We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice at good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Ranked #99 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent! Truly enjoyed our stayed at Hyatt! The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Situated a stone throw away from Universal Studio, we didn't have to travel or start off really early to get there. Free wifi and parking was great since we had a rental to get around town.

The hotel is also just off international drive and a hop and skip from the premium outlet!! Really -get ready to shop till you drop there! The daily breakfast was nice, would have been great to have a little more variety as they serve the same things every day.

We even manage to get discounted tickets to attractions from their attraction office just at the lobby (so we could skip the queues at Universal and Disney. It also had families in mind with easy access laundry service and a small convenient shop downstairs.

Would be my no 1 choice on a return trip to Orlando, FL.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt place for 10 nights in August and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with the hotel. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was delicious!!! The rooms are always cleaned by the cleaners and there are a decent variety of TV programmes available ranging from AMC to Cartoon Network. However there is a shopping outle a head of the hotel which consists of stores like Ralph Lauren, Hugo Boss, Lacoste, Yankee Candle etc and is a 30 minute walk away (Google maps) but there is a motorway in between and no pavement to walk to the stores and the only way to get there is by taxi which is $12 one way. Moreover the cleaners do not lay new bedding often enough and would prefer the cleaning of linen to be on a daily basis. Apart from these 2 issues the Hotel is located near Universal and a free shuttle service is available from the hotel all you need to do is go to the Universal desk in the hotel in the morning and ask for a Boarding pass for yourself and your colleagues which will take you to Universal (last one is at 11:25 am and you can take it back to the hotel for free as well (last shuttle to hotel is at 8:00 pm). If you want to stay longer than 8pm since the park closes at 10pm you can take a Taxi which costs just under $6 to get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amritpal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to here you enjoyed our complimentary hot skillet breakfast and that our staff took great care of you while you were here. Next time you stay with us please feel free to leave the change linen sign on your bed and our housekeepers would be happy to put clean sheets on for you, if the sign is not left up then they still put clean sheets on every 3rd day during your stay to be environmentally friendly. We hope to see you again, thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The free breakfast is nice. Just wish they'd offer more item's. They serve the same items each day. The rooms have a small fridge so you can store the free yogur to eat later in the day. They also offer apples in the lobby all day.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Where-2-go-4-help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Steven,

Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We rotate our hot breakfast items on the complimentary hot skillet breakfast. next time you stay with us please let us know what you are looking for, we are happy to accommodate you when ever possible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I love staying at they Hyatt. This hotel was great as usual. Excellent service, good breakfast, and huge rooms. I have a 5 member family and the room has 2 beds with a sleeper sofa. This hotel was very close to Universal Studios with a complimentary shuttle there every morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Steven,

Thanks for staying with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked a trip to Universal and stayed at the Hyatt. We researched local hotels and decided on this one based on values and amenities.

Pros: free breakfast, free wifi, very clean, outdoor pool, modern rooms, comfortable bed, mini fridge and safe in room, friendly staff (most of the time), free shuttle to Universal.

Cons: Almost none. Our room wasn't quite ready when we got there so we had to wait about 15 minutes, but the employee on duty apologized profusely for the inconvenience and gave us a couple of sodas and bottled water to make up for it.

Location-wise, this hotel is very close to the parks (less than a mile away). It's also about a half mile to mile walk from several restaurants and a Walgreens. If you take a cab to either of those places, it's about $6-8 for 2 people. Very convenient and affordable.

You can technically walk to the parks, but there aren't sidewalks along part of the route so be careful of traffic.

Overall - we will definitely be staying with Hyatt more often. We slept well, we ate well, and were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hi Sarah,

Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad your stay was enjoyable! I'm excited that you noticed some of our green features. We have improved our green standards recently by adding recycle bins to the public areas and we have even partnered with Clean the World to recycle our used soap and bottled amenities. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

If you are booking this place by just website pictures let me stop you and save you the money. When you walk into this hotel it reminds me of Brooklyn diner cramped with breakfast buffet right by the front desk. Elevator from 80s, slow and old. Rooms are average, bathroom is open, sink is outside, small room with tub and toilet is so small you hardly can open the door without hitting something, and all this is not mentioned on the website, for this overpriced place save your $$$$. I don't recommend to anyone even if it is close to Universal stay with others. Not ever booking again Hyatt Place or letting friends and family losing their money for something that doesn't deserve or deliver on its promise.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ChicagoCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to tell us about your stay, your feedback is valuable to us. I am sorry for any inconvenience the bathroom size caused you. Although we are not able to change the current guest room bathrooms, this feedback has helped in the creation of new Hyatt Places which now have the bathrooms located in the front of the room with the sink inside the shower room. Our bathrooms have remained the open concept as shown on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were absolutely blown away when we walked in the hotel. It was like a dream that we could actually stay in a place this nice. It was very modern, updated, upscale. The breakfast bar was above most hotels that offer this service. The price was very good for tourist season! It was right across the street from Universal Studio. This was the best hotel ever.

Room Tip: The desk personnel was very knowledgeable and helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt01, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Orlando Universal, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Hi Sharon,
Thank you for staying with us! I so glad to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated, modern, yet comfy atmosphere. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Clarion Inn & Suites
#129 of 342 in Orlando
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Address: 5895 Caravan Court, Orlando, FL 32819-7901
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#31 Business Hotel in Orlando
#39 Green Hotel in Orlando
#58 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $146 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Orlando Universal 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Place Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Place Orlando
Hyatt Universal Studios
Hyatt Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing