We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Ranked #109 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just OK...”
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The hotel was convenient because it is just across Universal Studios. The quality was very mediocre but it was little on the pricey side...

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PriyaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samjayswal, General Manager at Best Western Plus Universal Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Guest:

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I will be happy to share with you that the hotel has went through a complete multi million dollar renovation that included a brand new guest rooms and public lobby space. The hotel looks very modern and up to date.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 407-226-9119.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Sam Jayswal
General Manager
Best Western Universal Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    493
    179
    20
    31
See reviews for
610
316
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Just about 2 blocks from the Universal Studios entrance, right off of I-4 and Kirkman. Check in was pleasant, hotel is clean and a basic mediocre no -frills breakfast is included. But stay away from the eggs ! I guess they were powdered eggs. We stayed here 2 nights during Thanksgiving. My room was nice and clean, had a microwave, bed was nice and comfortable. Bathroom had a large counter. A/C worked well. Rooms were quiet.

They have a shuttle service which can drop you off only at 8am or 10am and pick up is similar only 2 different time slots are available. Since we checked in at 1pm we drove to Universal. The shuttle service was pleasant with very nice multi-lingual drivers. But make sure you sign up for the shuttle service the night prior. One familly (who apparently did not use the service to get there) got very upset with our driver because they were picked up after us as the van was already filled. Maybe they thought they could ride on top of the van?

Were I to travel to Universal Studios again I would rather stay at the Hampton Inn which is another block away. They offer are far better included breakfast and they offer a shuttle service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCrazyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Clean,well kept hotel with free full breakfast,great location if your going to universal and Island of adventure they do offer free shuttle service.This is a good value for your money located just behind a small strip mall area with a Walgreens and few other restraunts including a Miller's Ale House which has pretty good bar food.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimfromphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I went with my 3 brothers- 16-24 years old for 3 days at Universal Studios. We stayed in a VERYspacious room with 2 beds and a fold out couch for $76/night (I used retailmenot.com coupon codes to bring the price down). The bed linens were very fresh and the beds seemed to be updated which was nice... however, I think the hotel should renovate more extensively especially the carpet.... for a fresher look. Overall, we were happy with our stay... the concierge was very helpful and the shuttle drivers were great to.... We walked back from Universal twice and it felt safe to walk after dark with well lit sidewalks... and a fairly short pleasant walk. We didn't have a car for the three days we stayed there and were glad to have a drugstore nearby and several affordable places to eat (buffet, burger king, mcdonalds, ihop, etc). The breakfast was the usual large Western selection so we ate at the hotel everyday. The value for the price can't be beat- I don't think. Free breakfast for four people everyday and if you divide the cost of the room between the four of us and not having to rent a car while there or pay parking fees at the parks..... a very very good deal and affordable 3 days of vacation. For the rest of our vacation we stayed near Disney in my parent's timeshare. Hope this helps someone- this hotel isn't disgusting like some people wrote, just not very new- but still clean.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and two teenage kids stayed here aug 22-26/09 on our trip while visiting universal. Don't listen to the bad reviews you might see elsewhere. The hotel was clean, friendly, and staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfast is above average as far as continental breakfasts go (waffles, sausages, eggs, etc. are offered). The walk to universal is about 20 minutes if you want exercise or take the free shuttle which is fast, and convenient. The wireless internet signal is weak to nonexistent, and could not connect on the third floor, but there is a business center in the lobby. Lots of restaurants close by. This is not a five star hotel but I would easily give it 3.5 stars. We enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again, no problem.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonewnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

My husband and I drove over 20 hours straight through to florida on our honeymoon, and stopped at a rest area once we go to florida to find a hotel. We only need a room for one night as we had a condo for the remainder of the week. We found this one, and even though we got there very early in the morning, the staff was sooooo very sweet and could see we were dead tired and let us check in very early to get some sleep. We were very grateful. =D

The room wasn't fancy dancy, but the price was right, and it felt so good when our heads hit those pillows. The staff was so sweet, and each time we came in asked us if everything was great. We ended up needing to stay another night at the end of the week before going to our hotel room in Daytona, and we knew EXACTLY where we were going to after that first stay. The bed here was actually ended up being nicer than the one at the hotel in daytona. And we paid good money for that hotel too. I was very disappointed with them, but that's another review. lol

Bottom line, this is a buget hotel, so if you're looking for a 5 star keep looking. However if you're looking for a hotel close to the disney parks, with awesome staff, on a budget this place is great! I was shocked to see the bad reviews on here when I went to write my review. Granted our stay was almost 3 years ago.. but I hope it's still the same great place we were so grateful to find after a 20 + hour drive.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2aJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed in this hotel because we tought that this was the same one we had stayed a time before. And when we got there, it wasn't. But the stay wasn't so bad. The beds were too but tooooo high. I don't know why they do it, maybe so we wake up our downstairs neighbors when we fall in the floor. But overall it was good, we had free breakfast every day, free parking, and they didn't give any problem with anything. The location is great for Univeral but for disney it is too far. We had to drive like aprox. 15 miles everyday because we were going to Disney.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Universal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Universal Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Address: 5618 Vineland Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7827 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#102 Family Hotel in Orlando
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Universal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Universal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Universal Hotel Orlando
Best Western Universal Hotel
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing