We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay Near All Attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at BHBR from Feb 28-March 8 2014. We have visited Disney 10-12 times and have stayed on Disney and many other condos in the area. For the value BHBR was by far the best we have ever stayed at. You may find a condo cheaper out in Davenport that is just as nice but it is so far to travel for attractions ,dining ,shopping etc. Everything you need is located within a few second/minutes of BHBR.
The beds are a bit uncomfortable but we were so exhausted after days at the parks it was not a big issue. It was quiet , very clean and staff was excellent.
I will be staying here again on my next visit to Orlando !!!!

Room Tip: The sunrise suites are the prettiest and quietest, you can still go out to the back and see the fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you so much for mentioning how positive your experience was at The Blue Heron. I am sorry the beds were not to your liking. In most units we have replaced the king mattresses and are working on the twin bedding. Mattress comfort can be such a personal choice but happy to hear that you were tired enough to sleep!
Thank you so much for the recommendation, we look forward to your return!

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visited in June 2013 to visit Disney, Universal and Sea World. We were hoping for a clean, comfortable and central location, and that is exactly what we got. We are pretty picky about cleanliness, and we were very happy with the condition of our unit and the furnishings. Everything inside the condo was clean, comfortable and well-maintained. The single exception was the door concealing the washer and dryer -- it was a little balky, but no big deal. Having the extra bed rooms was a real plus. We could put the younger kids to bed while the adults and older kids stayed up. The kitchen was great for having breakfast before heading out to the parks. The location was very convenient too, less than 15-20 minutes from every park, even in traffic. The views were great, and the kids loved the pool. I do wish the pools were open later, but I understand the issue of potential late evening noise for the lower units. We had a car, so we didn't use the shuttle. Maneuvering in the parking garage is a little tight, especially for bigger SUVs, but manageable. We were out most of the time, so we didn't see much of the staff, but those we did interact with with friendly and helpful. Free wifi worked well. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We sought a higher floor to get well above the mini-golf attraction in front of the condo, which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardthehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experiences at The Blue Heron. It is wonderful to hear that our large suites were perfect for your family. The pool hours are determined by the HOA but I will pass along your comments. I am sorry the closet door was not fixed properly but I did report it so our next guest won't have the same issue. We really appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back soon!

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Looking out onto the tranquil lake from your windows or balcony you'd think you were miles away from all the action and yet you're right in the middle of it. A bonus: fireworks displays seen from both the front and back of the units. The lakeside pool was amazing, beautiful to look at and to swim in. A slight issue with the bedroom closet door not tracking properly (we just left it open), it would have been nice to have a night table on both sides of the bed instead of just one, and the TV in the bedroom was very outdated and not great quality, but these were very minor issues. Customer service was first rate. We'd recommend this place without hesitation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I would like to apologize for your experience during your recent stay with us. I will surely share your notes with my staff this morning, and will ensure all concerns have been addressed. I am pleased your stay with us was a good one, minus the minor issues you stated. We are dedicated to ensuring all of our guests have a great experience with us, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We checked into the Blue Heron feeling pretty excited about it, the reviews we read were all pretty good, the pictures looked awesome and the location was perfect for what we had planned for our vacation!

Boy were we disappointed when we drove in the lot, you could tell the exterior needed some work, but figured we could look past that. Checking in was fine, but when we booked this condo, I was told we were to pay on check out but found out we had to pay on check in - which was fine but didn't like the bad information we were given.

After parking our car and dragging all our stuff upstairs and finding our suite, again I felt a pit in my stomach about the place as the outside was in rough rough shape.

The suite itself had some MAJOR issues with it, First off the door handle going into the unit was broken, the bottom part not even attached to the door, and once you enter and close it, there was no chain for the lock! So I didn't feel safe.

The master bedroom had a TV older than me (not a big deal but still) the carpet had stains everywhere, I refused to take my shoes off, the mattress caved in as soon as I sat down (i'm not a heavy person) and it just screamed "I'm about to give you major back problems!", plus the master bedroom was right in front of the front door that didn't lock...awesome!

The ensuite was big and looked new, however there was mold in the shower on the ceiling, and not a little bit but COVERED, it was disgusting!!

The tile floor throughout the unit was sticky and gross, there was a mildew smell throughout, the balcony door in the back didn't open properly and was dirty - bugs and garbage.

There was no wifi in the unit as we were told there was which makes it difficult to keep in touch with family and do any online reservations for dinners and attractions.

The only good thing I can say about this place is that once we got back down to the lobby to complain and ask if we can check out ASAP, was that they were understanding and gave us a full refund on the spot.

Room Tip: If you still want to give this place a try - get the key to your unit and check it out before you pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jellybean339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We are sorry that your trip to Orlando was not as excellent as we would have liked it to be. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you the great experience that we normally provide, but certainly understand your reluctance to stay. Unfortunately we were in a sold out situation and did not have rooms to show you.

Our policy is that we do not have our guests prepay, unless they have booked a non-refundable rate. Once a guest checks in we do charge the credit card.

I do agree the garage on the lower level can feel tight for large vans, but our second story parking and perimeter parking works well.

I do apologize for the carpeting and floors and have discussed this with our housekeeping staff. This is unacceptable.
We do not have WiFi in the units, just internet , however we offer it poolside and our lobby.

Most units have upgraded to new flat screens and new mattresses. I am sorry the unit you had did not have this

I am pleased to hear that Our Front Office Manager was able to refund your stay.

We are dedicated to ensuring all of our guests have a great experience with us, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My family of 5 recently stayed here for our family vacation to Disney. The proximity to the parks was excellent! Shuttle service was good however a bit inconvenient when we had to make several stops. Our room was very clean, updated, and roomy! We did have an issue with plumbing and had to call maintenance 3 times. We will definitely be staying here again!! Thanks Blue Heron!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatiA795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It is always our goal to provide great service for our guest for all the services we provide. I'm sorry to hear you experience with the shuttle service was not a good one.
I do hope your three calls with the plumbing issues were resolved. It sounds like you had a good stay with us. I have brought forth the issues with my team so we can avoid this happening with another guest in the future. We hope you will stay with us if your travels bring you back into the area in the future.

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom corner suite which was wonderful having views of both the lake and Disney. The washing machine in the suite was a real bonus especially when we were travelling throughout the US fro two weeks, being able to stop and wash was wonderful. As international travellers we did not want to hire a car and having Omar and his drivers on hand at any time we wanted was wonderful. The rooms were well kitted and lovely and clean would recommend to anyone who wants a break from hotel rooms and eat out meals.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenFamilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.

The Staff and Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We loved our stay at The Blue Heron. We were a family of 6 and this accommodated us very well. Will definitely use this facility again. It was so close to Disney and parks and shopping! Note to self: Bring dish towels next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We do apologize for any inconvenience regarding the dish towels. I do hope you called the desk and we were able to accommodate you. It means so much to us that you were happy with The Blue Heron and we hope to welcome you back soon!

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 341 in Orlando
4,882 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 341 in Orlando
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $97 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing