We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avanti International Resort
Ranked #82 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what I expected ”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked one night through expedia and paid $85 for a double room facing the parking lot with nothing fancy to brag about. The AC unit was loud and did not cool properly, the bathroom smelled like bleach so much it was unbearable! So much our eyes were burning! The desk lamp was not working and the night stand lamp only had one working light bulb. The amenities are nice but the rooms don't match the rest of the resort. It has a good location 10 minutes walking to hooters, improv and all the bars.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Magali_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. Thank you for commenting on our wonderful amenities as well as our perfect location right on International Drive. We are deeply sorry that some aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations. We have sent our engineering team up to your room to replace the light bulbs so that they are all working for future guests. We also apologize for the strong smell of cleaning agents that you found in your room. We will pass on those comments to our housekeeping team so that they can make adjustments as necessary. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance when you return to the Orlando area. Please do not hesitate to contact us to assist in setting up your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    1,643
    645
    138
    97
See reviews for
2,023
1,418
105
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was quite large--king-size bed, microwave, refrigerator, lounge area, ironing board w/iron. The swimming pool was never crowded and it was huge! The game room was excellent, lots of variety. The staff was fantastic, very helpful, and friendly. This is one of the best hotels that I have stayed at in quite some time. I would definitely go there again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alienfriend7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear about your wonderful escape to Avanti Resort! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed our pool area, game room, and staff members. It is excellent to hear that you will stay with us again - we are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We made the reservation on the road while driving they were able to give directions which was helpful and gave a great price. When we went to check in the young lady at the front desk was not that nice she did not see our reservation said it may take about a hour for it to show up in their system if I didn't book through them was not sure if I did or didn't but showed her my confirmation emails told her we just drove 12 hours and it was already 9pm just wanted to check in she did try to call someone then our reservation magically appeared so we could just go to our room and relax. We did go to a late dinner then qalked around the grounds which were amazing had my husband made a refundable reservation at the other hotel we had booked for today I would have stayed another night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Michele, thank you for staying with us at Avanti. We sincerely apologize that your initial experience checking in was not up to our usual standards. We strive to provide all of our guests with a welcoming, friendly environment. It is correct that reservations made through websites other than our own take some time to show up in our system. This is because we are waiting on information from the other company's website. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Should you find yourself returning to Orlando, we hope that you will consider staying with us again. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can assist in setting up the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Avanti for 2 nights. The room was clean and fresh. I particularly liked the 'wood floors'. They are so much better than wall to wall carpets. All the employees were helpful, pleasant and efficient. I loved the pool. Good location. Taking the free shuttle bus to and from Universal was a bonus. I would have no problem staying at the Avanti again. Good job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mssanta54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our flooring! You are right that they help keep the rooms so clean, as they are less likely than carpet to harbor microorganisms or allergens. Thank you for mentioning the pleasant interactions you had with all of our team members. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a wonderful stay for a couple nights. Rooms were very clean & comfortable, and hit the mark with all the key areas - cozy beds, lots of pillows, decent bathroom/vanity, small refrigerator for leftovers, lots of TV channel choices. Staff was very friendly & professional. The pool area is outstanding, with options to entertain both families/kids as well as couples looking to relax & enjoy a "beverage". We didn't get a chance to use the fitness room, but it is also right off the pool area. Reception area has good snack/coffee options.

Location is perfect if you enjoy dining out - right on Orlando's International Drive with dozens of great dining options within walking distance. Would definitely stay here next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Rick, it is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Avanti Resort. Thank you for mentioning all of the areas of the room that you especially enjoyed. We're glad that you had good experience at our poolside bar as well as the lobby Barista which serves Starbucks coffee. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This resort was a great place to spend a couple of days of recreation. I would like to have had a place to get an early cup of coffee while getting ready for breakfast, as I do not like Starbucks. The pool area was wonderful and our room was clean and I appreciated the wood floors verses carpet as it seems cleaner. It was easy excess off International Dr. which made it easy to find. We had gotten two rooms for our visiting family and their room was clean also. Everything was in working order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Carol, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to report that we've now installed coffee makers in all of the rooms! Our guests can enjoy their cup of coffee at any time of the day they'd like to. Thank you for appreciating the flooring that we've put in the rooms. You are absolutely right that it is more resistant to allergens and bacteria. We hope that you will choose Avanti when you return to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on 4 occasions, once as the best western, twice as the econolodge and once in its present form the avanti, I can say that the avanti is the best it has been , the location ( which obviously hasn't changed ) is brilliant , the staff are great and the rooms good. The pool however is fantastic , it has a great bar and grill and a fitness room for those inclined. There are restaurants and pubs within walking distance all of which are good . I cannot fault it , forget the reviews about squeaky beds , they do a little but really nothing to lose sleep about. The rooms have fridges now and coffee makers. I loved the place and will definitely recommend it .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulh3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Paul, as someone who knows the property so well, we truly appreciate you mentioning that Avanti is the best it's ever been. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our brand new poolside bar & grille. Thank you for mentioning that we've now added coffee makers and refrigerators to all of the rooms. We are grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn International
#119 of 337 in Orlando
6,483 reviews
Rosen Inn
#107 of 337 in Orlando
2,925 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti International Resort

Property: Avanti International Resort
Address: 8738 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-9317
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#55 Business Hotel in Orlando
#55 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#63 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avanti International Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a total renovation, the Avanti Resort is a shining beacon in the heart of activity and dining options on International Drive. This new resort features 652 renovated, comfortable, and contemporary-style guest rooms and suites. All guest rooms are equipped with an in-room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, as well as a safe. The oversized pool complex features a kids water play area, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard court. Enjoy casual dining and beverage options without leaving the resort at the Avanti Pool Bar & Grille, along with property-wide WiFi. Avanti is located within walking distance of a variety of dining and shopping, and only a short ride on our shuttle away from major theme park attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avanti International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites International Drive Hotel Orlando
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites International Drive
Econolodge Hotel Orlando
Best Western International Drive
Best Western Plaza International Drive
Econo Lodge Orlando
Best Western Plaza Orlando
Orlando Econo Lodge
Best Western Plaza International Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing