We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Chaska, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The 2 bedroom, 2 bath was really nice and clean. It has a washer/dryer in the unit which is a huge plus! It's a very secure resort with a great pool and fitness area. The rooms were very clean and nicely equipped with towels/bedding/dishes. It's located so close to Disney World and Sea World. It took us 5-10 minutes to get to these places.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom/2 bath units are on the end so there is extra windows and 2 decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    719
    178
    73
    62
See reviews for
1,542
266
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pretty good location, but watch out for the horrendous traffic right outside the door. The units are great for 2+2, with kids in the bunk beds. The view out on to the lake is superb. Overall the units are great for that kind of 'in between hotel and apartment' room. The main bedroom is quite noisy as it is straight on to the passageway at the back, and if next door closes their door with any force, it is an earthquake coming through! The staff were helpful and keen to sort out any issues. Less than good were: you only get a maximum of six pillows for the beds, and none others are available 'unless we take them from another unit, but we're full'. If you have four on the main bed, that only leaves two for the kids and none for the sofa bed. Not great, as they are very thin. The internet is anything but high speed - I don't spend my holiday working, but want to read the news, look at where we are visiting, restaurants etc. At busy times it is unusable, and I don't buy into the 'it's ok, but if lots of people are on it, it gets real slow' - 2013 folks, pay for the bandwidth. We ended up with a separate router which they have available for those who complain, but again fine if not busy. Finally, there are nowhere near enough loungers or chairs around the pool - there are two towers which accommodate a lot of people, and at a guess about 40 chairs/loungers around a big pool. Every morning there are the early risers who park their towels on loungers and return a couple of hours later, while everyone else sits on the concrete - not great. There is room for a lot more.
Overall then, you (almost) get what you pay for, 3* accommodation, which could actually be a lot better with a little more investment from the owners. You get the feeling that they are cutting corners just a little.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had such a great stay at the Blue Heron Beach Resort! Highly Recommend without hesitation. Clean, friendly helpful staff, nice views, great location and I could go on.....but, read more reviews and they tell it all. This is the place to stay in Orlando~ and did I mention Comfy bed, big kitchen, nice gym room and beautiful pool? : )

Room Tip: Very close to the Disney entrance. Views of Downtown Disney can be seen from walkways~ pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roswatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The stay was great. Clean unit. Not one bug in the entire place. Kitchen fully equipped. The only bad thing is that they close the pool at 9 so no one can really go night swimming if you like to do that. But other than that it was great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireya647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed there for 2 months. It has everything you may need close to the resort. We had the end unit on the 14th floor looking towards Old Town.

I walked everywhere. The Premium Outlet Mall is a nice walk. The stores are awesome. Walgreens across the road from the condo, and a few good restaurants. Dollar Tree is at the mall just through the walkway. Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks there also.

The internet was slow. In fact, you had to use it early in the morning, otherwise not enough bandwidth. I understand they are putting in fiber optics to speed up the service. I had a VOIP phone which they connected me to the phone in the unit.

Kevin, Manager and trouble shooter, along with Greg, looked after any concerns we had. Tyler on the front desk, is an awesome person to deal with. He always helped out, and with a smile. Deborah, Reservation Manager, is also a great person. She replaced Rachel. Rachel booked us in the best unit two floors from the top. The balconies were to die for. I spent most of my time on the balcony facing Disney. The fireworks were something to see. The volcano was not an issue. We got used to it.

We already booked the unit for next winter. I look forward to returning, as the grounds were kept extremely clean, and the pool was warm. I look forward to seeing my walking buddies. It was very safe to walk. Long stay people like the area for its safeness, and how clean it is. No garbage, and the grass always kept well groomed. It really bothers me to see cigarette butts, none at this resort.

Housekeeping staff was very nice, and our unit was clean on arrival. If you need extra linens, just call the front desk, and up they come. This is not a hotel, so don't expect clean towels daily. There is a nice washer and dryer in the unit. Just pop in the towels, and you will always have fresh one.

Don't go to anywhere else, like Oceola in Kissimmee near Walmart or on 192. It is kinda sketchy areas. Everything around Blue Heron is good. Upper scale area. You get what you pay for, and very safe. You cannot go from floor to floor or up in the elevators, without your key pass.

Blue Heron Resort is a real resort. It has all the amenities as listed on their website. Don't be fooled by other areas when they advertise their units as being in safe areas when they are not safe. Blue Heron is totally safe for families visiting Disney. Disney is just half a mile from the Blue Heron. I walked often to Downtown Disney. Why would you want to stay in a hotel when you can have a full condo, and the space to move around in? Stay there for your vacation. Don't turn your vacation into a nightmare, if you stay somewhere else this could easily happen. There is a reason why other places are cheap in other areas. That is because of the areas they are located in. Lots of owners post their own reviews, saying they were the guests from their private units in other areas.

Be careful where you buy your gas for your vehicle. Read the small numbers on the sign for prices. The cheap prices for cash, and a totally different price for a credit card. We found Hess down the road on 535 to have the best prices, and same price for cash or credit card.

Blue Heron Resort is on Lake Bryan. It was fun to watch the activities. Great place for a family. It has two pools, children's pool, and hot tub. The Tiki Bar, was great for a quick snack, or a nice glass of wine. Everything was always kept clean in the area. No garbage anywhere. Staff always around to make sure that everything is working well. It was so nice to sit around the pool, and read a good book. Wifi worked very well at the pool area.

Treat yourself to a real nice vacation, you won't be disappointed staying at Blue Heron Resort. The staff treats your royally, as the saying goes. A great place and very easy to get to the airport, and going to the cruise lines.

We were told they are upgrading the tv in all the units. Can't wait to see the new tv in our unit and the new beds next winter.

We had no issues with our vehicle in the parking areas. Always someone from the staff walking around to check it out. Actually no walk-ins off the street.

I can't wait to return to Blue Heron. Will see you all next winter, Tyler, Kevin, Greg, Deb, and all the rest of the staff who treated us so great.

The most important aspect of this resort is NO PETS!! If owners can leave their dogs at home, this place would be perfect, especially when they have two dogs. The condo association needs to change the rules to state only one pet in their unit. The owners have to spoil a good thing by bringing the Fidos with them on vacation. This is why we stayed at Blue Heron, no pets allowed.

I noticed that there are not any other condo towers in the area. This is why the Blue Heron is so unique. It was such a pleasure making dinner in the unit, sitting down at the diningroom and watching old town at night. The morning coffee on the balcony was awesome, as we had an end unit with two balconies. The balconies were so big. Sitting out there at night was great. It only rained 3 times in 2 months. The weather was great!!

Room Tip: Lots of sun in Tower 1, and quiet. Not as windy on top floors as Tower 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachgirl2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated . I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do look forward to your return vsit next year.

I will pass the comments on to Tyler, our Front Desk Agent, Deborah,our Reservations Manager , Greg, Maintenance Agent and Kevin our Director of Maintenace.

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. The staff certainly appreciates it !

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

When I was making my initial travel plans, I saw the Blue Heron listed on Expedia for a little more than a Holiday Inn. Looking at the pics, I thought to myself "I'll try it, but it's probably too good to be true." Couldn't be farther from the truth. In a word, this place was AMAZING! Beautiful and spacious room, a full kitchen with kitchen appliances and equipment, an amazing view overlooking Orlando, a friendly staff. Couldn't ask for too much more! The only drawbacks are a lack of housekeeping and an outdated TV's (though these are VERY minor issues). I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher, the better. It gives you the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at beginning of our vacation to do parks with the kids. Very good location for this. Within 10 minutes of Sea World, Discovery Cove and Aquatica. Also Disney's ESPN Wide World of Sports complex.
Room was nice, we had a one bedroom with a king bed and a set of bunk beds. We were in tower 2, 16th floor. Bedroom (with it's own full bath) is as soon as you enter unit with bunk beds being just outside bedroom door in the hall. For our family this worked perfect. There was also another full bath. Kitchen was nice, with modern appliances, granite counters and open to the living room with everything you would need. There was also a dining room table. Couch also pulled out to a bed. The balcony was nice, on the back of unit overlooked Lake Bryan. If someone was interested in DTD fireworks, the hallways are open air with lookouts which face DTD, but fireworks are far away and not that great, the night we watched anyway.
Pool area was nice and clean, with a small Tiki bar, although we did not use it so not sure of prices. Parking was ample, although may be limited during busier times of year and parking garage would be tight for large vehicles, but they do offer outside parking. Check in was a breeze, just like a hotel. We did receive one call to go to breakfast to talk timeshare, but we declined and the caller was not pushy. A Starbucks, Dunkin Doughnuts and CiCi's Pizza within 1 minute walk. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Nice view from higher floors. 1 bedroom would suit family of 4 or 5 with small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_1977Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#23 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Property: Blue Heron Beach Resort
Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing