We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll never stay in a hotel in Florida again”
Review of Vista Cay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I'll never stay in a hotel in Florida again”
Reviewed February 5, 2009

After arriving in Orlando at around 20.00. finally found our way to vista cay . what a great condo 3 bedroom second floor the master bedroom has a super king sized bed , en suite , the other bedrooms had one double and 2 single all had TVs .Living room had dining area and large TV,kitchen had all mod cons and a huge American fridge /freezer. laundry area was enclosed tumble dryer and washing machine and a small balcony area.The next morning we had a walk round found the swimming pool and club . Then off up the road to Wal-Marts to load up with food and Beer.Just up the road from Vista Cay is International Drive so we were ideally placed for all the attractions.we spend 2 week at Vista Cay and will definitely be going back in a few years on more one roomed hotel rooms for us ,great place but you do need transport.

  • Liked — not far from attractions , loads of space , home from home
  • Disliked — they were building shops close by but nearest shops at least 1 mile away
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brummiepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    462
    139
    64
    64
See reviews for
1,354
126
12
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

My husband myself and my son visted vista cay in oct08 we have to been to florida before but always stayed in hotels rooms, so vista cay was excellent so much room and freedom the appartment was huge all open plan with all mod cons washing machine tumble, dryer, dishwasher it was so clean it was spotless we loved this place and quickly it felt like home close to all themeparks 10 mins in car .The pool was a little cold but spotless and well maintained gardens we would reccomed this place to anybody it was fantastic

  • Liked — the trip advior
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank loraine222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Property touts Big Screen TVs, large bedrooms, pull out sofas, Clubhouse and swimming pools. IF you get assigned to Vista Cay itself, you probably get all that. However, if you get the Isle of Shoal location, you get smaller units, average size TVs, and an unheated swimming pool which gets no sun after 3:00 this time of year. The Isles are a good 10 minute walk from the main Clubhouse which does have a nice heated pool. However for the size of the properties, poolside seating is very limited at both pools.

When arriving at Vista, I immediately expressed my concern to the property manager on site. Other than passing out your property IDs, they are only concerned with selling the units and nothing to do with rentals. I called the local number of the Hotel Management Company and they did absolutely nothing.

However, despite these complaints, the location of this property is outstanding, especially if you are touring Sea World and/or Universal. Both are 7-8 minutes away.
Adjacent to Vista is a terrific Publix Supermarket. If you need directions, they are more than ready to help you. This store also makes outstanding sandwiches.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — unheated swimming pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DRhodesNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Stayed from 23rd Dec till 2nd Jan. We love Vista cay, been 3 times in 2008 and already booked for June 09. We recommend it to everyone as the accommodations are of a high standard and the location just cannot be beaten. We chose our unit through Destination America and selected one to our personal choice. It was just as good as the photos, our friends compared it to their "basic" rental condo as 5* luxury. It was nice. However, the unit above us had a blocked air-conditioning vent (and very noisy renters!) which resulted in water pouring down the light fitting in the den and onto the coffee table and the carpet. We had to remove all our Xmas gifts to save them from damage. IPG sent out the maintenance man who once he found out who managed the unit , called upstairs and carried out a temporary repair. There was water running down the insides of the ceiling and walls leaving large wet patches. We sat for 4 days with a mop-bucket and laundry basket and towels on the floor to catch the water, not my idea of luxury living!! Our friends couldn't stay over as planned as the room was out of use. IPG never sent anyone to help clear up the mess or dry the carpets. I had to go down on my hands and knees and use bath towels to dry the carpet and wash all the towels.The coffee table was ruined. IPG regard it as a trivial and minor matter and told us that as there were only 3 of us in the condo it didn't matter as we were not using the room anyway and they could not do anything about it as the unit concerned was in foreclosure and probably would not have insurance!! Vista Cay is great although there is a lot of building work going on once again. We will not be booking again with IPG as this is not our first problem with them, they just have no customer service skills and a "we've -got- your- money- so -we -just-don't -care" attitude.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank readbe4ugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Stayed at Vista Cay in early January, 2009 - loved loved loved it!!!

First, we didn't book thru the resort. We booked thru VRBO.com (Vacation Rental By Owner). Go to VRBO.com and enter VRBO #163191. You'll get a very user-friendly page of the unit we rented directly thru the owner. There you can see exactly what the place is like, the decor, the views and the ammenities. Millenium's site shows the same pics for every unit. Know what you are getting. Location is important to us. Why overlook the parking lot and have lights and doors slamming when you can be lakefront and watch nightly fireworks at Sea World??

I'll get to the resort in a sec, but let me tell you about this unit. Granite galore in the kitchen with expansive large cabinetry and a pantry. Fully equipped and stainless appliances. Living room dining areas very large. French doors to the balcony. See a pool on the left and the grounds on the right. Lakefront is just that. Bring your binoculars to watch the birds. At night, set outside and watch Sea World's fireworks across the lake. Sunrises every morning. 3 bedrooms, all large and with enough dresser space and hangers in the closet. Lots of windows and light. Master bath was huge. There was even a den, yes a den. With a netpad for internet use. Resort was having internet issues while we were there so we couldn't use it but that's life. Furnishings very luxurious and big tv's everywhere. DVD players in all 3 bedrooms, Play Station 2 in one bedroom.

The photos on VRBO are exactly what you'll find if you book. That's why I didn't attach any pics to this review. Don't let dealing with private owners scare you. These owners were top notch and made information exchange and contract signing a breeze. They even called us mid-week to see how things were going. Don't be afraid.

The resort is very nice. Located adjacent to the convention center but you couldn't walk there. Need a car. Everything is clean. There IS construction going on and be careful where you book or you'll hear it. It started early (7 a.m.) if that bothers you. We heard nothing from our unit though. Couple pools. We were at the main pool. Very nice, should have a snack area or a bar but doesn't. You can bring your own food. Clubhouse is open long hours. Has a few arcade games, pool tables and a fooseball game. Also a computer room with 6 computers (sign up for 30 minutes at a time). Also a movie theatre room. Big squishy seats with a movie theatre screen. You reserve a time and the movie and they'll run it for you. Anyone else can join you but YOU get to pick the movie that's running. How great is that?

Walking paths around the lake. They're concrete so moms, bring the stroller or the kids with their manual scooters. Lovely walk and you'll feel safe.

Check-in - you'll have to report to a separate unit to check in. I never like that but it's the way it is just about everywhere. Check in went smooth so who really cares?

This resort is very nice and well maintained. Close to everything but you'll need a vehicle. Sea World is 5 minutes. Publix supermarket is 2 miles and easy to find. Buildings have elevators (didn't see any luggage carts) and "trash benches" are located in the hallways just outside your unit so there's no lugging to unsightly dumpsters on property. Trash is collected daily, no lie. No smells. And they mop the hallway floors daily. We really liked this place.

Remember, VRBO.com #163191. It's great and we can't wait to get back! Enjoy Orlando!!!!!!

  • Liked — Upscale furnishings and cleanliness. Oh and the view. And it was spacious.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Stayed at The Isles at Cay Commons for 16 nights from 24th Dec to 9th Jan and had a wonderful time.

We booked a two bed condo but received a three bed through Golden Holidays who act as UK agent for IPG. Service from both companies was excellent with no issue in respect of the correct door and gate codes being issued prior to our arrival.

The complex although incomplete is lovely - it is extremely well kept,clean and tidy with a small but adequate pool. There are a couple of outside barbeques and a pitch and put that are free to use. Publix is a 5 minute walk away and a walk around the lake is a lovely way to burn off some carbs !

The condo was furnished to a great standard and a brief breakdown follows

Entrance Hall - contained washer & dryer inside a cupboard with iron & ironing board. Also had a desk with a computer and FREE internet

Kitchen - fully fitted with pots & pans etc full size stove,microwave,fridge,freezer,coffee maker,toaster,blender & dishwasher. Telephone on the wall with FREE local calls

Living area - Dining table to seat 6 and two sofas with a gigantic flat screen TV and DVD player, cable also included. Lovely furniture and very nice decor.

Master Bed - Super size King bed with walk in closet and an en suite with a lovely walk in shower, hair dryer also provided. A flat screen TV and DVD player on top of a chest of drawers

Bed 2 - King size bed and walk in closet and lots of floor space also had a flat screen TV and DVD player

Bed 3 - Twin beds and a set of drawers, there was an extra closet in the hall facing this bedroom and again a flat screen TV and DVD player

Bathroom - Situated facing bedrooms 1 & 2 this was enormous ! Had a bath and shower and a great vanity unit again another hairdryer was included

Patio - Unscreened but over looking the lake ideal for a late afternoon siesta

This was the nicest place we have ever stayed at in 15 years of visiting Orlando - we usually stay at the Sheraton Vistana. It is in a great location, 10 mins to I Drive (the nicer end) and next to the I4 junction for the convention centre.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this complex and I would love to return some time soon.

  • Liked — Everything !!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I checked into Vista Cay with 2 teenage boys over the Christmas holiday. We had a 3 BR condo poolside - the condo is well appointed, very comfortable, quiet and well worth the price. There is a Publix right down the street to pick up some basics for the fully applianced kitchen. The community is gated and safe. It is only a 20 minute drive from Orlando airport, and only about 15 min. to Seaworld and Universal Studios. The concierge at Vista Cay has tickets to all the WDW parks, etc. at her desk, and you can purchase them right there. The condo was in a great location overall, we were there for a week and I used $10 in gas in our rental car as everything was close to us...
The only negative is there is no restaurant on site, or within walking distance to Vista Cay, but it there are many choices only about 10 minutes away.
I would return and recommend anyone staying there, it's much better than a hotel!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Wlsnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 337 in Orlando
7,895 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,404 reviews
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,598 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Cay

Property: Vista Cay
Address: 4874 Cayview Ave, Orlando, FL 32819-8700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Cay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront luxury condominium vacation resort located in the heart of the attractions and entertainment district on International Drive and Universal Blvd. Featuring beautifully appointed 2 & 3 bedroom / 2 bath condo-suites and 3 bedroom 3.5 bath town homes. Located only 3 miles from Universal Studios, 1 mile from Sea World and 0.25 from the Orange County Convention Center. Close to world class shopping, dining & entertainment. Amenities feature FREE Wi-FI, free parking, free local and long distance phone calls (domestic including Canada & Puerto Rico), in-room safes, business center, loyalty guest program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Cay Resort By Millenium Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing