We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time eating at a Ethiopian Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nile Ethiopian Restaurant

Nile Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #277 of 3,745 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First time eating at a Ethiopian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

My wife and I read about The Nile when on vacation and thought it would be a good time to try Ethiopian food .We ordered a meat and vegetarian sampler meal the best way to describe the food would be Indian food with very little spice and a very unique sponge bread.We are big fans of Indian food so we thought it was very good the service was great if you are looking to try something different the Nile is it.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Landnsea411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    82
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dover
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

I thought the food was tasteless and unappealling. Service was OK but was advised to try the lamb which I didn't like. Portions were small, and we had to eat without a fork...just a type of bread to use to pick up the food. The bread just bloated me terribly. Just be careful going there unless you are sure you like that kind of food.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaynolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST ETHIOPIAN FOOD EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

Okay...so this is was the first time I've ever tried ethiopian food but I swear it's probably the best I will have outside of Ethiopia. If you want to try something different and don't feel like waiting 45 mins for a table like most good restaurants on I-Drive then this is the place for you!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really great dining and cultural experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Traditional African food, very nicely prepared and presented, in a warm, relaxing and comfortable environment. Great for children too, with non-processed foods, including chicken nuggets for children prepared from real chicken breast (not the processed junk every other restaurant seems to serve). A traditional coffee is prepared in ritual, with the beans roasted at our table, then ground and otherwise brewed traditionally. Very, very nice outing for singles, couples, families, etc. Great staff attending to all needs. Extremely reasonably priced, disproportionately low given the high quality of the meals and the experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A New Culinary Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

This was a great experience and I look forward to returning. The food was not what I expected...it was better!! As a novice I know very little about Ethiopian food. This was a great experience and a chance to try food that I would never have tried prior. Prepare to eat with your hands if you wish....fun!!! I especially enjoyed the injera bread with the meal and the Ethiopian coffee and sweets for dessert.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheffyChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Nile Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing