We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was when making reservation!!! All lies!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #75 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good location, not far from Theme parks, great view of the Lake and really good hot water however, When my family arrived, the room was not what our reservation stated. We was given a 1 bedroom with 2 bunk beds when we had a total of 6 people. I've never stayed at a hotel where you do not get housekeeping that comes and clean, change bed lining, tidy room daily FOR THE MONEY WE PAID!!!!!! We stayed 3 nights. We called to complain to the manager, manager wouldn't come to the phone! We had to pay more money to get a big enough room to accomodate everybody! We had to call for papertowles, garbage bags, soap, towels, dish detergent. The iron didn't not power up! It took 45 minutes to get another sent up! I called twice to check the status of the replacement iron. We was told the Mini golf court was apart of the hotel, NOT! Oh, yes there's a gameroom, but you better have your money and ready to pay to play! The pool closed wayyy to early. You have to wash and re-use your same sheet and remake your bed! Hold your breath, housekeeping does not change for you. You have to wash your own towels and re-use. You don't get any change of towels or extra towels. The floors were filty. Dishes in the cabinet were dirty. I had to go and buy bleach from the Dollar Tree and clean before using. This was no vacation I had to do everything myself! We was told that the resort offers FREE shuttle to the Theme parks, NOT! Hotel charges you $12.00 per person. It's cheaper to drive there and the park only charged me $16.00 to park my vehicle. WHAT A RIP OFF!!! Wif-Fi service suck!!!! It's really terrible and crappy, we had 5 cell phones and 2 I-Pods and could not get on line. If you did it was really slow and kidded you off constantly. Too noisy. Lastly, had to go to front desk twice because all 3 keys wouldn't let me and my family in the room. WILL NOT USE THIS HOTEL ON OUR NEXT VACATION!

Room Tip: Don't stay at Blue Heron Beach Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

The Blue Heron Beach Resort would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. Our #1 goal is guest satisfaction and we apologize for not meeting those expectations. I am sorry your reservation was not clear . At times when a room is booked through a third party the error can be made. Our one bedroom suites do sleep up to six people. There is a King bed, a Queen sleeper sofa and two bunk beds. Our housekeeping policy is stated on our website and we do offer a la'carte cleaning services. We do supply a starter kit of items for the dishwasher, washer and dryer. The mini-golf is not part of our hotel although it is in front of our property. I have addressed the game room and pool to the HOA and Provident, the management company who handles this area. We are working on our Wi-Fi and do hope to have the issue resolved in the very near future . As you stated you had 5 cell phones and 2 I-Pods. This multiplied by over 200 rooms can be a problem with everyone trying to use their devices at once. We do not charge our guests 12.00 per person . The shuttle is complimentary to Epcot transportation center and SeaWorld. The guests that are charged are guest who rent directly from an owner that is not part of our rental program. We do have owners who rent on their own and thus the charge. We are sorry your experience was not what you expected. I have passed this on to the appropriate department heads and I assure you it will be addressed. If you are ever in Orlando we would like to reconsider your stay with us and I assure you, we will exceed your expectations.
The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hi just back. we are a family of 2 adults and 3 kids. massive suite, 3 tvs, full kitchen and utility area. very helpful and knowledgeable staff. hotel very clean and great security. close to all parks and shops. we didn't bother renting a car and when necessary got taxis, which were there at the drop of a hat and most of the taxi drivers were chatty and helpful. be careful crossing the roads as the motorists don't recognise your right to cross. bring empty cases as the local outlet has great deals in clothes and shoes. the hotel has complimentary shuttle busses to seaworld and aquatic. around the corner is cc's pizza where you can feed the family for 18 dollars. there is a computer in the lobby where i emailed my family every day. we had a great holiday and i am happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were on floor 14 and we had great sleeps every night and also a scary but beautiful view of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Don't be fooled by the outside of the resort, which needs a paint update and a dose of curb appeal. The unit, which was on the first floor of Tower 1, had a great view of the lake and pool. We walked to dinner at a steakhouse, and grabbed supplies at a dollar store which was also within easy walking distance. We used the very basic fitness room in the morning, and it was clean and functional. The carpet in the bedrooms was warn and needs replaced, but the vacuum lines were visible, so it was obvious that the floors were clean. The best part of this place is the unit size. It was very comfortable for our family of six. The kitchen had full size appliances, and was well stocked with everything but a cookie sheet. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed this stay. Very close to Disney World and less than 2 miles from two outlet shopping malls. The rooms were nice for a family. Staff was friendly and always greeting you. The pool was nice and not too deep so smaller kids could enjoy it. The only problem I would say is parking deck. Its not big so if its raining you have to walk in the rain to get to the elevators. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Since I do not have much time right now I just want to say that I agree with everything Chris K said. We could not get into our room as early as we wanted but we left our phone number and the resort staff called us when the room was ready, which was very nice of them. It was still before the official check in time. The major complaint was the WiFi service that didn't work well. We are a family of five so the two bedroom suite worked well for us. As a Florida resident (rate), getting a two bedroom suite with kitchen and lots of room for well under $200 a night is a steal, considering you could easily pay more for a hotel room that only sleeps four people. Location was great, although the traffic was bad when we were there, but that is rather unpredictable. We too had the staff ship back some forgotten items which they did very timely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are a family of 4 spending a week in Orlando for the Walt Disney's themes. We contacted the owner 3 months in advance directly via tripadvisor and got responses instantly. The owner was really helpful in giving tips for theme parks, mobility and thorough.

Overall, the apartment we stayed had a great view of the lake, pool and very quiet at night. The staffs are excellent in providing helps and instructions.

However, there's a little downside. while it's not that far from Walt Disney's parks (average about 3 miles to each park and the premium outlet), you would definitely need a rental car to move around. Even the resort provides bus shuttle to theme parks and shopping centre, we personally found that by having a rental car giving us more freedom to mobile around to look for different shopping malls and restaurants.

Overall, I will definitely stay here again if we have another chance to visit Florida.

Room Tip: Contact the owner via trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damienlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon. The shuttle does help with not having to drive to the parks, however it is nice to have a car to explore the area and all it has to offer.
If you do return give us a call directly to the resort , or check out our website for special rates.

Thank You,
The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here the week of July 1st – 5th 2013 after our cruise and we had the Sunrise Suite (I attached a photo of that sunrise!). Like another reviewer our cruise docked in the AM and the reservations desk girl let us get in our room early. After all of the options we looked at including rental homes we were very happy with this property. Our suite on the 8th floor of Tower 2 was very clean and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable and the view of the lake from our room was spectacular.

We had planned to use the kitchen daily but ended up eating out a lot instead, however, there seemed to be plenty of dishes and utensils etc. The rental had a dishwasher and a washer/dryer which was great. Although they only gave us one laundry detergent packet and a couple of tp rolls for the two bathrooms, there is a dollar store next door to the resort (on the other side of the volcano golf place). So for literally less than five bucks we had plenty of detergent, extra tp, bleach, fabric softener, etc. to last the whole stay and then some.

The resort has a parking garage under the building and you have to use a room key to operate the elevator, good security. The property was across from Disney and just a couple of miles from Seaworld, really it seemed like we were close to everything and being right off I4 made getting around convenient.

The staff was very helpful when we had questions before our stay and even when we left and forgot some of our belongings in one of the drawers, I sent them a label and they took the time to send it back to us, fantastic customer service! We can highly recommend the Blue Heron and would not hesitate to stay there again.

As a side note, we were there over July 4th and from our lakeside balcony (and b/c Florida is so flat) we counted more than a dozen fireworks displays from our viewpoint including Seaworld’s. And to top it off we went up to the 21st floor and since we were just across the street we watched the Disney Magic Kingdom display at 9 pm, and then the Epcot display at 10, and they were awesome, too. We saw all of Orlando’s most impressive fireworks displays and didn’t fight one crowd, loved that!!

Room Tip: Sunrise suite on 8th floor was very nice, staying over July 4th couldn't be beat. Use the $1 st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Caribe Royale Orlando
#84 of 341 in Orlando
3,275 reviews
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 341 in Orlando
4,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $93 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Vacatia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing