We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home with beautiful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

At first I was a little worried about all the traffic as the property is just off a major road in Orlando, but once we pulled into the parking lot & checked in all those thoughts went away. PROS: The front desk staff was very welcoming & friendly. They even let us check in early (about 1:00 p.m.) which we really appreciated. All we needed & wanted to know about the property & surrounding area was explained to us & we were also given plenty of paper work, fliers, welcome letters to help us on our way. You can purchase ALL major theme park tickets in the lobby & they do provide complimentary shuttle service to the Disney parks. Renting your own car is totally recommended, however there are plenty of places within walking distance of the property to shop & eat. ~BE CAREFUL CROSSING THE STREETS HERE~

Plenty of parking. Parking by the elevators is a little harder to get, but we succeeded most of the time:) The suite itself was very spacious. We stayed in the 2 bedroom sunrise suite which had enough beds to sleep 8. Two sets of twin beds, a full size fold out sofa & Queen bed in the master. 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen with pantry & laundry room (which was awesome to wash swimsuits at the end of the day). Wasn't totally spotless, but it wasn't filthy either. This resort is a self catering condo property. There is no daily housekeeping, however if you decide on housekeeping service during your stay you can set that up when you get there. I just used some lysol wipes & spray (purchased at the Walmart down the street) to wipe down the place, but I do this everywhere I stay;)

The views are fantastic. They higher up you are the better the views. The suites facing Disney World can see fireworks from Magic Kingom. The pools are also really great. There's a smaller pool next to the fitness & game rooms & the larger pool behind the property next to the lake. There is also a really cool walking trail accessible from the pool area where we saw cool looking birds, lots of trees, really nice for a quite walk. Across the street there's mini golf with a volcanoe the blows fire every so often (cool:) Dunkin donuts, Starbucks, Walgreens, a deli/grocery store, pizza place all outside within walking distance.

CON: I guess for me the ONLY draw back to the property is not the room itself, but where the property is located. The road outside is VERY busy & to make a u-turn to head to attractions is pretty difficult, even dangerous with afternoon-evening traffic. The morning isn't too bad. If you're leaving for the day you should be fine, but expect a headache trying to drive in this area after that.

We loved this place & would return again when we visit Orlando!!!!

Room Tip: For beautiful views of Lake Bryan, Disney fireworks or sunrises, pay for higher floor suites
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FlipFlopsR4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

My family of 4 enjoyed the room, pool area, full kitchen, and low rates.However, before coming down I was told that the concierge could get me good rates on the Disney tickets. Unfortunately that was not the case and I overpaid, even more than if I bought them at the Theme park gate. Stay at the hotel, BUT STAY AWAY FROM THE CONCIERGE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tzip39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Blue Heron is a wonderful family style hotel. Excellent pool and very close to Disney parks. The pool never closes so if you feel like taking a dip at 2am its no problem. The staff is very nice and accomindating. We stayed in a family unit with a full kitchen and 2 full baths. The unit was so nice that our kids want to live here forever. The sunrises from our deck are amazing. Fireworks every night from the rear observation deck(every floor has one) are spectacular. Hundreds of restaurants nearby make this hotel a top choice for our family. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2010travelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Very Clean, great customer service. I arrived several hours early with a sick child and I was accomodated with early check in. The Staff was compassionate towards by situation and made sure the my family was taken care of.

Room Tip: Every view is great
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardenasfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed in tower 2 sunrise suite 21st floor.first impressions staff on check in were friendly and yes you have to get your car park pass from a member of staff who tries to sell you tickets and attend a presentation but she wasn't rude and we declined were never bothered for the rest of our 2 week stay.Lifts and corridors were a bit worn but the room was fantastic.
Kids had their own room and bathroom with a choice of sleeping in the bunk beds if they wanted.
Open plan living area with equipped kitchen(toaster,blender,cooker,microwave,big fridge freezer c/w ice maker,washer dryer & dishwasher) main bedroom had kingsize with topper for comfort and en suite double sink and spa bath.
The bedroom and living room led out to the balcony which had a fantastic view of the lake and sunrise on the balcony by the lift you get a great view of Disney and fireworks in distance.
Air conditioned throughout which was essential as it was in high90's.
Pool was clean and not too deep for kids and new sun loungers arrived while we were there and it is also where you pick up wifi.
Hotel is in great location for parks and yes there is some traffic at certain times but you are in popular area and didn't cause too much stress.
We had a problem with shuttle bus booking which was sorted by manager but found the limited collection times which are on first come basis not suitable for us so we drove the short distances to parks.
Walmart,Publix and restaurants all nearby.
We had a fantastic time as it felt like a home away from home and would definitely come back again as we would and have recommended this resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pearce39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The beginning and the ending to the perfect family vacation! When we arrived the front desk staff was really friendly and made us feel very welcomed. The lobby screams - "Welcome to Orlando and Disney World". The brochures and magazines with discount coupons were plentiful. Then we went to our condo - OMG! It was like being at home! The decor and the layout made us feel like our vacation had official began. We were on the very top floor with two balconies and the most breathtaking views you could ever imagine. I couldn't wait to prepare a meal in the full size kitchen (I love to cook!) The washer and dryer were a definite plus plus. There was more than enough room for a 20 year old, 3 teens, a nine year old and my husband and myself to live, sleep and play. There's a wonderful pool, in fact one large one and one smaller one, but my favorite was the Fitness Center. Nobody was ready to leave when it was time to go. And the location, the Blue Heron is close to everything and anything you would ever think you might need on vacation. Leaving the parking lot and to your right were restaurants and stores and Walgreens. Leave the parking lot and take a left and 2 or 3 minutes down the street and you're at the entrance to Disney World. The Resort itself is right next door to CiCi's Pizza, Dunkin Donuts, Starbuck's and a wonderful very affordable gift shop with a huge selection of souvenirs. Like I stated before, Oh My Gosh! Blue Heron Resort was the perfect beginning and ending to our family's Disney World Vacation! We've already made plans to bring a second family with us next year!

Room Tip: Simply ask when you make the reservation
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacations201199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. The staff was friendly and very professional. The room was very nice with a great view of the lake. I highly recommend this resort. The location was perfect! I give it a 10+

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bay040131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.5 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
1.4 mi away
WorldQuest Orlando Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
0.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 340 in Orlando
3,172 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $104 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing