We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and Different”

Nile Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #269 of 3,763 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We wanted something other than a chain and lucked on this within walking distance. It is harder to find, but has parking, friendly helpful staff (family owned??) and the server showed us how to eat in traditional style. Great vegetarian options, and tasty meats. Reasonable prices. Not typical American food - thank goodness!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarlaSmithEugne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    84
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ethiopian Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have always enjoyed Ethiopian food but don't have many occasions to eat it due to the limited number of restaurants in Tampa. However, I have eaten in other cities and really enjoy the food. Nile was the best Ethiopian food I have ever tried. I shared dinners with friends (lamb, chicken, and vegetarian). Each was wonderful. I thought the prices were fair and the portion size was moderate. Although we were satisfied with the serving size, don't expect super-sized American style.

Note: We had some trouble finding the restaurant. I clicked on the directions link in Trip Advisor on my phone and Google Maps took us to location about a mile from the restaurant. Someone else in our group typed in the address in Google Maps and had no problems.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveldaze247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Try it, You will like it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

In town for a conference, my husband and I were overwhelmed with the plethora of franchise, fast food places on International Drive where we were staying. Since retiring, we try to be more selective in our meal choices and found Nile on a search. Since we haven't found and Ethiopian restaurant in Broward county, we jumped at the chance to enjoy this cuisine. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have eaten Ethiopian food before and anticipated the great spices and eating with our hands! We were t disappointed. We ordered family style and had fish and chicken along with greens and cabbage. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasty. The ambiance made for a nice evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 59jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great ethnic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We've been to this restaurant a number of times because our daughter loves all things African. The wait staff are unfailingly lovely. They are proud of their heritage, proud of their food, proud of their restaurant. Their pride is well-earned. The food is especially exciting for vegetarians. We often get the vegetarian dishes because they are so uniquely prepared and flavorful. Not a place to go if you have a huge appetite, but that's appropriate for an African experience. They moved to a roomier space in the same strip a few years ago and the new decor is warm and comfortable. The coffee experience is a one-time indulgence in another culture. A little pricey but you're paying for the history and culture as much as the coffee. Overall, it's a place where you feel at home and welcomed. Plus, we love the injera bread and eating without silverware. :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julieroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Not Your Ordinary Ethnic Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited Nile based upon TripAdvisor reviews, and we were totally pleased with our experience. The restaurant is not easy to find, off the highway in an unlikely setting, so enter the address into your GPS to avoid getting lost. The staff and the service are professional, friendly, efficient, and authentic. The food is another story and is outstandingly delicious. Although we chose vegetarian cuisine, there were also many menu options for carnivorous diets. Feel free to ask your server for recommendations and explanations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_01039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Nile Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing