We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Visit and best yet...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rosen Shingle Creek
Ranked #34 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2008

My 5th visit was for 7 days while attending a trade show at the hotel conferance center. Wonderful room, great food and super clean. Over time the staff has improved; everyone was very friendly and attentive. My only issue is the burnt out light bulbs everywhere. I had 3 in my room; after addressing it only 2 got replaced. Burnt out bulbs in the hallways, public areas, bathrooms, conferance rooms, exterior and covered entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,116)
There are newer reviews for Rosen Shingle Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,685 - 3,691 of 4,117 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

Great Hotel.Resort beautiful rooms and great service but watch out for the extra costs self parking $8 per day internet $9.95 per 24 hours even the fitness center was $10 per day. Good for business people and adults not really family friendly if golf is your sport this is a great resort beautiful scenery and great for inhouse conferences. Not convenient to the attractions but all in all a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jettsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Hotel is huge and really really ugly. I know Americans love this kind of thing, as many of my American colleagues said they loved the architecture, but to my (European) eye this was a pathetic mixture of styles. Front desk staff at check in was also rather arrogant and the barista at the hotel cafe never heard of espresso machiato - but this is definitely when my complaints about the hotel as such end.

Room was spacious, clean, with a great view on the golf course and very comfy beds. Windows didn't open but aircon was of course there. Internet access was provided for free and worked great, used it for some on-line video conferences and had no problems. Bathroom clean and cleaned every day to perfection, no problems here.

Breakfast was not included, but there is plenty of options on site when it comes to eating, ranging from a shop with snacks, pastry, drinks etc. to upscale restaurants. Tried the main restaurant and the italian-style restuarant upstairs - good meals, hefty portions, reasonable prices.

I stayed at Shingle Creek for a conference, so I've spent most of my time in the huge conference complex attached to the hotel. Because of that I can't comment on the quality of pools, golf course and other attractions on site. But it was very comfortable to have everything on site being able to just wake up, grab a bite at one of the cafes and join the conference in the morning.

Hotel is also located miles away from anything, so I'd advise you rent a car if you want to move around and do some sightseeing (Kennedy Space Center is a must IMHO). Actually, they have a car rental desk at the hotel so you don't have to rent from the airport.

Overall, an ok stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

A few coworkers and me stayed at this hotel for a conference last week. The hotel was nice and most of the staff was quite friendly. If you stay there, be ready to shell out big bucks though: A ride to and from the Florda Mall (a 15 min drive each way) is US$60.00. (Sorry, you can only use the contracted transportation service if you don't have your own car). On the day I left, I went from the hotel to the Prime Outlets (15 mins) and then to the airport (35 mins). The price tag: US100.00. If you don't leave the hotel, Internet is $10 per day, a bowl of cereal is $8.00, and a pasta dish is US$39.00. The cheapest way to spend your time in this hotel is to sit by the pool and fill up your own water bottle with tap water.
Oh, I almost forgot to mention that when two of my coworkers walked into their room the first evening they checked in, there were people sleeping in the room already. My coworkers went back to the front desk and they were told that, according to the computer system, that room was 'available.' My coworkers finally got another room. When they walked into the second room, they found on the desk a golf tournament notice in the name of a guy they didn't know. They called the front desk and were told that the notice was delivered to the wrong room. The guy at the front desk asked my coworkers to push the notice under the door of the right room.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ils928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

I stayed at this resort for four nights in August while attending a conference. The hotel is fairly convenient to the airport, only about a 15 or 20 minute drive down the toll road. While its not right next to any of the theme parks, its close enough to be an easy drive to any. However you're not within walking distance of just about anything. Its a long walk just to get off the property, and the only thing nearby is a new mall that has a Publix grocery store and nothing else (at least not yet, it looked like they were still building). So you'll need a car if you're staying here.

The hotel itself is enormous. There is a tower of rooms on one side of the building and the conference center on the other. My room was at the far end of the tower and it took me a good 10 minutes to walk from there to the conference rooms. There were 3 conferences going on while I was there. This hotel seems to cater to them, so not too many of the typical family vacation groups. Mostly business people staying here.

The room was large and clean, as was the bathroom. A mini-fridge is included and there is a desk/work station. The TV service was very nice, over 70 channels and an onscreen guide similar to what you'd see with digital cable. The TV itself, a flat panel, gave me some problems. Every time I'd swivel it to face me, the picture would get snowy. Sometimes when I'd flip through channels the TV would freeze up for 30 seconds or so. Once I turned it on and there was no picture.

Being a resort, you do get nickeled and dimed to death. $8/day to self park, $12 for valet. Internet access is $13/day if you need VPN access, a few dollars less if you don't. There are a few restaurants on the grounds including a deli. Overpriced, but not insane. There was also an extra fee to use the fitness room.

Overall it was a very nice stay. It may not be the pefect hotel if you're traveling with small children, but if you want to be a bit away from all the craziness of the theme park hotels and enjoy an upscale resort, this would be a good pick.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KJUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I was attending a conference. The conference rate was $139 for a regular room but I noticed at the Rosen's website that they had a deal for $149 that included spa certificates, unlimited daily golf, breakfast and free parking - Wow - what a deal. Just those things alone covered the cost of the room, and get this, when I asked if any of the rooms had a balcony the nice check-in agent asked if I would mind a murphy bed but that those rooms had a balcony. It was a bloody suite, so what if the bed pulled down at night, it was beautiful - all this for $149 a night.

I loved this place and would take my family in a heartbeat. There is a deli/food store in the basement to pick up cereal and other grocery items which might be easier (cheaper) for families on a budget since the restaurants are not cheap . The service was excellent with the exception of the valet guys. They just play hackisack all the time and laugh as the guests struggle with luggage.

Great place, good value, good food, cleaner than a hospital - what more do you want. (Oh, you can't walk anywhere - it is off the beaten path and you will need a car or the hotel limo service which is a rip-off at $50 per trip - but I think it's an outside agency.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TorontoAeroplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed here for a conference over the weekend. My son went to the UCF Rosen School of Hospitality so I was excited to see how the resort turned out. It was great. I'm fairly critical as my husband and I are in the "business," and we were both very impressed.

The two high-end restaurants are expensive. We never had a chance to eat in either one, but we visited "A Land Remembered." Would love to have had the chance to dine there. Cattails by the pool and Osceola Cafe were more than reasonable--especially for a resort.

From valet parking, to check-in, to dining service to check-out, the staff was very professional and attentive. Some of them were students (who we enjoyed talking to about their plans for the future) and some were not students. Michelle at Cattails by the pool stood out, but all staff were good.

The size of the conference facility is amazing. Attention to detail was exemplary. We had room with a king-sized bed that overlooked the entrance and part of the golf course. It was very comfortable. There was a mini refrigerator, a safe, an iron in the room and an ice machine down the hall (all things missing from the room where we had the same conference last year).

When it was time to leave (early because of Fay's arrival), the bellman was at our room within minutes of our call. I assumed it would be a while because so many people were checking out early for the same reason so it was a pleasant surprise to not have to wait. The only "down" to the trip was the room service tray that sat outside a hospitality suite for the better part of a day and overnight. Minor, but out of place with such great attention to detail in all other areas.

We walked on the nature trail one morning and headed over to Restaurant Row for dinner one night. Wish I'd had more time to shop in the stores at the resort and use the fitness center. We did check it out...very nice...just didn't have time to use it. They had 3 pools--a quiet pool, a family pool and a lap pool. One thing I noticed...it's a smoke-free building so it seemed that EVERYONE outside was smoking. It would be nice if the lap pool, which sits just outside the fitness center, could be a non-smoking outside area.

I would definitely recommend this resort...especially for a conference. It's all there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaKnippBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
5,711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#144 of 340 in Orlando
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,224 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Shingle Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Shingle Creek

Address: 9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8701
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Family Hotel in Orlando
#8 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#10 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $123 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosen Shingle Creek 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unspoiled natural setting. A hotel that surprises and delights. Designed to please in every way, Rosen Shingle Creek delivers exceptional luxury. From 1,501 elegant guestrooms and suites, to 15 tantalizing restaurants and lounges, to our 18-hole par 72 championship course, Rosen Shingle Creek is, in countless ways, Orlando's most inspiring AAA Four Diamond hotel. Add in RFID locks, no resort fee, free Wi-Fi, close proximity to International Drive and world-famous attractions for an unmatched Orlando experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosen Shingle Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Shingle Creek Hotel Orlando
Rosen Shingle Creek Orlando
Shingle Creek Resort
Rosen Shingle Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing