We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
Ranked #142 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
A TripAdvisor Member
“Comfortably adequate”
Reviewed January 29, 2006

This was our first time at this hotel and we found it to be everything you could expect from an economy location. No, it doesn't have all the little extras you find at the more expensive resorts but who wants to pay a few hundred dollars more for a hair dryer and coffee maker? The cast members were very freindly, particularly the woman at the Food Court register who always greeted my wife with great enthusiasm. The buses(when we used them)were convienent. If I had any problem it was with the front desk which was badly understaffed and slow for both check-in and check-out. Overall, we liked this hotel and have already booked another visit for the '06 Christmas season.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    1,845
    805
    232
    189
See reviews for
2,854
656
84
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 25, 2006

My family stayed here Jan. 5-13, 2006 (2 adults and kids ages 8 and 5). In general, our stay was enjoyable.

We arrived at 10:30 am after taking a 6:00 am flight out of O'Hare. We had made some special room requests to accomodate the needs of our daughter. We were put in a perfect spot for what we needed: 1st floor inner corner building 7 (touchdown). Relatively quiet, facing a landscaped area, but still very close to the main building. Even better, our room was available right away. We also requested bed rails (which were a kids version), and they were in the room by the time we walked there. Room was clean.

Magical Express worked out great for us, as well as Disney Transportation. I think the longest wait we had for a bus was 10 minutes or so.

I wanted a hair dryer, so requested one from the front desk. It was not great, and the printing on the side was half rubbed off... If a hair dryer is important to you, bring your own.

We took advantage of the refillable mugs. We took them back to our room, filled our travel water bottles with the drinks, and carried them to the parks. We rarely had to purchase drinks in the parks that way. It also compensated for not having a coffee maker in the room, somewhat.

Light sleepers may have a problem here. We could hear when water turned on by our neighbors (showers, etc.) For the most part, this was OK except for our first weekend there (Marathon participants were getting ready around 3 am). We didn't hear people in their rooms, but could hear them outside our room. This was OK for the time we were there (no one was rowdy late), but during busier times of the year, I can see how this could be a problem.

Express checkout worked smoothly. Magical Express didn't pick us up until an hour after our scheduled time (still not sure why). We still got to the airport with plenty of time, though. (Thank goodness, I was worried for a while). We even had time to grab something to eat before take off.

To summarize, the All Star Sports is nice during the slow season. It fits people that want to use their room as a base, and for those who want to spend money on something other than lodging, but still stay on Disney grounds. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2006

We have been going to Disney World every few years since 1981 and have seen a number of disappointing changes. We have stayed on and off property and this year learned the Disney version of "you get what you pay for." We just got back from taking our grandson who wanted to stay at the All Star Sports Resort. We had planned on staying at the Polynesian but figuring we'd save some money in the deal, booked at the economy resort. And there's your first clue.....economy. No hair dryers, no coffee pots, no body lotion, no hair conditioner, no plastic bags for clothes, no shower caps, no cute Mickey Mouse shampoo bottles like they have in the high end resorts and no cute washcloths made into bunnys or fans. I'm going to hurry to add that the rooms were clean and when I talked to a room attendent about the lack of ammenities, she said you would only get them at the more expensive resorts. Everything else, maybe, but hair dryers? One can only picture a team of bald "Mickey-Execs" sitting at a conference table deciding where to cut costs and boost profits. Well, now you know where they did it. So, if you want the perks, don't book at the All Star Resorts.........or if you do, don't forget to take your hair dryer, coffee pot, etc., etc., etc. J.Dalton

Helpful?
8 Thank Capemayite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2006

I stayed at this resort in March 2005 with my daughter during a cheerleading competition taking place on the Disney properties. I was concerned about our accommodations after reading a lot of these reviews, but I was honestly quite surprised at how nice these rooms were. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I found the staff at this resort to be very friendly and helpful. I was also very impressed with the housekeeping services. The resort WAS very crowded and I sometimes found it difficult to get through the cafeteria. The pool areas were also very crowded. However, I expected as much during this particular event. My daughter and I will be returning again this March with her cheer team and we're looking forward to staying here again. This resort exceeded my expectations for a "budget hotel". I wouldn't hesitate to bring my entire family here on vacation.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank bryant4442017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2006

Three nights, arriving Sat, 12/31. Ground floor room in Hoops Hotel. Disney Transportation System, on-time and very frequent. At Sports, you usually get a seat on the bus, since it is usually the first stop for the bus. Never stood up on a bus ride for the entire stay, also never waited over 15-minutes for a bus. Will stay at Sports on next trip to WDW.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seabee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 9, 2006

This was the worst room I have ever stayed in. When we first got to the hotel, there was a pair of sunglasses stuck in the sheets. Needless to say, I don't think the sheets had been cleaned. Also, the carpeting had bits of food, etc. under the bed. We had agreed to have Disney's Magical Express pick up our luggage and deliver to our room. When we checked in at 7:30 PM, we were told it would take up to 4 hours for our luggage to be delivered to our room. At midnight, we were told they were still delivering. We received 4 of our bags a little after midnight. We still had 3 bags missing. We were told they would be delivered soon. At 2 AM we were told all the baggage handlers had gone home but we would have a silent voicemail by morning telling us to call them for delivery. At 8 AM, we still did not have a voicemail. We called the desk again, and the bags were finally delivered around 8:30 AM. By the service and cleanliness, you would never know this was a Disney resort. We will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 6, 2005

My wife and I have visted WDW many times, and have tried several of the available resort hotels at various times of the year. Since we had never been to WDW for the holiday season, we wanted to take the opportunity to experience the parks at Christmas time. Since we were only going to stay a few days, and we didn't want to spend a lot of money, we used one of the saver rates and got booked into the All Star Sports.

We were fortunate with our check-in process, and we also had no problems with our room. The first couple of nights were also okay, so we were starting to think that we had found an alternative to some of the more expensive Disney resorts, especially since you get the advantage of other resort guest like the extra park hours.

Then the true nature of this resort started to show itself. First, the bus transportation is AWFUL. There are only a few buses that run to the All Star resorts, and sometimes a single bus will service all three for a particular park. This usually means you have to wait a long time, and if you do get the opportunity to get on, you will likely be standing packed in like sardines. The trips back to the resort were even worse. One night we came out of MGM Studios, and the line for the All Star bus stop was so long it extended past three other bus stop stations. On another night, we waited 1 1/2 hours at Downtown Disney before any bus showed up, and then we were packed to the gills. The driver was also rude and nearly killed everyone with his agressive driving on his way to the resorts.

The final straw that broke our backs was the chaos that ensued after the boat load of teenagers showed up one day. Disney uses these cheap resorts to attract all kinds of groups (cheerleading, football, who the hell knows...), and then uses whatever poor suckers it can find (read, us) to fill the remaining available rooms. Now, depending on the nature and attitude of the group or groups just happening to be in the place at the time will likely determine the experience you will have. Well, the element that greeted us one night was a mob of noisy teenage monkeys that were hanging from every rafter and balcony, with the supervising "adults" busy getting drunk off their -----. The ruckus continued into the wee hours of the night, and was so bad that my wife and I packed up our things and checked out at 3 AM since the hotel staff did nothing to stop the nonsense.

As we were checking out, another disgruntled guest was complaining to the manager that his daughter had been assaulted. The response from the manager was this was a matter between them and the assaulters, and that they couldn't get involved. The father was in the process of going to the Orlando police as we quickly made our exit out of the place.

Disney may advertise these cheap resorts as great values for families, but the reality is that they are contracting with large groups to keep them as filled as possible. These mobs can bring an animalistic, drunken, noisy and downright dangerous element with them, and Disney's attitude is to stay out of the fray and just collect the money.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! The rating would be ZERO if the scale would go that low.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
0.3 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.8 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.4 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's All-Star Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Sports Resort

Property: Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
Address: 1701 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8437
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#102 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#128 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's All-Star Sports Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in the game at this Resort hotel that salutes the world of competitive sports, including baseball, basketball, football, surfing and tennis. Go the distance and don't be afraid to celebrate your inner fan amid sporty decor starring some of your favorite Disney characters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's All-Star Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s All-Star Sports Hotel Orlando
All Star Sports Resort
Disneys All Star Sports Resort
Disney All Star Sports Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing