We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best RV campground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Maybe the best RV campground”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We've camped here 3 times in our motorhome, there's really nothing like it. Perfect sites and amenities, lots to do, with or without the parks, and maybe the cleanest facilities we've experienced. We usually tow a vehicle, but you really don't need one here, they rent golf carts by the day or week. We have been coming to Disney for years, and have stayed at most of the resorts, but this is the best value. Rent an RV, if you don't own one, and give this a try!

Room Tip: pick a loop close to the lake, where the boats depart for the other resorts, and parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rusty1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    387
    115
    64
    35
See reviews for
1,185
161
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myerstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's hard to beat this place when you are looking for a place to camp at/near Disney. Simply getting the benefits of being at a Disney resort should be good enough, but they really do a great job. Big beautiful level sites, and they are always helpful to get you a site that suits your needs. We have stayed in many of the loops, and they are all great! We have visited Ft. Wilderness over 10 years in a row now, and it always gets better! Lots of activities, and all the magic you would expect from Disney! Great, clean bathrooms, plenty of laundry facilities, staff is great and sites are always clean. We even stayed here to visit other Orlando attractions without going to the Disney parks. Really a top notch campground!

Room Tip: 100, 200, 300, 400 loops are a quick walk to the boat dock to the Magic Kingdom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAAMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The cabins you stay while there are pleny spacious for a family. The main bedroom has bunkbeds and a full bed. The living room had a murphy bed. The kitchen had a full size fridge, oven, microwave, dishes provided. It was having all that so you can actually eat and cook food yourself instead of eating at the parks. We also rented a golf cart, which is highly recommended. The area is so large you need some kind of transportation to get around. The smores making with chip and dale were fun for the kids to take part of. The beach area was relaxing to just sit and watch the fireworks from the park. The staff was very friendly when we checked in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonotosassa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the cabins on this visit and it was so much nicer than staying at a hotel. You had all the luxury but best of all with a family of 5 everyone had a place to sleep and didn't have to pay for 2 rooms. We had a full kitchen to prepare meals but also had full housekeeping which you don't get when you stay at a condo. We enjoyed all the campfire, movies, fireworks and lighted boat show. We did not eat at the buffet because in times past we have found it expensive but lacking in quality. We also rented a golf cart on this visit which was a lot of fun but the bus service is so good, don't know if we'll do it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm bch florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the camp grounds are beautiful and clean . we do a camp site with a tent and just love how wonderful it feels to be there , friendly people and kids having fun riding bikes and playing ball. the pool is fantastic and you can stay there a month without going to the parks there is so much to do. bathrooms and showers are very clean . going in fall for Halloween is the best time , people have their campsites and campers decorated and kids can trick or treat. the campfire and singalong is the best . fun family times. you have hookup for electric and cable and internet at your campsite and lockers and ice close by . love this place good old fashioned back to basics family fun.

Room Tip: ask for a campsite near the rest/bathroom areas . camp fire and marshmellow roasts a must do .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stwgfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay in the cabins at fort wilderness because we wanted somewhere peaceful and relaxing to come back to after long days in the parks. The cabin was just perfect for that.

The cabins are rustic and quite dark but that is all part of the theming. They are clean and homely though.

My wife and I slept on the pulldown bed in the lounge leaving the bedroom for the kids. This worked well. The bed was quite comfortable.

The only negative points were around service. We stayed at a quiet , off season time and even so we waited 40 minutes at checkin. All the checking desks were open but the process is very very slow. There were only a few people in line ahead of us.
The other issue was that housekeeping forgot to service our cabin on one of the days we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trew68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We bought a new RV and decided to try Fort Wilderness since it was a relatively short drive for a long weekend. We LOVED it so much we have gone back again and have two more trips planned within the next few months. We stay in the premiere campsites due to the size of your site, which is spotless. Each camping cul de sac has its own laundryroom and showers that are very clean. There is something for everyone without having to do a theme park. There is a child-friendly outdoor movie at night, water show in the lagoon at night, canoe and boat rentals, horseback riding, etc. Your kids are safe taking off to explore on their bikes!

You can rent a golf cart for the day, but that is a little pricey. There is bus transportation that takes you anywhere within the campground or Disney properties. There is boat transportation from the dock to the Magic Kingdom and Wilderness Lodge (another must see.). Since it is Disney, there are no pesky mosquitoes or no seeums at night making it very comfortable to be outside.

I am told Christmas in the campground is fun since everyone decorates. We are returning for a week the second week of December just to experience that.

Yes, there are less expensive campgrounds, but they will not have the amenities and great campsites as Fort Wilderness.

Room Tip: I would pay a little more and opt for a premiere site if in a motorhome or towable RV. Ours is 31...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Property: The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing