We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week holiday in a cabin with my husband and 2 daughters 15 & 12. It was beautiful, clean, spacious, in keeping with the theme and an ideal base to visit all Disney parks either by bus or boat as we were able to reach any park within 30 minutes and we visited them all, some several times! This cabin allowed us to enjoy the holiday in addition to the parks as the small pool at loop 2400 was quiet and relaxing and we sat in the Jacuzzi till very late one evening - it was delightful after a day in the parks. The bus service around the campground and to the parks was great, we did hire a golf cart for 1 day (costly) for the fun but felt it was not needed as buses are frequent enough. My husband and I also enjoyed walking a few mornings which was very pleasant as the grounds are beautiful and tranquil. We ordered breakfast supplies from garden grocer and this was perfectly delivered in time for our arrival and we used the quick service dining plan for all other meals in the parks and campground. The quick service plan provides sufficient allocation per person but they seriously need to alter the 'entrée, dessert & drink' to allow a side instead of a dessert in locations or increase the choice of desserts as they are pretty awful! All in all this was a fab holiday and I wouldn't hesitate to come again.

Room Tip: we were given a cabin in loop 2400 and this was serviced by 2 internal buses so contributed greatly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hotel048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    377
    111
    63
    35
See reviews for
1,158
159
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Fort Wilderness with our 3 children. The log cabins are cosy and comfortable. The kids had the bedroom and we slept on the Murphy bed which was more comfortable than I had expected! The bus service around the park was excellent, as was the bus services between the different parks - we waited no longer than 15 minutes. Housekeeping was great (thank you Maria!) and the kids loved the towel characters. Magic Kingdom is just a short boat ride across the lake and again, this service was excellent. If you didn't want to brave the crowds at Magic Kingdom to watch the Wishes fireworks, you could watch them from the lake jetty, accompanied by the music! The kids also loved watching a movie by the campfire. All of the staff we met, including the bus drivers, were very helpful and friendly. We went to the Hoop Dee Doo Revue which was very enjoyable with plenty of food and drink! We would definitely stay here again if we're lucky enough to return to WDW.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic log cabin, ideal if you have more than 2 kids. Still first class if you don't. This accommodation offers the best of a Centre Parcs feel whilst providing all the Disney add ons and experiences.
The cabin comprised a bedroom with a double bed and bunks with the addition of a pull down double bed in the living room. This enabled the kids to have their space, including a tv etc. whilst providing separate space for us. Something a hotel room/suite could not offer. The kitchen and dining area gave added flexibility with dining with 3 tired kids.
Constant buses circulating the resort plus buses to the parks meant moving around was easy. There was also the ability to catch a ferry direct to the Magic Kingdom - a hit with the kids - all of which ran well into the night an early hours.
The accommodation was spotless and the housekeeping staff were first class. All staff were impeccably polite and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
We used a dining plan to make eating easier with the kids - well recommended.
All in all a fantastic holiday that ticked all the boxes - if you have more than 2 kids the Fort Wilderness camp ground (log cabins) is highly recommended.
Oh and they loved the open air movies round the camp fire rounded off by watching the Magic Kingdom fireworks from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is our 6th stay at the fort and enjoyed it as usual. Clean and safe. Employees are helpful and courteous. The lifeguards are on their A game.

The nightly prices as usual are a little step, but that is the Disney way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We camped here in our 5th wheel. The thing that surprised us was the view. Yes, a view. Who would think you'd have a forest view from your trailer at WDW? It was quiet. The bathrooms (comfort stations) were all with AC and clean. The laundry room was large, cool and newer machines (not cheap though). This is the only way to experience all of WDW at a reasonable price. Once we realized we could save $$$'s in our trailer instead of a hotel, we are going back a 2nd time in the same year! Be sure to rent a golf cart though. The grounds are so huge that you could end up waiting 30 minutes just to get on the bus to the front of the property to catch the bus to the parks. If it's timed perfectly, it's a short wait, but if you miss the timing......it took us 1.5 hours one time to get from our trailer to one of the parks. We are definitely renting a golf cart this next time. The restaurant (buffet) is pricey, especially for what you get, and the ambiance is not that great. The bar closes too early. The boat/ferry to Magic Kingdom is a nice touch....better than taking a freezing bus. We plan on attending the campfire sing-a-long next time if the weather is good. Be sure to stay at least 5-7 days so you can take a day to really enjoy the campground (pools, campfire, store, walks or bike rides, etc.). You can also rent a boat at the lake. So much to do!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maureenskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I camped at Ft Wilderness during Spring Break of 2013 (late March) and we had an amazing time. First things first; it's Disney, so it's still going to be more expensive than a regular campground. However, this campground is very well run and kept, just like everything with the Disney stamp on it. The spots for campers were spacious, and most, if not all, came with bbq grills and picnic tables. We were located in a central area to the pools and the "trading post" which sold those things you always forget but still need...at a hugely marked up price. However, you forget about those high prices when walking to the pools, enjoying the wild life (we saw wild turkeys and armadillos) and the nightly fireworks at the Magic Kingdom. We walked to the "beach" area, set up chairs and sat back and relaxed and watched the nightly firework show and didn't have to fight the crowds at the park to do so. So easy to actually enjoy the parks when you are 1) so close to them and 2) able to camp in the Wilderness and enjoy nature!
Pointers....1) rent a golf cart. it makes getting around the campground so much easier and you don't have to use the in-campground buses. They run pretty regular but being able to pick up and go is very nice. 2) The showers and bathrooms (comfort stations) are so nice...but better to use them early morning or late night, as they get crowded. However, we never waited too long and the water pressure and temp is wonderful. 3) avoid the "trading post" if you can...Holy Cow do they mark up the prices!
All in all, such a great time camping and the added bonus of a few trips into the parks. Being able to make many of your own meals takes the sting out of Disney park prices, for sure. We will def camp here again...and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Partyof4Alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ok....First things first......It's Disney! The name alone means you will pay more for your site and everything else. Get past that and you're in for a truly special experience done the "Disney" way. We camped with our fully self contained popup trailer for eight days. Disney offers several different levels of campsites. We chose a premium site. The most money, but it gets you an extra large concrete pad, upgraded table and grill, plus excellent access to all the campground amenities including the pool, the trading post, and even a camp fire and movie amphitheatre. One drawback to traditional camping is Disney's strict restrictions on site campfires. They permit them but ONLY in portable campfire units that have a solid top. Kind of a bummer for folks like us who enjoy a nightly fire when we camp. They also have cabins for rent in several loops. Folks we talked to say they're really nice for families. We also rented a golf cart. Overly expensive but we had a blast with ours and used it continually. The week we were there was one of the rainiest we've EVER encountered at WDW so we were truly glad we had the preferred site. We saw many of the sites in other loops totally surrounded by water. Having been there before, we knew the over abundance of rain was the reason. During the rest of the year, most sites are considerably drier. The property has two trading posts (both nicely stocked with supplies and souvenirs), a convenient restaurant (with take out), and two swimming pools. Since our children are grown, we enjoyed the smaller pool located over in the cabin loops. Many mornings we were the only folks in the pool. It was great! Of course there are a myriad of activities from which to choose including horse back riding, bicycling, Segway tours, fishing in the canals, and more. Transportation to the parks can get frustrating at times. Buses do not run as frequently as they perhaps should and they often get VERY crowded. A boat serves the Magic Kingdom and we suggest using that for EPCOT as well. Simply get off at the Magic Kingdom and hop the Monorail to the Ticket and Transportation Center. Then switch onto the EPCOT Monorail. Not sure if it saves any time, but it's a lot more fun! There are a lot of guides to WDW. Research the ones available to help you understand it all. There is also a VERY useful Fort Wilderness Facebook page and a website dedicated to "Fort Friends" with all kinds of information and even pictures of the campsites. Truthfully we love the "Fort"! Yes you can camp elsewhere for less, but the quality and charm of Disney makes this place very special. We will deduct one star because of the price and transportation challenges, but we still think there is no place like the "Fort".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Docksider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 336 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Property: The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing