We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of hotel transportation rip off.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosen Shingle Creek
Ranked #34 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2008

The hotel stay, staff, and amenities were what you would expect from a hotel like this. It would get at least 4 stars from me except this one thing. I feel the need to warn everyone about it.

If you need transportation to the airport, DO NOT use the hotels limo service. I was there for a convention and hundreds of people were leaving the same day, I had hooked up with three others going to the airport, to share the cost. They were flying on Airtran together, I was flying on Delta. The Hotel transportation said that it would be $42 for the three of them, and it would cost me $42 alone. The reason was it would be 2 stops. We saw other transportation services there, so we asked, and the other service took the 4 of us to the airport for a total of $42.

When we arrived at the airport we all got out together because Airtran and Delta use the same entrance door.

Someone was pocketing a few extra dollars.

Stay here, but don't use the hotel's limo service to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank danno719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,115)
There are newer reviews for Rosen Shingle Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,691 - 3,697 of 4,115 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2008

This place was beautiful on the outside but the stay was a nightmare. I was charged twice for the room on my Visa. Yes, twice for a 5 night stay at $179.00 a night plus tax. The transaction put my card over the limit and I had to scrimp by the next 5 days on the cash I had on hand. I was stressed out my entire stay. Sure the 2nd transaction was cleared up later but it ruined my entire trip. They wouldn't even give me a voucher to eat at their restaurants or offer any compensation for the blunder. They even charge $8 a day to park your car! Then you have to walk a mile to the hotel. You get that bill at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mstoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Very nice property. Clean, no rude employee incidents, room service regularly.

My room was spacious and neat but did not have a tub. Huh? And the liner for the shower did not provide splash guard so there were water puddles on the floor each time I showered.

It is remotely located, almost like being on an island if you don't have a car. Luckily, shuttle service was provided for my Convention so there was seamless travel (via Mears) to the Convention Center. There is a 'fun shuttle' that takes you to Universal City Walk complimentary but only on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Food overpriced for room service and the 24-hour deli.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank robinson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

After reading other reviews, I was somewhat leery of this hotel. What a surprise. Although it is on the pricey side, our room was big and beautiful, with a flat screen TV, beautiful view and good beds. Ate breakfast at the hotel, and our waiter was charming, and service was great. Being a Florida resident, I was happy to be off the beaten path, although it's close to everything. Our parking ticket was validated and the $8 fee was waived since we were staying at the hotel. Our check in was immediate with no waiting, short wait for valet. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyNLakePlacid_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed here while she attended a national conference being held at this location. Be advised that this complex is associated with a hospitality program at a local university; all the help are students.
On arrival on the 17th we were informed that the reservations were made for an arrival on the 14th (which they were not) and that we would be charged a $330 "no show" fee! My wife insisted that her email with this hotel from two months earlier showed us a arrival date of the 17th. We were informed that internet was $12.00 a day, but if she wanted to make a copy of her email she cold go to their business center and print a copy for $2.00!
This hotel nickel and dimes a person to death. There is a charge for EVERYTHING. It is also isolated...like a big, pink prison...the nearest Publix is about a mile walk away, and I Drive is about two miles away. Thank goodness my inlaws live in Orlando, or I wold have been a prisoner here while my wife attended her sessions. This hotel is also HUGE...everything is miles of walking away.
After much negotiating with the help we were able to get the no show fee canceled, so that was decent of them.
Also, this is a 'green' hotel...water from the tap and shower literally came out at a trickle.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sheltiedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Great hotel, excellent food with many choices in regard to price. Gorgeous grounds and great golf course. Fitness center average with no organized classes , as you may find at other resorts of this caliber. The staff were outstanding and helpful in every way. The pools were centrally located and well equipped with towels, chairs. This hotel is not very entertaining for the younger crowd( children).However the shuttles to Sea World, and Universal were timely and free. This was a great place to relax after a hot day at Universal....kick back with a couple cool ones at the pool while the kids play and go to the arcade. Great for adult vacations that desire quiet, golf and walks on the nature trail.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PWD_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I booked this hotel as part of a convention. I was waitlisted and confirmed at a sister property, The Rosen Plaza. A few weeks before the conference, I received a call stating that my name had cleared the waitlist and I was confirmed at the Shingle Creek property. A few weeks later, I was contacted again and informed that my name had cleared the waitlist and was offered an executive suite at the same convention rate. Great, I thought, but was also puzzled why I receiving another phone call. I told the agent that I had been called before regarding clearing the waitlist and to confirm that they had record of this. The agent informed me that she would put comments in the reservation record that in case the other reservation surfaced (she couldn’t find it) that it was not a duplicate record. This phone call was lengthy and took valuable time out of my day.
Of course, when I checked in, my reservation was cancelled as it was perceived the reservation was a duplicate – or someone else checked in with my same name). After 20 minutes of searching for the record, the agent informed me that they could not honor the reservation for an executive suite (even though I had a printed reservation with an executive suite confirmed.) I was offered and accepted a move to an executive suite the next day.
When I got my credit card statement, I received a no-show charge from the Rosen Plaza, my correct charges that I approved upon check-out, and other charges that I am investigating. (I called the accounting department and the phone was answered promptly and was then put on hold for 5 min without explanation.)
This is a totally disorganized hotel. To make things worse, charges add up easily (self-park, internet access, etc.). Worst gauging was the business center where I paid $3.00+ to send a one-page domestic fax. To avoid paying $1.00/page printing, suggest driving 15 min to Staples, and pay .09/page.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank robkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 340 in Orlando
5,711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#144 of 340 in Orlando
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,221 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
4,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Shingle Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Shingle Creek

Address: 9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Family Hotel in Orlando
#8 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#10 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $124 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosen Shingle Creek 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unspoiled natural setting. A hotel that surprises and delights. Designed to please in every way, Rosen Shingle Creek delivers exceptional luxury. From 1,501 elegant guestrooms and suites, to 15 tantalizing restaurants and lounges, to our 18-hole par 72 championship course, Rosen Shingle Creek is, in countless ways, Orlando's most inspiring AAA Four Diamond hotel. Add in RFID locks, no resort fee, free Wi-Fi, close proximity to International Drive and world-famous attractions for an unmatched Orlando experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosen Shingle Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Shingle Creek Hotel Orlando
Rosen Shingle Creek Orlando
Shingle Creek Resort
Rosen Shingle Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing