We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton Golf Club, Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #18 of 119 Outdoor Activities in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Embark on a course to become one with nature when you set out to play 18 holes at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Club(R) Orlando, Grande Lakes. A Certified Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary, the golf course blends into the natural landscape, protecting natural resources and habitats while enhancing the overall golf experience. Designed by two-time British Open Champion Greg Norman, the course blends a variety of hazards to provide a challenging but fair test of a golfer's abilities resulting in an atmosphere reminiscent of a private course.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The good things:

The service was of the charts they treated the kids like kings. The property it's self was very nice.

The Average:

I used my Marriott points for the stay and I felt they stuffed me in there worst room in the hotel A/C didn't work, pillows very flat and uncomfortable. Are room was also right next to the elevators so all night you could hear the bell ringing and people talking. I stay on average over 150 nights a year in a hotels and this one is average at best.

Again service and the property it self great!!! Very classy.

Helpful?
Thank Machine2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Fun and engaging golf course”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Ritz is one of the better courses I have played. Greg Norman designed a course that is fairly open but can be challenged. Greens are very quick and will challenge the best putters out there.

Condition-wise the course was nearly perfect. Bunkers had very soft sand. Only thing I would change is growing the fairways a little longer for us average golfer types.

Service is outstanding as you would expect at the Ritz. Nothing is inexpensive, but the experience is worth it.

One other bonus. Incredible wildlife around the course. I saw deer, an alligator, many species of birds, and a few other critters roaming around.

Played the Waldorf also and prefer the Ritz. Waldorf was too tight for a fun round.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Golf Course is Enjoyable but not worth 220 per round.”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had fun playing this course on a beautiful day. Check in process was good, range and practice area was nice. It's just not that earth shattering for 220 per round. Simply, put you are paying for the name of the course (Ritz Carleton). I am comparing to our time at Reunion Resort (Nicklaus, Watson, Palmer Courses), as well as Omni National and International Courses. For 135 per round, Reunion is way, way better and much more challenging and that courses at Omni are also much nicer. (shot mid 70s from golds at Ritz and low 80s at reunion.). The Ritz has big fairways, wide open. It's in good shape (March 2014) except bunkers are horrible and they need to buy some nice sand. The demographics of players is much older at the Ritz compared to the other courses. Haven't figured that all out yet. Cart girls are awesome at the Ritz course and sure better than Omni and Reunion, so I guess this is more about service here. Slow round at the Ritz 5 hrs plus. Very few people use the caddies they have there, and you don't appreciate that from the website process. Overall, we had a great time at the Ritz so play if you'd like to, but this is not that amazing of a course layout. If you are looking for great layouts and challenge (where you feel like snapping pictures of the course, go elsewhere) and where you feel like wow that price was worth it - go elsewhere. I'm an avid golfer and have golfed all over the world.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AGadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Get out and play”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Played two rounds and really enjoyed the place. Great outside staff and excellent practice facilities. Greens have more slope than you think, pick your tee box wisely and hit fairways. Saw my first alligator sunning itself near one of the greens. Couldn't remember the hole number but it was cool. Pack extra ammo (balls) because you won't want to go looking for balls that are in the trees or near the ponds.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good course, better staff”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Although we played on the coldest day for Florida in a long time, we enjoyed our round thoroughly. As soon as we walked in, the pro shop staff was extremely nice and very helpful. As we prepared to get in the cart, the two starters were helpful and friendly. The course and experience is better than the price you pay for. Also, the greens were pretty slick. Would be happy to go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyVacations11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton Golf Club, Orlando, Grande Lakes also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Golf Club, Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing