We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
Ranked #113 of 3,749 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Orange Park
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This place was clean, and they offered fast and friendly service. My food was good and I had just had WLS and they were able to make some changes to accommodate me. There was a long wait to get in but you can get a drink from the bar and have a seat outside. And if you take kids they had a lot of stuff to keep them busy too!

Helpful?
Thank Perfectsizediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,357
    1,526
    569
    184
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed our lunch at this Bubba Gump location. The food was good and the atmosphere was great. Matt, Mike and Steve helped us out during our meal. We had great service while we were there and definitely was recognized as a Landry's Select Club member. Thanks to all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

While in the Orlando area, I was told I had too try this place. I went with what I was told, and I was very happy I did. Service was top-notch, food was out of this world, everyone was happy. We will come back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, service could be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

As with most of the City Walk restaurants, this one gets busy. We waited about an hour for a table for 8 but with the gift shop and City Walk stores we didn’t mind too much. The whole place is themed on the movie Forrest Gump. As a Forrest Gump fan, this was very cool with lots of little details that fans of the movie would appreciate. However, if you are not a Forrest Gump fan (or if you have not seen the movie), please don’t let this put you off – you don’t need to enjoy or see a movie to appreciate good shrimp! The tables each had their own flip-sign – one sign reading ‘Run Forrest Run’ and the other sign reading ‘Stop Forrest Stop’. If at any point during your meal we needed extra sauce, drinks or you needed to see a waiter, we flipped the sign to ‘Stop Forrest Stop’ and a member of staff would come right over. This is a great touch and made ordering extra drinks much more convenient!

Our waiter wasn’t the best – all other tables were asked Forrest Gump trivia style questions but we weren’t asked any. Maybe this was because we were a party of 8 but still it looked like fun and I would’ve liked that. We also asked for some sauces to be brought to the table and the waitress dropped the tray of sauces onto my pregnant sister, ruining her dress. We understood this was an accident but still felt as though the staff were trying to carry too much and this is when accidents like this can happen (the waitress was carrying about 5 drinks in her other hand stacked on top of one another…). The waitress was really apologetic and promised my sister she would bring her a drink free of charge - the drink never came and we didn’t see the waitress again. This was a small blip on an otherwise great evening – gorgeous shrimp dishes, great choice of non-shrimp dishes and a nice atmosphere. We would return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BecMayF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal after theme parks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our family with 2 hungry male teenagers had a great time in Universal's theme parks. Unfortunately, the food inside all theme parks is poor quality and expensive (but that's another story). We saved our appetites for dinner at Bubba Gumps. Both times we were not disappointed. The atmosphere is engaging with many small details relating to the movie. The service was prompt, efficient and playful; we were asked both times about our day and what we did, which made us feel like we were welcome.
The food is heavily biased towards seafood, and shrimp in particular. We love seafood and whilst it was not any Michelin starred meal, it was very tasty, ample portions and reasonably priced. We enjoyed taking home 2 glasses which remind us of the great time we had in Orlando.
Make sure you have watched the movie before you go though. And ask for a booth - they sit on a slightly higher level than the regular tables, and so feel more exclusive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing