporary or in Downtown Disney. The showers are not kept up. I would go in there in the afternoon and whatever mess was there would still be there in the morning. There is a sign posted that says a room key is need from midnight to 6:00am to access but I always found the door readily accessible. Our cable hookup did not work properly with the cable we had been using at all other campgrounds thoughout our trip. I called and someone did come to check it out the next morning and claimed it was inside our camper. Bought another cable at the store at the campground. Still very poor reception. Very expensive to do laundry. Make sure you bring your own supplies. All single use items (detergent, bleach, softner etc.) are $1 each. $2.00 per load to wash and $2 to dry. There is a change machine available. Cost me $7 to wash, dry and purchase supplies for one load of towels (needed 2 cycles to dry). Campsites are nicely surrounded by trees giving some privacy from the neighbors. The bus pick ups are conveniently located within walking distance of any of the loops. Nicely paved walking paths are located thoughout the entire campground that make walking from one location to another pretty easy but you had better really be into to walking because locations are quite a distance apart. Golf carts are available for rent on a daily basis. Buses are always available usually with just a 10 minute wait. We rented a car for part of our stay fro the Alamo at the Car Care Center on Disney property. Big mistake for us! Better off using Disney transportation system. Since we are not avid Disney vacationers we were not familiar with the roads and spent way too much time trying to find our way around. Roads are not marked the best and you really have to be familiar with Disney terminology to decifer which direction you should be going or through which section you need to go to get to where you want to be.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank moutin.t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Beaufort,South Carolina
118
Reviewed August 21, 2005

We visited the Fort Wilderness Cabins from August 6-14. We had a wonderful time. There wasso much to do.. swimming, horsebacking, petting zoos, to much list. The cabins were like being at home. We have six in our family. 2 adults and 4 children. It was nice they could be in a place where they had so much room to be themselves. The cabins were spotless. They were very comfortable. We didnt have to ask for anything. Everything was there that we needed. They were cleaned on a daily basis and the lady who cleaned our cabin was just the sweetest person. The resort was huge so we rented a electric cart to get around with but dont get me wrong we also used the bus transportation a couple of times and it was great also. We would go by the beach at night and watch the fireworks from the magic kingdom. The kids loved it. The people were friendly. If we ever had a question they answered it with no problem. I met alot of people that week. It was like a family there. I hated to leave to go home, but I do plan on being back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2005

Was there with my hubby and son. So much to do! Petting zoos, pony rides, swimming, and the list goes on. The place is immaculate and the people are friendly. The best time was at the Hoop-De-Do Musical Revue in Pioneer Hall. Six Bits is the funniest character!! It was all you can eat sit-down dinner combined with a show and they include the audience. We laughed and laughed the night away! It's a definite must!! Reservations are a must. It definitely sells out!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Suuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit area
122
Reviewed July 21, 2005

This is the best campground we have ever been to, and we have been camping for years. It is very intelligently designed. The sites are large, mostly shaded, mostly full-hookups and are litteraly cut out of the trees. (No insects are not a problem here).
The cabins are very nice as well. Decorated and themed nicely. They are a real bargain if you have a larger family and want to stay inside Disney World.
This is a resort with a lot of activities, and folks here are having fun!
As a travel agent with 21 trips to Disney World under my belt, I would recommend this resort to most of my clients.

22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ky
116
Reviewed July 20, 2005

We got back last weekend and I am already planning out next trip to the cabins. They were the most comfortable and clean places I have ever stayed. The buses were easy to figure out and we never waited more than 5 minutes to be picked up. We also took the boat to Magic Kingdom and the monorail to Epcot. The kids loved it!! The crouds were on the big side but we heard alot of people evacuated for Dennis to Disney. We took advantage of Extra Magic Hours. Also I would recommend anyone staying at Disney to take the dining plan. We ate over $600 worth of eccellent food (5 people) all over Walt Disney World and it only cost us a mere $230 to add it to our package. One meal alone at the Coral Reef in Epcot was over $240 by itself. The desserts there are to die for!
We are going back and next time I will plan extra days just to spend at the Wilderness Resort there is so much we didn't have time to do!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2005

I was born and raised on Florida's east coast and We have stayed at Fort Wilderness at least twice a year since then (I'm 32). I Love it here! While it is expensive for campground prices, it is inexpensive for what you get by staying at Disney. To the poster who mentioned he had to take a bus everywhere...no you don't, try walking! It is a campground, not a hotel and most people bring supplies with them. If you do choose to take a bus, it takes less than 5 minutes normally. The campsites are always extremely clean and you cannot even see the next campsite for all the vegetation. There is so much for everyone to do (without even going into the parks)that the words "I'm Bored" will never exit anyones mouth.
If you can, bring your bicycles! There are plenty of paths and places to park your bikes! I highly recommend the canoeing as well. When I was little, we always did the campfire and sing a long with Chip and Dale. Very happy memories there and they still do it!
The comfort stations are always convenient and , need I mention, clean! If you want to reconnect with your family, over many generations or just one...or you are a couple looking for a little romantic camping trip with all the bells, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Peter's_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
4.5 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,314 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 342 in Orlando
5,379 reviews
3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
5.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $317 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing