We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Universal Studios”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Ranked #107 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for a trip to Universal Studios. It's not exactly right across the street, but it's close. They also have a free shuttle to the main entrance.
Clean, comfortable, friendly, and a pretty good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location is Prime: in walking distance to Golden Corral buffet, Chinese restaurant, store. Universal is nearby as is connection to major road arteries. Rooms are very clean; breakfast is tasty and always hot !!

Most of the staff is distant. I kept losing the wireless signal daily; very little concern was initiated. (The young girl on the afternoon shift had a blank stare when I addressed her with the problem. I kept encouraging her to CALL someone, DO SOMETHING. She kept munching food and said the manager would arrive in the morning. Very apathetic and immature worker). I relied on my wireless / laptop to get alot of work done.

On my check out day, the elevator did not work. I was on the third floor so I needed to carry all my items (bag, carry ons, briefcase) down the stairs @ 3 AM. Worker at the desk said the elevator keeps breaking; not sure what needs to be done.

The rooms were well kept; housekeeping is top notch! The breakfast lay out was IDEAL; fresh, hot, tasty. Very pleasant waitstaff / kitchen workers.

If all you need is a bed or two, a good breakfast, and a prime location, this will do for you (and a small family). If you expect more, or think staff is going to assist when you ask for anything, it would be best to pay a few extra dollars and go nearby. MANY other hotels in that immediate area.

Room Tip: If you are on business, I suggest a first floor room. If wireless goes out, the business center is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laoshiphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed there for 5 days with my family. Everything is good, no complains. Room been cleaned really good. Recommended. Yes, and its almost walking distance from Universal studio and 20 min from Disney.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GR_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After 10 days at a Disney Resort it was time for shopping and Universal so we decided to change hotel. Good choice, just next to Universal they have a transport service to take you there. You have some useful places around like Walgreens and the parking lot is big, The breakfast is a problem, very feel choices ans poor ones. The staff was friendly. Big and clean room, good bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElleAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I read the good reviews of this place on Trip Advisor & booked 4 nights. I have to agree. We had a great stay & it was inexpensive. Love it! Breakfast included & free shuttle to Universal, although its an easy 15 min walk to the park. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewHampshireAthlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights Oct. 17 to 20, 2012. We are 2 adults. Had large, king-bed room on top floor with good size mini-fridge, small microwave, coffee maker and combo radio/alarm/sound machine, safe, plus ironing board & iron in room. Hotel looks renovated with newer-looking carpeting, bed linens, and furniture (chair & ottoman) in room. Bathroom was very clean with ample towels and toiletries. Bed was very comfortable. There is a combo radio, alarm, & sound machine on nightstand. There is a large flat-screen TV with "clean" remote (styled to make it easier to clean with disinfectant wipes). Lobby is pleasant with separate seating area off main lobby (good place to socialize if you are meeting other guests). Also in the lobby is secure area (entrance by room key only) with 2 or 3 computers plus printer for guests to use. There is good size breakfast area with standard offerings (chafing dishes with scrambled eggs, sausages, pancakes one morning, french toast sticks another, biscuits & gravy another) plus 2 waffle makers. Good assortment of breads, bagels, muffins, pastries, etc. Dry cereals, instant oatmeal, 2 flavors of yogurt, and several kinds of fresh fruit as well. Area is kept well stocked and very clean. Staff throughout hotel are very attentive, friendly, and helpful. We used shuttle to Universal and it was always prompt for pick-ups. There is choice of 2 departure times and 2 pick-up times for Universal, Sea World, and Wet-n-Wild. Hotel is close enough for a 15-20 minute walk to Universal & City Walk. Many choices of restaurants within easy walking distance of hotel (5 mins. or less). For this class of hotel, the Best Western Plus is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms on 2nd & 3rd floors all appear to face a large grassy field which give you so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alwaysjerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was my third time staying here. As always, the room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be the noisy AC unit that made getting to sleeping difficult. This is the only hotel I stay in when going to Halloween Horror Nights at Universal Orlando.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlgyRodz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#123 of 340 in Orlando
654 reviews
Clarion Inn & Suites
#117 of 340 in Orlando
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Universal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Universal Inn

Address: 5618 Vineland Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7827 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#102 Family Hotel in Orlando
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $87 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Universal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Universal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Universal Hotel Orlando
Best Western Universal Hotel
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing