We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Avanti International Resort
Ranked #83 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
ne england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal family hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2weeks and like everyone else was a little worried when reading previous terrible reviews on this hotel. As we quickly found out there was nothing to worry about, the hotel was clean, location was ideal and tremendous pool and staff (especially Megan behind pool bar who was always really helpful and friendly). Housekeeping was later in the day unfortunately but were very quick to have a quick turnaround with bed making and towel changed. I know on previous reviews people have complained about dusty floors and noisy beds but I found the beds were perfect and just wore socks in the room. If I was going to complain, and it would be just to be picky would be that there was no fridge but you can get a cool box in the supermarket for around $8 to keep drinks etc in. At the end of the day its a reasonably priced hotel and if you are expecting the hilton suites then pay to stay at the hilton. All in all I found it to be an ideal hotel with great staff and would definitely, definitely, definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Nina, it was such a pleasure to have you stay with us for two weeks. We are happy to report that, based on suggestions from guests like you, we are ordering refrigerators for all of the guest rooms! We expect them to arrive within the next few weeks. We are so glad that you had a wonderful, clean, pleasant stay. Thank you for mentioning the friendly interactions you had with our staff members. As you mentioned, some of the bed frames did used to make some noise. Our engineering team has worked very hard to address all of the bed frames, and we are so glad that they had gotten to yours in time and you had a wonderful quality of sleep. It means so much to us that you'd like to stay with us again. Please feel free to send us a message on TripAdvisor or contact the resort directly if we can assist in planning your next stay. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,488
    1,682
    666
    143
    104
See reviews for
2,101
1,453
110
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really and truly went into this with a very open mind. I discounted all the negative reviews believing as I always do, that there are just some people who love to complain. I write more letters praising service than any complaints. That being said, I was NOT happy with my stay in this hotel.
Let's start with the good things :
Great curb appeal

There is a Starbucks in the lobby and also a Cafe and fitness center

There is a huge pool and pool area that is clean, well maintained and has plenty of lounge
chairs. I also like the convenience of having towels available at the pool.

This hotel is in a great location. It is within comfortable walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops.

On to the not so good:
The elevator in bldg #1 was so slow, we dragged our suitcases up the stairs instead of waiting longer.

The stairwells are dirty, dilapidated and smelled like old urine.

I didn't find the staff upon check in to be very friendly and the wait to check in was excessive. There were 4 desk personnel, 1 customer being helped and the other 3 staff still took 10 minutes to assist me and another person in line. Nobody said "be with you in a moment" or even acknowledged those of us waiting.

There is MOLD IN THE TOILET (see picture) which is not only dangerous but also disgusting. it's obviously been a while since it was cleaned.

We reserved a room that sleeps 4. When we got ready for bed our first night, we realized there were no linens/blankets/pillows for the pull out sofa. Went to call the front desk and our room phone was not working.. Had to call on my cell phone.

Our towels were not replenished day 2. When we had the nerve to ask housekeeping for some towels, the woman we asked was SO RUDE that I was shocked. I chalked it up as perhaps it was just someone having a bad day, but I had another run-in with an even more rude housekeeper on our last day. Will not EVER be back to this hotel due to the poor attitudes of those they employ.

We also ran out of toilet paper and shampoo on our 3rd day as it was never replenished.

if you want QUIET, do NOT stay here! Despite the pool closing at a certain hour, there were people in the pool screaming/yelling/blaring music at all hours. Fine if you're the partying type, but for a couple with a light sleeping infant, this was not good for us.

The beds are SO noisy, They have a metal bottom for some reason and even if you move an inch, it is obnoxiously loud.

So to sum it up, would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Heather, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for listing the aspects of the resort that you found to be positive like the pool area and the brand new cafe. Everyone at Avanti takes guest feedback extremely seriously. We are deeply disappointed to hear that other aspects of your stay were not up to our usual standards.

We are happy to report that our engineering team has found a way to minimize this noise and is in the process of fixing all of the bed frames. We apologize that they had not yet gotten to your bed yet.

One of our top priorities is providing high quality customer service to all of our guests. We sincerely apologize that this was not your experience, as this is unusual for Avanti. We will pass on your comments to our entire team to ensure that these areas are corrected immediately.

The entire management team has read your feedback and is working diligently to correct these areas. Due to the magnitude of your concerns, we hope to discuss your experience further with you. We have sent you a private message with our General Manager's contact information. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hidden costs: Parking/internet: $9 a night. Cafe and breakfast are not included in price of stay. The floors are pho-wood, which is beautiful, but really slippery when you come in from the pool. Also kinda feels dirty on your feet. We wore shoes the whole time we were in the room...not as relaxing :) They are, however, beautifully remodeled. You walk in and think: this is a really nice room! The beds are not comfortable and we could hear the next room's TV at 3 a.m. until we checked out at 6 a.m. Thin walls. Also, none of the lamps worked. The pool was a kid's dream, though. If we had kiddos, they would have really had a blast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Jena, thank you so much for mentioning how beautiful you found the remodel to be. We also appreciate you mentioning how beautiful the pool area is! We are glad that you enjoyed the look of the brand new floors. These floors are actually less likely than traditional carpet to harbor allergens and bacteria. Our housekeeping team is working diligently to find the best ways to keep them clean. Please be assured that the floors are cleaned each day during a guest's stay. We are extremely sorry to hear that the lamps in your room were not working properly. Our engineering team would be happy to take care of that for you. We will send them to check that right away to ensure everything is working for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nicely remodeled hotel/resort near Disney and area attractions. Check in and check out was fast and friendly. Price booked online of $50 per night came closer to $70 per night after taxes, fees, etc. An extra $9.00 per night for parking, shuttle service to Disney, fitness added after approx. $10 in hotel taxes and fees at booking. Since we were using the shuttle, we factored this in when booking.

Several area hotels offer free breakfast, which is not included here, but they do have an on-site café. Slightly overpriced, but convenient. Good variety and hot grill, cooked to order meals. Starbucks on-site was nice.

Great pool area with pool bar and TV's. Tried to watched baseball game, but they did not have and sports packages. Pool was clean and perfect temperature. We went on a slower week after school started, and chairs at the pool were available. Not sure you will find during peak season. Got out there at 10:00 and the towel bin was empty. Took 45 minutes after reported to get more brought out. Nice sand area for kids to play and also kids pool area with fun water falls, etc. Some kids were dumping sand into the pool and no employees monitoring to stop, as the parents were allowing it. Go figure.

The employees were very friendly, but not educated on the premises. Asked a couple employees where the ice machines were and they did not know. One got ice for me from the café and I later found that floors 2 and 4 had machines and I was on 3. I roamed and checked 3, then went down to 1.

Free Wi-Fi, but the directions did not work to set up. Took a while to get to there splash page to accept the terms.

Our room was nicely remodeled and clean. The biggest downfall was being put on the backside of the complex facing the interstate. Noisey, noisey. They did leave earplugs in the room that work, but not my cup of tea for comfort. Not sure why they put us there, since they were not close to sold out and plenty of better rooms, unless it was because we booked online.

Overall, was a nice hotel/resort and recommend for the price, if you plan to use the shuttle, parking, and amenities. If not, you can find similar accommodations cheaper and that included breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room NOT facing the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Mikey, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the fresh breakfast served at the cafe and the Starbucks coffee. Thank you for mentioning that your room was nicely appointed and clean. We are also glad that you enjoyed our large pool area. You are right that we do have plenty of lounge chairs and seating - even during the busiest months guests don't have a hard time finding a spot to relax. We are disappointed to hear that you waited so long for towels by the pool. We do apologize for this and will make efforts to ensure it does not happen in the future. We appreciate all of your feedback and will take your comments into consideration in order to further improve the guest experience. We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will allow us to welcome you back when you find yourself returning to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice customer service, clean rooms, and close to a lots of restaurants, and activities, room look new, and they need to add small frigde into the rooms will be a plus.
looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Alfredo, thanks for such a great review! We really appreciate you deciding to stay with us at Avanti Resort. Based on feedback from guests like yourself, we have decided to put refrigerators in all of the rooms! They have been ordered and should be arriving soon. We hope that this will convince you to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Positives:
- Great rate through Expedia -$50/night. I almost paid more than twice that and it would have still been a good deal.
- Pool was fantastic- Large pool with sand wrapping around a portion of it was neat.
- Bar area next to pool was great.
- Lobby was nice with very helpful staff
- Rooms were clean and modern
- Very close to Universal Studios and other attractions

Negatives:
- Metal Bed frames were loud.
- Basic room with modern furniture that was not very comfortable
- $9/night service fee for parking and wi-fi

Overall: Great place to stay for a few nights, especially with the rate I paid. I would definitely consider going back if I ever go to Orlando again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Patrick, it was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family stay with us during your trip to Orlando. We are pleased to hear what a great time you had staying with us. Thank you for mentioning the things that you enjoyed like the brand new pool bar and lobby area. We apologize that the bed frame in your room was louder than it should be. However, we are happy to report that our engineering team has found a way to minimize this noise and is in the process of addressing all of the beds within the resort. We apologize that they hadn't gotten to your room just yet, but they are working very quickly to get them all done. When your family returns to Orlando, please contact us and we'd love to assist in finding you the best rate possible so that you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Avanti between 4-18 August 2013 and were extremely dissapointed. We did ask to be moved out of the Avanti to alternative accomodation but were advised by our Rep that there was nothing available. In total were were moved to three different rooms within the Avanti and none of them were up to the standard we would expect. We booked our family holiday through Thomson and feel cheated at the 3 star plus rating they gave it, we would rate it as a 2 star or very low budget Motel.

We found the cleanliness very poor, on several occasions we returned to our room in the late afternoon (4.30-5PM) after having been at the theme parks all day, only to find that our rooms had still not been cleaned. The pool area is open for use from first thing in the morning through until midnight and guests were still using the pool every night during our stay up until midnight and were extremely noisy, as this is the only pool I cannot see how it is properly cleaned/sanitised.

If as advertised the Avanti has recently been refurbished, I dread to think what is was like before. The only positive I can say in it's favour was it's location on International Drive, other than that we only found negatives.

If you are used to staying in good quality accomodation I would urge you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you do have stay here try to ensure you are allocated a room within block 1, as some rooms in blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivvyShivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are deeply disappointed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. We apologize that the timing of your room service was not convenient for you. Our housekeeping team works extremely hard to clean all of the rooms during the day, but there are times when they do not get to some of the rooms until later in the afternoon. Guests who would like them cleaned by a specific time can request that to the front desk.

Please accept our apologies that noise from the pool cause you inconvenience. The pool area is open from 7:00 AM until 11:00 PM. Our on-site security personnel ensures that guests exit the pool area by 11:00 PM and the gates are locked after that time. We will pass on your comments to security so that they can make sure that the area is closed properly and on time. Also, please be assured that the pool is properly cleaned very early in the morning, so that it is ready for guests to enjoy throughout the day. We do appreciate your feedback. If you find yourself in the Orlando area, we'd love to have you give us a second chance. Please feel free to contact us directly if there is any way that we can assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn International
#122 of 339 in Orlando
6,588 reviews
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 339 in Orlando
4,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn
#105 of 339 in Orlando
2,969 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti International Resort

Property: Avanti International Resort
Address: 8738 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-9317
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#55 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#55 Business Hotel in Orlando
#63 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avanti International Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a total renovation, the Avanti Resort is a shining beacon in the heart of activity and dining options on International Drive. This new resort features 652 renovated, comfortable, and contemporary-style guest rooms and suites. All guest rooms are equipped with an in-room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, as well as a safe. The oversized pool complex features a kids water play area, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard court. Enjoy casual dining and beverage options without leaving the resort at the Avanti Pool Bar & Grille, along with property-wide WiFi. Avanti is located within walking distance of a variety of dining and shopping, and only a short ride on our shuttle away from major theme park attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avanti International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites International Drive Hotel Orlando
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites International Drive
Econolodge Hotel Orlando
Best Western International Drive
Best Western Plaza International Drive
Econo Lodge Orlando
Best Western Plaza Orlando
Orlando Econo Lodge
Best Western Plaza International Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing