We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet Side of Disney World, IMO the Best Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet Side of Disney World, IMO the Best Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in a cabin on loop 2600, loved the location! Close to the "quiet" pool and the Reception Outpost. We cooked all our meals inside the cabin. Full kitchen with all the gadgets. Had a DVD player and enjoyed watching movies.
In the bedroom 1-double bed, it was comfie, and a set of bunks,the living room had a murphy bed, also comfie. The cabin is just adorable a little home away from home.
We rented a golf cart to zoom around the resort, that was a blast! It was the highlight to my 12 year old g-daughters trip.
Nice, reasonable priced General Stores that even offer delivery. Dinner buffet at Trails End was family friendly, decent food and priced right,
Of course, there are buses to all of the Disney attractions and a boat direct to the Magic Kingdom.
You cannot go wrong with this Family Fun Resort! We are going back!
.

Room Tip: We loved the 2600 loop,by the "quiet pool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mckenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    358
    107
    63
    30
See reviews for
1,093
142
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We reserved and paid deposits in August for this family gathering during Thanksgiving weekend to attend Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party. Our family is a frequent Walt Disney World/ Fort Wilderness family. We were at Disney World with one child on opening week in 1972 and started coming to the campground as soon as it opened. We requested cabins, 3 of them, in the 2100 loop near the meadows. SURPRISE!! Our cabins were in the center of 2800, far from the bus stop and ANY recreation which we so enjoy. The sofa was grimy, several things had to be replaced during our stay..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grannytravels777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just returned from a weekend camping at Disney's Fort Wilderness campground with our children (ages 6 & 9). It was exactly what I would expect from camping at Disney World. The customer service is exceptional. The facilities are clean and well maintained and there is no shortage of activities for families. We were tent camping, so we were given a spot that had plenty of room for two family-size tents, one minivan, one pickup truck, and two golf carts. The kids had a blast riding around on the golf carts, swimming in the pools, and playing on the playgrounds.

All that being said, I would not recommend Ft. Wilderness to anyone looking to experience nature of have a quiet weekend hiking or bird watching. The buses ran all night and they camp sites are close enough to hear everyone around you. For me, it's about expectation. If you want the Disney experience in a tent, camper, or cabin, then this is a great choice. If you want quiet, nature, hiking, bird watching, etc., I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Overall, we had a great experience and my kids had a blast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Smokymtnmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We do the Very Merry Christmas Party every year. Little one loves the Toy Soldiers & the Christmas parade at the Magic Kingdom. We love the fact that during the Party it is less crowded and watching the fireworks up front on Main Street with hardly anyone around is so awesome & you can also pick a good spot for the parade because that is where it ends :) As well as just practically walking in to visit Mickey & Santa with hardly any wait time. Because most are down in front of the castle watching those events. The front entrance on Main Street if the place to be. Fort Wilderness is our stay & has been since the early 80's. Seen all kinds of changes(good & not so good) but we still love going & always will. Will be heading back first of May (little ones birthday visit). We rent a golf cart now days (we used to ride our bikes back in the day) but as we have all aged we have gotten a little lazy, lol :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NativeSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently stayed here for one week, in one of the cabins. There is transportation to everywhere on the resort and all the parks. The cabins come equipped and have everything down to a can opener and tongs for the little charcoal park grill they provide. The rooms were big enough for our 3 adults and 2 children. The maid service was just excellent, running the dishwasher when I forgot, always making sure the garbage was taken out. There is so much to do when you add the amusement parks into the mix, that one week just isn't enough to fit it all in. I would definately recommend a cabin over one of the all star resorts, as I've stayed in them as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here at the end of February in a pop up camper with 2 small children. Beautiful campground, VERY clean, toddler water slide / play area and larger pool are awesome. Bath house very clean and accessible. It is a large campground and a little bit difficult to navigate. The loops near the marina / restaurants are premium due to access to parks, etc. The large pool / rec area is centrally located and another great place to try to stay. Our site was closer to the front of the campground. You will either want a golf cart, bikes or be okay giving yourself about 1 hour to get to the parks. Internal bus system is confusing and a little frustrating. The magic kingdom water light parade plays loud music nightly around 9:30 - just a warning for those w/little ones. Otherwise, wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our family stayed for 10 days, 9 nights in our 5th wheel trailer the end of January 2014. Everything about this park is just awesome! Easy check-in, beautiful clean sites. This campground has everything you need. You can rent golf carts to get around the campground if you wish, we were glad we did for a day so we got to see everything! The campground is very clean, and surprisingly quiet. We loved the pool, its huge! the kids loved the splash pad, and the water slide! There was so much to do right in the campground, so we didn't need to go to the parks everyday. I couldn't get over how easy it was to go to the parks, either by bus or boat from the campground. We were to any park in no time!
We got to enjoy the fireworks at the beach and the electric boat parade, both were amazing~
We also took in both the Hoop Dee Doo (a dinner and musical) and the Trails end restaurant. I recommend both, especially the Hoop Dee Doo! Both of these restaurants are at the Fort Wilderness Campground by the beach. We just loved our family trip. "It was the best trip ever!" as my kids keep saying! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 333 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Property: The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing