We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAMPING WITH CLASS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is our second year to bring the grandchildren to Disney and camp at Ft Wilderness. This is the most inexpensive way to stay on a Disney Property and the most enjoyable. With shuttle service from your campground loop to a station to hop on a shuttle to Epcot, Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios and Downtown Disney. Go to the other end of the campground for a ferry ride to Magic Kingdom. You will see all sorts of campers here and the one thing they seem to have in common is everyone seems to be Disney Fanatics. It's fun just to walk through and see everyone's Disney displays. Although the park is tight you can get your rig in the spots. When we got here one of ours kids had fever and a sore throat. The park gave us some options and we called Doctors on Call Service. This service is awesome. Dr Steven Bockian came out to our motorhome and spent over an our diagnosing and visiting with us then called in the script and it was delivered to the office here at the campground. Best Dr experience I have had since Dr Brown used to come to our house in the 1960's.

Room Tip: Go ahead and splurge for the upgraded spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spudinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

If you love Disney World, or if you love nature and gorgeous weather, please find a way to stay at Fort Wilderness. We bring a motorhome and our dogs and we love it so much. It's a totally different feeling that Grand Floridian, or even Wilderness Lodge for that matter, but it is quintessential Disney. We've never stayed in the cabins, and I don't know how that would be, but in an RV you are bound to love it. Tons of trails, streams, deer, turkey, activities, ect. It's truly a blast for kids of all ages. I used to be a snob..."camping? You're joking." But I've seen the light here at FW. I don't like to camp anywhere else, and I won't cook, but the Magic Kingdom is a boat ride away so why cook anyway? Trails End restaurant used to be good. It's no longer tasty, but lots of other options close enough by. Walk to Wilderness Lodge! Dog park is great for your furry friends. Kids adore this place. Make a trip!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank JNTx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have 2 teenage children and wanted more than the hotel/motel experience. We have camping experience, so the thought of a "cabin" didn't concern us. The cabin was clean and well kept, yet still had a rustic, "camping" feel to it. The cabin was not "buggy" at all! We were amazed that there were no spiders or spider webs visible on the outside deck.
We stayed in the 2400 circle. We rented a golf cart for the week and highly recommend it. We did not cook at the cabin at all. The campground is very peaceful, and quiet. The cleaning crew was a bit rude, but everyone else was Disney quality.

Room Tip: A cabin close to the Meadows would probably be most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortyTude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

SIx of us (Me and my husband, our two kids (ages 2 and 4), and my parents) stayed at a cabin at Fort Wilderness for a Disney trip in early March. We love For Wilderness and had a great vacation! The cabin slept 6 comfortably (double bed and bunk in the bedroom, plus a murphy bed in the living area), had a full kitchen, deck with picnic table, and charcoal grill. We used the kitchen and grill daily for our midday meals during breaks from the Parks. We ended up only getting the cabin cleaned on two of our six days, not because housekeeping wasn't coming by, but they were only coming by in the middle of the day after we had already returned from the parks for a break and our kids were napping. (The cabins were otherwise very clean, but my four year old did find a very old, very disgusting piece of meat under the couch.) I would highly recommend a golf cart, which adds about $60 daily to the price of your stay. It helps with transportation so you don't have to catch a bus to get on another bus (or boat) to get to the parks, and most of the cabins are also far away from the Meadows area, where the big pool is along with the nighttime campfire and movie activities. There is a smaller, quieter pool near the cabins which my kids were very happy with. There are lots of activities to do at the campground when not visiting the Parks (pool with waterslide (with extremely attentive lifeguards), toddler/preschool pool area with shallow water, slides,and waterfalls, playgrounds throughout the campground, basketball, horesback riding, boat rentals, bike rentals, etc.).
Overall, we had a wonderfull time here and would definitely consider Fort Wilderness again for another Disney vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UPtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have stayed at Fort Wilderness many times and it will remain on our list of vacation favorites. It is the most economical way to stay on Disney property and, unlike the value resorts, there is a waterslide in the pool & a hot tub. Every camping loop has a giant comfort station with showers,bathrooms, ice machines & a laundry area. The sites are well groomed with level pads for your tent or camper. As with any other Disney resort there are many transportation options available for free.

Room Tip: Take a look at a campground map to help determine which loop you'd like to request (I.e. close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crysnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family and friends recently stayed at the cabins at Fort Wilderness. We had a great time. The reservation staff was very accommodating. They took care of any issues very promptly and thoroughly. The cabin itself, was very clean and well maintained every day. There was enough room for 6 of us. 2 adults, 3 teen, and 1 preteen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Decemberschild61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in a cabin on loop 2600, loved the location! Close to the "quiet" pool and the Reception Outpost. We cooked all our meals inside the cabin. Full kitchen with all the gadgets. Had a DVD player and enjoyed watching movies.
In the bedroom 1-double bed, it was comfie, and a set of bunks,the living room had a murphy bed, also comfie. The cabin is just adorable a little home away from home.
We rented a golf cart to zoom around the resort, that was a blast! It was the highlight to my 12 year old g-daughters trip.
Nice, reasonable priced General Stores that even offer delivery. Dinner buffet at Trails End was family friendly, decent food and priced right,
Of course, there are buses to all of the Disney attractions and a boat direct to the Magic Kingdom.
You cannot go wrong with this Family Fun Resort! We are going back!
.

Room Tip: We loved the 2600 loop,by the "quiet pool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mckenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caribe Royale Orlando
#91 of 340 in Orlando
3,479 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $81 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing