We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to go camping' if u get can get a reservation!!??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to go camping' if u get can get a reservation!!??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a cool' fun place to camp and what appeared to be safe from most of Floridas wildlife that you do not wont to run into while camping with small children than Disney's camp fort wilderness is the place. Its the coolest place I have ever camped ' we pitched our own tent and the location was fabulous and it was very clean and very friendly staff' overall but if you won't to get around 'and don't have bikes of your own than they have golf carts to rent and bikes u can rent as well its a must at the campground ' there's no other way to get to places because there's no parking anywhere for a car or access for cars besides at your campsite. Book in advance is also a must ' there practically always sold out of campsites and golf carts too' we were put on waiting list the whole time ' so make sure you book way in advance ' like 6 to 12 months if possible ' for both golf cart and campsites too! That's the only think I have to say I am very frustrated with is it never shows availability for us to be able to book a tent campsite' for any dates we have looked at this year' we traveled there labor fat weekend and have waned to go back for another short weekend because we live in Tampa and I still haven't seen any available.... Be sure to book way in advance..... Chad

Tampa, fl

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    374
    110
    63
    34
See reviews for
1,143
157
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are not campers in the usual sense of the word but we loved the cabins at Fort Wilderness. We went years ago with our children and a few months ago we took our grandchildren. The cabins are a great experience, 4 bunkbeds, a double bed and a Murphy bed which the kids thought was really cool.
We rented a golf cart for a day and it was definitely the best way to get around. The launch area is great for traveling to other places like the Magic Kingdom, Wilderness Lodge and the Contemporary. We had never taken the kids to Chef Mickey and we were lucky enough to get a table by just walking up. We loved the Hoop de Doo Revue and the wagon ride in the evening where we were able to see how creative campers can be. We will definitely do this again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We went on our first rv trip to Walt Disney world and had a blast! The accommodations for the rv were easy to figure out and the landscaping was great. It kept the area very private like you were out in the middle of no where. We had shuttle pickup to take us to the parks and it was a breeze getting to and from. Kids loved it!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

FW is by far the hest campground we have ever stayed at. Our RV was hard to back into the site, but other than that we had no problems. The location was great. Staff and fellow campers were very nice. Pool was clean and a lot of fun. Transportation to the parks was fine. Clean restrooms. Entire family had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optimuscamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

What can we say? We LOVE everything about Disney but even with a camping environment they still impress! We stayed in the cabins and Wow!!! It had everything! Ample room! Came with kitchen stuff and all we needed to buy was food which we could conviently order and have delivered to our room from the trading post! We had te appeal of a real campsite yet the feel of a resort! Convient shuttle buses or you can rent golf carts and you can also take a ferry across the lake to magic Kingdom!!! How awesome is that?? We had a blast and would definitely do it gain!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinalatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from our annual Labor Day trip to Fort Wilderness. Each year we spend Labor Day weekend with about 40 friends. All are families with children ranging in age from 3 years old to 15. We stay in the cabins and have a fabulous time!
The cabins are clean (housekeeping comes each day and even does the dishes!), well-equipped (full kitchen, utensils, plates, appliances), and large enough to sleep six adults. I would highly recommend renting a golf cart as it makes it much easier to get around the campground. There are several pools on the property. The main pool is the largest (and most crowded), so get there early on a weekend to get a good spot. Fort Wilderness has so many activities we never even go to the parks. Food is ok. The one main restaurant is a buffet, but the kitchens and grills make it so convenient to cook your own meals. We always attend the Hoop De Do dinner show. It is a highlight of our trip. Great family fun for all ages. Plus, all you can eat and drink!
On weekend nights, there is a campfire and sing-along followed by a movie. The kids love it!
It is very easy to get to the parks. The shuttles run continuously. We are locals and do not feel the need to go during this trip.
I would definitely recommend this resort if you have little ones. The separate sleeping quarters (bunk beds plus a queen in one bedroom and a murphy bed in the main room) make it ideal for "separate bed time" families. Plus, it's always nice to feed your kids a breakfast like they have at home, rather than spending money on an overpriced hotel breakfast. It's also a great place to take a break from the parks and just relax with some privacy.
My family cannot wait to go back next Labor Day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very happy with the cabin accomodation. It was very confortable with a complete kitchen. The only problems are there is no place to put your stuff away and we had to live from our suitcases. Also, we did not realize we could have other cookware by asking the front desk. In all the place was great!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a cabin near the entrance or the boat side so that the travelling by the insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Property: The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing