We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McMansion Vacation”
Review of Floridays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Floridays Resort
Ranked #21 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am here on business and it is fine. I am not sure what the vide is here, but it has a certain cold starkness to it. I know this is Orlando and everything so I shouldn't be put out that the place is jammed with children and NASCAR fans and such...but I wouln't put this down as a "business travellers hotel". The suites are large and well appointed and the service is pretty good. For a vacationing family of 3 - 5 I think thi place would offer good value. Close to the amusements and so on. For the business traveller it's pretty far from the convention center. The gym is almost always empty but the pool full of screaming children.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HavanaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Director of Front Office Operations at Floridays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear HavanaBob -- Thanks for the review. I'm sorry you didn't feel comfortable as a business traveler with us. You're correct about the "typical" demographics of Orlando and our vacationing visitors. We really don't try to be like other business hotels, but we feel our comfortable and spacious accommodations and excellent service will result in a pleasant experience for everyone. Maybe you can come back with your family next time and try us again. I do hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,924 - 3,930 of 8,263 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Family oriented, convenient to all attractions. A special thanks to Brittany at the pool bar, its rare to find incredibly sincere people to see that you and your family have an incredible vacation. My kid loved her, she said she rocks. :-D

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodmac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Director of Front Office Operations at Floridays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear rodmac71 -- Thanks for the great review and kind words about Brittany. She's a perfect example of our warm hospitality that we offer to all our guests. She DOES rock! I hope you'll plan another visit back to see us all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just back from 4 night stay at the Floridays resort and we were all impressed with the large, clean, comfortable accomodation, friendly staff (especially Ray to initially show us around and Mariam at the front desk for helping with printing tickets) and good location. We stayed in a disney resort for the first 3 nights of our holiday and we regret we didn't stay the full week at Floridays. Kids loved pool and games room. The resort is very well run and I would be happy to recommend it as a base in Orlando especially for families. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrelandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Director of Front Office Operations at Floridays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear IrelandSuzanne -- Thanks for the "excellent" review. What more could we ask for?! And so nice to read that we gave you a superior experience vs. the Disney hotel. Your recommendation means a lot to us, so bring all your friends and family back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Outstanding !
just back from 10 days in Orlando on a family vacation
Place is very well kept and clean, prices reasonable for what you get.
The suites are excellent, pools are fab, very comfortable place - front desk staff excellent
- always take a lot of reviews with a pinch of salt, as a lot of reviewers are high maintenance travellers who complain if no bell hop at their side
(no elevator in 3 level old fashioned Amsterdam hotel, and the cheese was full of holes ; you get the picture...)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaverquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Director of Front Office Operations at Floridays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear beaverquest -- What a great review, and funny! Thanks! Glad you enjoyed everything and that our Front Desk staff did an outstanding job. Come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family and I just spent, a week at Floridays. We got building F which is far away from the entrance and main pool. The building was sold out, so at night it was dificult to find a parking place. We have to park in front of building E.
One day we arrived and our keys wouldn't open the door. It was an electrical problem because the key didn't turn on the red or green light. We called front desk, and they said they will send the maid. we told them that the problem weren't the keys, so they said they would send an engineer. To make the story short, they sent a lady, who just asked our names, then the maid, then a man with another key thatñ of course didn't work, so he said that it was an electrical problem, and that " we need an engineer"!! Fourty five minutes later with a change of bateries we were able to get in.
the last day before leaving I checked every room, to make sure We were not forgetting anything. I found underwear that didnt belong to us under a bed!!! the maids make the bed and change towels, but they don't clean the rooms, though there is an extra charge of 12 dolars a per day for cleaning fee. If you stay more than three nights, be ready to do some cleaning yourself.
Despite all the above, the location is greats, buses to epcot are a good option if don't want to drive and pay $14 for parking fee, at the parks. The pool is great, and the apartments are huge with all the appliances you might need.

Room Tip: asked for buildings A or B. don't send packages before your arrival, there is a 20 dollar fee p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Director of Front Office Operations at Floridays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Itinere -- Thanks for reviewing your stay with us, and I'm glad you enjoyed the suite and location. I apologize for the mix-up on fixing your key. We should have handled that situation with a greater sense of urgency. We've discussed this internally and have a process in place to avoid such delays in the future. You are correct that our housekeepers do a daily "Trash 'n Tidy" service where they make the beds, replace the towels and empty the trash. The fee you reference is the resort fee, which includes the theme park shuttles, WiFi, use of the fitness center, self-parking and toll-free/local phone calls. Those who wish more extensive cleaning service can pay an additional fee based on the size of the suite. However, those guests staying 9 nights or longer will receive a complimentary full cleaning on their 7th day which is very helpful. Due to the sheer volume of packages received daily (sometimes we fell like Amazon's southeastern distribution warehouse!!) we charge fees when a package is not picked up the same day it arrives - otherwise there is no handling/storage fee. As most guests track their UPS/FedEx/USPS packages closely, the fees apply to very few guests. I hope you'll come back and visit us again in the future. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for 9 days with 2 other families on a family vacation to Disney world. The rooms are big, clean, and spacious. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The resort is close enough you can walk to: the outlet mall, Publix grocery store, or Walgreens. It also offers free shuttles to the theme parks.

** If you take the last, free shuttle of the day back to the resort from Universal Studios it does stop at ALL the resorts with Floridays as the last stop. It takes 1 hour+ to get back to the resort & our bus crammed full was standing room only. After spending a full day at the park with cold, wet (rain), tired, hungry kids I strongly suggest paying for a taxi as I wish we had. This was the only issue we had with the free shuttles. We had no problem with the shuttles to Sea World or the shuttle to Universal, both were directly there & directly back to the resort.

We also found that there was a very limited amount of quality restaurants within walking distance from the resort (we did not rent a car). We found the resorts pool side grill was small, & slow with a limited menu, but since each unit has it's own kitchen I do understand why they don't have a need for a real restaurant. This might be something you may want to consider if you don't want to cook your own food and don't have a car.

The resorts location is central to all the theme parks. All the kids in our group loved the pool and the small games room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilingshihtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Director of Front Office Operations at Floridays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear smilingshihtzu -- Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your observation about the shuttle is a valid one and, depending on how busy the parks are, the buses can get full. There's no doubt that having your own car gives you more flexibility. Next time you might want to check out the iRide Trolley to give you easy access to more outstanding dining, shopping, and entertainment found up and down International Drive. A rental car gives you the greatest flexibility, of course! And you are correct that cooking in your suite does make for a very cost-efficient option to dining out each day. I do hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The floridays reviews are pretty spot on in terms of people's experiences. I stayed there for 3 nights in a 2 br condo with 4 adults and 2 children 0-3. The room was very spacious and clean, as some reviews prior said there rooms weren't. Tip get there early 1-2 hrs before check in (4pm) bc they say you can request building rooms before but they don't actually allow that since its a first come first room rule. I feel l the reception people are just trained to agree. Get there early and request either building A or B which is close to the pool and all the hotel amenities. I understand if people get annoyed there's 5 buildings and if you get the back 2 your screwed.

The pool area is spot on in there best pool award its great for kids with the sprinklers and it's big enough to get away from kids if you want some quiet time. They have a descent outside bar drinks are pretty pricey but your on vacation so what do you expect. The main eatery is quality food with starbucks over priced coffee . TIP bring the keuriig single shot coffee replacements as the hotel only gives you STARTER CUPS 5 for your whole stay then you need to buy them and they only have the single cup makers.

IN terms of maid service its a 12 charge to empty garbage change sheets(maybe) make your bed and get you new towels. SO don't expect mary poppins to come in.

Overall we stayed there for 3 nights 4 days for 600 dollars total; I thought that it was a great value for what you get. If your expecting a high end High ammentie setting with pampered service go to the hilton its right down the road. This is a more family orientated resort. There is a shuttle service only to epcot(can use monorail to disney)/universal/sea world. It is an easy 10-15 min ride to disney and if you have a car and kids drive yourself. I would go back to floridays if I stayed in orlando again. I hope you found this review helpful, Have a fun vacation.

Room Tip: Get there an hour early and request either building A or B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skipperkdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Director of Front Office Operations at Floridays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear skipperkdo -- Thanks for the thorough review. I appreciate all your feedback. While many families like Buildings A & B, you'd be surprised how many actually prefer D-F, noting it's quiet, you have your OWN pool and nice views of the green areas around the resort. You are correct that we give you a "starter" set of the K-cup coffees. Many guests stock up their kitchen with their own preferences from the Publix around the corner. Adding K-cups to that shopping list is a good idea. Just to clarify, we don't charge $12.25 per day for cleaning. The Resort Fee covers your WiFi, scheduled theme park transportation, use of the fitness center, parking and toll-free/local phone calls. The daily "Trash 'n Tidy" service (make the beds, replace towels/toiletries and remove the trash) is also included. Anyone wanting a "deeper" clean, can arrange that through the Front Desk for a nominal fee. Also, any party staying 9 nights or longer receives a complimentary full clean on the 7th day of their stay. But I'm glad you felt you got a good value for your vacation dollar. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
3.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Point Hotel & Suites
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 340 in Orlando
4,805 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 340 in Orlando
3,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Tuscany Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridays Resort

Address: 12562 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Orlando
#10 Business Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $158 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floridays Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named TripAdvisor's #1 Family hotel in the U.S.and #5 in the world in 2016, Floridays Resort Orlando is a luxury, all-suite recently renovated condominium-style Orlando resort, located in the heart of the action near Lake Buena Vista on International Drive, just a few miles from attractions and steps away from sensational shopping and dining. Our spacious 2- and 3-Bedroom Grand Suites are perfect for families looking for spacious accommodations, with 2 full baths, master suite with en suite bathroom, full kitchen (for a self-catering experience), dining and living room area, and balcony or patio. Scheduled theme park shuttles included. WiFi throughout the property and in every suite. Consistently in the top 5 on TripAdvisor, the guest experience is unparalleled in the Orlando hotel market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Floridays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridays Resort Orlando Hotel Orlando
Floridays Hotel Orlando
Floridays Orlando Hotel
Floridays Orlando Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing