We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. After a long journey, we were greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist who made us feel very welcome at the hotel. When we entered our apartment, we could not believe how it was like home away from home. It had everything you could want. and was immaculately clean.

The only criticism we would have is that the hotel was described as being "right next door to Disneyland". This lead us to believe that we would be able to walk to Disneyland, however, this is completely impossible as there are no sidewalks along the main roads.

We would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JSP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2009

Stayed at the Blue Heron from June 7-14, 2009, with my husband and 2 sons (ages 21 & 19). We chose the Blue Heron after finding it on-line and reading the reviews. The rooms were exactly as pictured. We had the Disney Suite with 2 balconies on the 12th floor. The view of the lake was nice and you really could see the fireworks from Disney from the front balcony. We found the rooms to be very clean upon arrival. The refrigerator smelled of bleach, so you could tell it had just been cleaned before we arrived. I tend to be very picky and have left hotels that were not up to my standards. The location was great. It was right on the main drag, within minutes of dozens of restaurants, and only two blocks from the entrance to Disney World. Considering the fact that we would have paid 2 or 3 times as much for a single hotel room in the park, and instead got an entire condo with 2 baths, we were definitely happy with our choice. We would definitely stay at the Blue Heron again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJTravel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed at this property for 14 nights in late May/early June - 2 adults and 1 child. We had a 9th floor 2 bed/2 bath/2 balcony condo in Building 1, with views of Disney area to the front and Lake Bryan to the back. Both balconies had a table and 2 chairs.

Firstly, it has to be said that for the rate we paid (about £40/night, via agency on the web) this property offered outstanding value for money.

The condos are accessed via the room keycard operated lifts which go up from the covered parking lots under the buildings, to an external corridor. There is also outdoor parking. A keycard is also required for pool access.

The condo itself was spacious and well furnished, with all rooms accessed off a long hallway. There was a comfortable king bed in the main bedroom, with closet, balcony and en suite bath with jacuzzi function. The 2nd bedroom had two single beds and was also en-suite. There were two bunk beds in a recess in the hallway. The washer/dryer was also in a cupboard in the hallway. The condo was air-conditioned, although it seemed to me that this was not as effective in the bedrooms as it was in the lounge area.

The flooring was tiled throughout (with the exception of the bedrooms). The tiled areas could have benefitted from a mopping - other than that the condo was clean.

The condo had a full kitchen with fridge/freezer, microwave, full sized cooker, toaster, blender, coffee maker etc. There were enough utensils, pans etc to manage for the duration of our holiday. Towels and starter supplies of toilet roll, dishwasher tabs and wash detergent were supplied.

There was a breakfast bar which separated the kitchen from the lounge area. The phone and internet connection were here - we didnt use the internet so cannot comment on speed/quality. We had two, two-seater sofas, coffee table and an armchair as well as a dining room table, with side window and a balcony overlooking the lake. Both bedrooms and the lounge had TVs and DVD players - all were CRT and bit dated, but they functioned OK.

The pool area was large and well maintained, with a hot tub and decked walkways down to the lakeside. For the most part, the pool area was quiet and almost deserted!We didnt use the small gym and games room, but they looked OK.

As far as the surrounding area is concerned, there is a CiCis pizza buffet place next to the property, along with a small supermarket. The nearest Publix is a 5 min drive away along Vineland Ave, where the Premium Outlet mall is also located. Disney and other attractions are easily reached from I-4. There are restaurants within walking distance of the property, although I'm not sure I would want to be walking around too far in the evenings.

To summarise, this is an excellent place to stay in the Orlando area - we would not hesitate to use it again on future visits.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrCBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We travelled here between 9-23 May 2009. We rented a 2 bedroom suite with 2 balconies (you have to pay extra for this) room 2-607, we both really enjoyed our stay. We could not hear the cars from the road (this was stated in previous posts), we found the bed really comfy and extremely big. Also we found the kitchen to have a good number of utensils to use and you had very sharp knives to cut the pizzas. We found the staff polite and willing to help, we found the room cleanliness to the top standard. There is parking available under the towers. Overall we will be back to this resort on our next stay, and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmmh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment with wife and daughter. Have visited Orlando previously and always stayed in hotels.
Very impressed by the size of the apartment. Good sized lounge with a balcony which seated four comfortably overlooking the lake. Beds comfortable and plenty of wardrobe space. Excellent kitchen with appliances including dishwasher. We only used the balcony to the front of the building to view the Disney fireworks. Free wireless internet was an unexpected bonus.
Lots of sunloungers and chairs around the pool.
At £50($70) per night including resort fees and taxes I feel it represented excellent value and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hactonhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here may 15th through the 20th of may and we were amazed on how beautiful the room was. We had plenty of room for the kids to play and sleep. We got the sunrise suite which has a great view. There's not cleaning unless you pay for it, but we didn't need it. I just cleaned up a little here and there. New appliances and new TVs in the rooms with dvd players. The pool area was nice too. There's a kids pool and two hot tubs, also a big pool. The service was great too. They helped us out with everything we needed and that was very helpful. We loved it so much that we are going to go back again this year. The beds went the softest, but i slept just fine and i am very picky about beds. Don't be weary of other reviews this place was great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootiekri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We had a 2 bedroom unit with Disney view on the 15th floor during May 7th-11th. Upon entering the room to ride the elevator we began to wonder if we made the right choice staying here. The little room was filthy, walls all scuffed up, and the windows didn't appear to have been cleaned in weeks. We took the ride up to the 15th floor and the outside hallways there too appeared to have been neglected. As soon as we entered the room you see the master bedroom and your eyes go straight to huge black stains on the carpet. You could tell it has been vacuumed but it needed some steam cleaning action to say the least. Also the tile through the unit while appeared to have been swept needed some deeper cleaning also. Both balconies where also in need of a good clean. Everything about the floor seemed clean though. Down by the pool was pretty much the same story. The pool itself seemed clean but the decking around the pool was littered with duck poo. The restrooms by the pool where unusable and didn't appear to have been clean for weeks. I would have been disappointed if I had paid more but for a resort to the term 'luxury' in its advertisements is misleading. Overall the views where nothing but awesome but the resort itself needs more attention to cleaning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.5 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
1.4 mi away
WorldQuest Orlando Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
0.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 340 in Orlando
3,172 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $104 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing