We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Nearby Hotels
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$69
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$364
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$209
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$702
$359
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Disney's Pop Century Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$199
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveler rating
1,157
401
119
66
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,157
401
119
66
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrent a golf cartchip and daletrading postcomfort stationmagic kingdomtrails endthe buscamping experiencegreat campgroundtrail's endpioneer hallhoop de doocampfire sing a longtent sitesrv parkfifth wheelnightly campfire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Disney does a fantastic job of making this a safe, family friendly experience. We have never camped before so this was what I call, camping "lite". The facilities are clean, spotless and very well maintained. The campsites vary in size and shade but overall are adequate. You can't drive on the property except in and out so be sure to bring bikes or rent a golf cart if you want personal transportation beyond your feet. Also, the transportation around the campground and to the Disney parks is on time and very efficient. The bike rentals and canoe rentals are a great value and how we spent most of our time. I would have preferred if they had a non-Segway trail we could have used to explore the woods.
Bring all you need, the shop as you would expect has terribly high prices so make a list before you go.
The worst part of the trip was the food options which were overpriced and really sub-par. But if you are camping, shouldn't you really rough it and cook your own food? (Everyone except me)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TastyTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a wonderful place. Great pools, beach area, terrific entertainment with the Chip and Dale Campfire every night. The night time fireworks and light parade on the water were wonderful. You can take boats to the Magic Kingdom and to the Contemporary Resort where we sat and had coffee and dessert..... just a lot to do if you are not going to the parks. Like you read in so many reviews the facility is huge, so on our first day we opted to rent a golf cart which adds an additional $60 per day, and like most we booked this trip at Fort Wilderness to save money yet still stay on a Disney property. The bad was Nothing to do with Disney and everything to to with people. If you want a quieter experience avoid the tent loops at all costs. We were in a pop up in space 2054. First these are tent sites on a sandy pad...that sand gets everywhere. This is Disney so we expected children, but parents have seemed to forget to teach respect. We had kids shouting, screaming, riding through our campsite. My daughter got run over by a kid on a bike riding at the comfort station, do you think their parent even said anything let alone sorry..no in fact she looked at my daughter as if to say how dare you be walking into the bathroom. Their also seems to be no emphasis on enforcing the quiet time. Combined with buses running until the wee hours...I had to sleep every night with ear plugs. When we drove through the loops with RV's they seemed much quieter. Personally I would never stay at Fort Wilderness again unless I could stay in an upgraded site, and by the time you add in the Golf Cart cost and the cost of fuel to haul the camper...you have probably wiped out most of the savings.

Room Tip: If you are in a pop up and choose a tent / pop up site ...bring mats and a broom the sand gets everywhere.If you are looking for a more laid back quieter Disney experience...upgrade your site.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kconard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great experience staying in a cabin--we are not campers, nor do I wish to be, but this gave us the camping experience without the actual camping part. We have stayed at multiple Disney Resorts, Polynesian, Wilderness Lodge (twice) Contemporary (twice) by far this was my favorite. If you are looking for hotel amenities, room service, spa, etc... this is not for you. HOWEVER, the cabin was very clean, it comfortably slept 2 adults and 2 teens. A second bathroom would have been beneficial, but we made it work.

I did not give housekeeping/cleanliness 5 stars because the first day the house keeping was a bit spotty. Whoever cleaned the second day did a much better job, including making the beds, which they did not do the first day.

Transportation to the parks seems well organized, buses and a boat launch (to the Magic Kingdom)-- we rent a car and transport ourselves so can't comment on efficiency.

You do know you are on a Disney property staying on the camp ground, but with the abundance of trees and the on-site outdoor actiivities, it feels more natural and subdued than the resorts--and we were there during one of the busiest weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcg2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

You're roughing it without totally roughing it - it's everything a mom could ask for! You have the comfort of showers and bathrooms with the serenity and simplicity of the campsites. Just a short, fun golf cart ride away and you could be sliding into a huge pool or watching movies and roasting s'mores by the campfire. I would recommend getting the golf cart, it makes going place to place so much easier and it's fun for the kids. Bravo Disney!

Room Tip: Try to get a campsite by the water if you can
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent a week at Fort Wilderness (March 16-23). We come to Disney often but had never camped before. Disney makes even camping a magical experience. When we drove up, we didn't even have to get out of our car to check in. The employees check you in at the gate and you drive right to your spot. We had requested ahead of time to be near the marina, so we were able to walk straight to the boat which you catch to Magic Kingdom. At night we were able to easily go to Magic Kingdom for a few hours after dinner. The pool facility was nice, and our children enjoyed the waterslide. The bike paths were convenient for getting around the campground. Our site was wide and had plenty of room for our slide out. We were only disappointed when our daughter couldn't ride the horses. She is 7 and was too tall to ride the ponies (have to be under 48 inches) and too young to ride the horses (have to be 9 years old).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews