We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
Ranked #210 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful at best”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Booked room on Hotwire.com, that was my first mistake. Room was already fully paid for before I checked in, but I had to surrender my credit card when I got here anyway for "incidentials", whatever. Arrived at first room and there was a plastic "caution wet floor"tower sitting in front of my door. One step into the room and the wet dog smell slapped me in the face. Went back to the lobby and was given another room. The lobby attendant was nice, no issues with getting another room. Arrived at second room, looked clean but carpet smells dirty and I refuse to take off my shoes.

Bottom line, this hotel has issues with mold, mildew, and cleanliness. Also another issue is contact with the front desk. I called not long after I arrived in the room and let the phone ring at least two dozen times no answer. I was calling about the wireless internet. You apparently have to pay for the in-room wireless... REALLY? The least this low rent hotel can do is give you free wireless. Never Again.. will never stay here and I'll never use Hotwire.com - they're both awful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoCoKeyOrl, General Manager at Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced during your stay. We do ask that all guests provide their credit card and this is to account for any incidentals that may occur during your stay. We strive to ensure that all rooms are cleaned to our high standards on a daily basis. Additionally, Wi-Fi is complimentary in all of our guestrooms and in all of our public areas. There is no extra charge for this service. We apologize again for the discomfort you faced and hope that you reconsider and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    787
    438
    252
    275
See reviews for
2,107
158
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We accidentally came upon a great Groupon Deal for this hotel: 2 nights, water park entrance, and arcade entrance. We would have never known about this place without the Groupon offer but it was the best experience vacationing as a family. We went in January, the water was cold (heated pool in certain areas) but it didn't stop us from enjoying the numerous water slides. It wasn't busy, I'm sure it's busier in the summer time. There is always security roaming around and lifeguards @ every inch. All the staffs were super friendly. It was better than we imagined as well. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sushithaiparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoCoKeyOrl, Front Office Manager at Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Hello Sushithaiparty,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time. As of November 18, 2015 we changed ownership and while all reviews were shared immediately with Team Members, I wanted to make it a point to reach out to you directly as we raise the bar for the service we deliver.

We appreciate your continued business and if I can be of any assistance on your next reservations do not hesitate to email me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Andrew
Front Office Manager
Andy.Holt@cocokeyorlando.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The staff were all really friendly and helpful. They answered all my questions in detail and smiled a lot.The room was also nicer than I thought. IT was roomy and had aircondition. The resort is pretty big. There are plenty of activities to keep the kids busy.Its location is also great because its in the middle of everything. Nearby there are resturants, places to shop, and miniature golf. I stayed there with my 10 month old son and husband. My son was a little afraid of the water but enjoyed himself in the arcade. I liked the fact there were lots of life guards around to supervise the kids at the waterpark area. I disliked that I found stains under the pillows on the bed. As if the cleaners turned them over to hide the stains. But luckily I brought sheets with me for us to put over the bed. Other than the stains on the pillow, I did enjoy my time at the waterpark.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the towers.The tower is a little more quiet and secluded from all the children scre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoCoKeyOrl, Front Office Manager at Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Hello Ayana P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time. As of November 18, 2015 we changed ownership and while all reviews were shared immediately with Team Members, I wanted to make it a point to reach out to you directly as we raise the bar for the service we deliver.

We appreciate your continued business and if I can be of any assistance on your next reservations do not hesitate to email me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Andrew
Front Office Manager
Andy.Holt@cocokeyorlando.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Coco Key during a trip to Orlando that was mainly meant to go to amusement parks. The hotel is perfectly located (5 mins drive from Universal, 20 minutes from Disney and Gator Land, a couple of miles away from Wet'n'Wild) and has a free parking surrounding each of the buildings.

At first, I had only booked it for its proximity to the parks as well as for its very low price (we paid about 100$ all included per night for a large double room) and because I was somewhat intrigued by the water park. Well, it was worth it! The room was ready already at 11:30 AM although the policy says that the check-in is only later in the afternoon - first good point. Then we discovered a very large room with a very comfy queen size bed, a flat-screen TV and a fridge - second good point. Finally, as we are both geeks, we were extremely pleased to discover that the hotel has free WiFi in the rooms - third good point. On top of that, there are two PC's with a printer available for guests in the main lobby, which came in quite handy when we decided at the last minute to book tickets for the Cirque du Soleil. Now, about the water park, it is very well worth it! The slides are great, though the air is quite chilly in November. Never mind the cold air, you can move to the heated pool next to the lobby building. Icing on the cake: the staff was always extremely nice and helpful. I would definitely go back to that hotel if I travel again to Orlando!

Room Tip: The central building tends to be more quiet as it does not have a view on either of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoCoKeyOrl, Front Office Manager at Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Hello Fabrizio45,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time. As of November 18, 2015 we changed ownership and while all reviews were shared immediately with Team Members, I wanted to make it a point to reach out to you directly as we raise the bar for the service we deliver.

We appreciate your continued business and if I can be of any assistance on your next reservations do not hesitate to email me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Andrew
Front Office Manager
Andy.Holt@cocokeyorlando.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went into Orlando for 4 days after 4 days at Disney. After a rocky start to the check in process (it was late), we completely enjoyed our stay.

The water-park is NOT Disney, but the kids did enjoy it. Definitely good for some hours of fun.
Not much for the parents to do, so depending on the age of your kids, this may or may not be a good thing.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all, plenty of family friendly restaurants around, and to be honest the choices there were limited. The pool was fun, there was internet access and wi-fi available, with enough chairs and some toys for the kids.

We had a Family suite, which was TWO adjoining rooms, both nicely appointed with 2 different bathrooms.. one faced the parking lot, the other the pool area.

Manager, very visible and friendly.

I'd stay here again, the location was GREAT and the price was very good also - we stayed in February.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laramom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoCoKeyOrl, Front Office Manager at Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Hello Laramom23,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time. As of November 18, 2015 we changed ownership and while all reviews were shared immediately with Team Members, I wanted to make it a point to reach out to you directly as we raise the bar for the service we deliver.

We appreciate your continued business and if I can be of any assistance on your next reservations do not hesitate to email me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Andrew
Front Office Manager
Andy.Holt@cocokeyorlando.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Dislike: exterior cooridors and location on I Drive

Everything else is 100% +++! The park is fun, the bedding is amazing and the hotels . I think all rooms now have a fridge and micro. That's new for 2011.

They also offer birthday party packages for the locals.

Helpful?
1 Thank jesbribraali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoCoKeyOrl, Front Office Manager at Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Hello Jesbribraali,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time. As of November 18, 2015 we changed ownership and while all reviews were shared immediately with Team Members, I wanted to make it a point to reach out to you directly as we raise the bar for the service we deliver.

We appreciate your continued business and if I can be of any assistance on your next reservations do not hesitate to email me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Andrew
Front Office Manager
Andy.Holt@cocokeyorlando.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We booked the coco key "hotel" as part of a seaworld package. This is not a hotel/resort. CocoKey is a motel compound with a small highrisel building in the middle. Most of the units here are 2 storey motel buildings without elevator access to the second floor. Parking is around the outside of the motel buildings and there is a pathway between the motel buildings that leads to the tower building. The pathway is not lit sufficiently, the elevators in the tower needed buttons repaired, the hallways have an unpleasant odor. The rooms were clean and large. The air conditoner blew so much air that you had to stand at the other end of the room when it was on and was so loud we could not hear each other. The staff were pleasant and helpful If you are looking for a motel the cocokey will suit your needs but if your looking for a hotel or resort hotel don't stay here.

Room Tip: only stay in the tower building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Zysli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoCoKeyOrl, Front Office Manager at Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Hello soccermom14,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. I would like to offer my sincere apology for the challenges you faced during your stay with us. We strive to provide you with excellent service from check in through check out and I am disappointed we were not able to meet that goal. As of November 18, 2015 we changed ownership and while all reviews are shared immediately with Team Members, I wanted to make it a point to reach out to you directly as we raise the bar for the service we deliver.

I would like to discuss this in more detail so we can take immediate action to correct the areas you mentioned. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that we can restore your confidence in us and provide you with a quick resolution.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew
Front Office Manager
321-206-4392
Andy.Holt@cocokeyorlando.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 339 in Orlando
5,161 reviews
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 339 in Orlando
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort

Property: Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
Address: 7400 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Orlando
#132 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly hotel and water resort located near the major theme parks and shopping. Coco Key Hotel and Water Resort is Orlando's first canopy covered water park boasting fourteen flumes, featuring "The Boomerango," 60ft of thrill seeking adventure offering twists and turns until you splash into our heated outdoor pool. Coco Key offers a 6,000 sq.ft. arcade featuring over 50 of the newest and coolest video games and interactive gaming on the market today. Coco Key Hotel and Water Resort-Orlando offers 391 well appointed Guestrooms and Suites designed for your Orlando, Florida lodging needs. Amenities include free local calls, coffee/tea makers, self controlled air conditioning, 37" plasma televisions with ESPN, am/fm alarm clock radios. Additional amenities include complimentary transportation to Universal, SeaWorld, Aquatica and Wet n' Wild, complimentary area shuttle, kids club and daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Key Hotel And Water Park Orlando
Orlando Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing