We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch special”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Indulge in our famous dry aged steaks, 5,000 or so bottles of wine from our award-winning list, and sublime desserts. All in an atmosphere of the casual ease and elegance born of Floridian leisure. We are located at The Pointe Orlando. Near the Convention Center. The finest hotels. And, naturally, the best golf courses.The Capital Grille Orlando. Paradise, redefined.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great lunch special”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great lunch special. Good atmosphere and a nice place to take clients/collegues. Parking was a little tough-- take advantage of the free valet!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicmic921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    269
    91
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Due to a website problem, when we arrived at the restaurant for a celebration meal, we found that they had no record of our booking, and that the delay before we could get a table would be around 45 minutes.
When we said this was not acceptable, Manager, David Morris stepped in and quickly resolved the problem, found us a table, and made sure we had first rate service all night.
Every place has a problem every now and again, it's how they deal with the issue, and how they make you feel that is true customer service.
We had a great night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ian_satchwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Steaks, Be Yourself”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife, and family members, 6 adults, 2 children were able to get a table quickly on a Saturday night with no reservations. The choice was definitely last minute, and we were a little casual for the atmosphere. The management & wait staff were very good and the 2 children with us were quiet and well-behaved. A birthday celebration for one of the adult parents inspired me to select 2 bottles of wine. The wine list was above average, with an above average mark up. The waiter was perhaps a little too emphatic about his choice, but was honest as to why he liked it and well-informed about several other choices on the wine list. Steaks all around, with one salmon entree. Filets, Filet Oscar, Porterhouse with several generous sides ordered to share. The sides are large portions intended for sharing. The seasoned truffle fries, calamari, gourmet mushrooms, and lobster macaroni were great hits. The service didn't disappoint after the meal with a complimentary birthday piece of ricotta cheesecake topped with creme brulee. A treat indeed, enjoyed by all in our party. Be advised, get there early for dinner, they fill up quickly. Also, be advised for parties of 6 or more, gratuity is automatically added. And finally, elegant casual is recommended attire. We will definitely be back with the rest of the family who weren't able to make it this time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zen_journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Solid Steakhouse”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great place to bring client or potential clients. Speedy, but the service was great and the food very good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JDHolder27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Have eaten at several Capital Grille locations. Usually with clients on an expense report but have gone for a special occasion on my own tab.

Classic steakhouse as good as any. Rivals chains like Ruth's Chris and Flemings and places like Morton's of Chicago.

Service...impeccable.

Steaks...great, always perfectly done. I had the Fillet Mignon Oscar with Lump Crab & Bernaise Sauce....to die for....

Sides...big enough for 2-3 people so prepare to share and were awesome. The Lobster Mac&Cheese and the Truffle Fries were just fantastic. I am sure the other sides would be also.

Great winelist.

My client loved it and was impressed so the objective was achieved.

My ONLY complaint...and it is very minor...is that the restaurant/patrons were unusually load for that level of steakhouse. I have eaten at Ruth's Chris and Mortons and Flemmings and other Capital Grille restaurants and dont really remember them being so loud that at times it was difficult to hold the conversation with my client. Not like people were shouting and out of control...just the din/buzz of happy people and hustling servers all aggreated to a decible level that seemed a little unusual. But that is the ONLY thing I could say could be improved upon maybe but you don't want the place to be a tomb either. Maybe just sound panels or something to absourb a little more of the sound rather than reflect it. But it certainly wasn't bad enough to make me not want to go back!

Other than that...fantastic place for a special occasion or to WOW a client.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TERMINATOR1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing