We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun & interesting place to eat”

Nile Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #283 of 3,764 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun & interesting place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Off the beaten track of I-drive you would never know this place was even there. We went there for Valentine Day and loved it. It is an experience like nothing else we've ever had dinning on I-drive. This place was great. Price was right & the honey beer was amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaboomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    84
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unique experience at Nile Ethiopian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The restaurant is decorated with African motive throughout. Our waitress appears to be accustoms to adventures visitor wanting to experience Ethiopian food. She explains the menu and recommends the combination platter. As shown on the attached picture, the variety of sample food items is placed on top of a soft flat wheat bread. It comes with a basket of flat thin bread. And yes one is to use their hands to pick the food of the plate. The sample dishes tasted delicious and flavorful, but not HOT spicy. I prefer the meat than the veggie base dishes

Overall we feel the restaurant definitely depart from the "Usual". It will reward the more adventures patrons with a unique culinary experience. Unfortunately, although delicious and flavorful, the portion is a bit tiny and it is a bit on the pricy side.

Would we be back?........Sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian outside of DC !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I travel regularly from south Florida just to eat at this restaurant. Try this place for a new experience and if you know and like Ethiopian cuisine you will love this place! Service couldn't be friendlier and a great value. Yum!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a very unique experience. The food was amazing. Lots of local Ethiopian customers enjoying food and fun. Our waitress just recently moved here and did an excellent job and explaining the food wine and local beer. We enjoyed the honey wine. That is a must. Kids loved experience of eating with hands!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtn2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and i are on vaction from Miami. We found this restaurant on trip advisor because it was close to our hotel. My husband was a little worried about trying something new but read so many good reviews and desided to give it a try anyways. Im so glad we did. Homemade honey wine and authentic Ethiopian beer that he and i liked. My daughter loved eating with her hands and we did too. The server asked if it was our first time eating Ethiopian food and recommended the chefs special sampler to share and try a little of each. They do have some spicy choices which i liked. But my daughter and husband ate the ones that weren't spicy. Now i wish there was a restaurant like this in Miami.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanctuary3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Nile Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing