We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rosen Shingle Creek
Ranked #34 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had such a good experience with Rosen Shingle Creek Resort in December, that I added a 3 night stay to my April-May vacation. After spending 11 days staying with a friend, it was time for my own private getaway.
I asked for some special room requests which the resort was able to honor. I missed the great sunrise views I got in December due to the rainy weather, but was rewarded with a great view of an evening thunderstorm to the east.
This hotel is very relaxing. Although it is huge there are many private spaces.
I took a walk on the nature trail one morning, just me and my camera. I got some great photos! I also walked out to the fishing dock, where I got more bird photos. I could see lots of fish in the water. Birds are as well fed as the guests here.
I invited friends for breakfast and lunch at Cafe Osceola; one for breakfast one day and another the next. We opted for the buffets. Both breakfast and lunch buffets had a wide selection of offerings for both the adventurous eater and the traditional diner. I used some restaurant.com coupons for big savings.
The hotel decor is very soothing. My room was done in shades of tan, with a sky blue ceiling. I was a little disappointed to see that the Shingle Creek citrus and cedar toiletries had been replaced, but the new Taroco items are just as intriguing. The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and the pillows are just right.
This hotel makes a good hub for exploring the Orlando area, or just relaxing. I wish I could have stayed longer! I'll be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the golf course and the sunrise if you are an early riser
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks again jane l for the kind words.

You have a friend at Rosen Shingle Creek!

Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,115)
There are newer reviews for Rosen Shingle Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,530 - 2,536 of 4,115 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This resort is amazing! Pools for everyone (lap, family, kiddie and adult). Jacuzzis set at par boil. Great restaurants. We had the breakfast buffet...awesome, and flatbreads at Tobias, delicious. Beautiful and elegant rooms, public areas and landscaping. Fabulous place.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor overlooking the pools and golf course, gorgeous view!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Isn’t the view stunning, Marsha J!

Thanks for the amazing review. We appreciate it.

Please visit us again soon.

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The first thing I was impressed was a beautiful view of a golf course from the large window in the guest room. You see nothing but greens. This is a large luxury hotel with many good restaurants, conference rooms and many more. It is conveniently located just about 15 mins drive from the Orlando airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venusian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Our views from the rooms set us apart, huh Venusian2000?

Thank you so kindly for your amazing review of the property!

We would love to have you back again soon.

Thanks again,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having switched hotels from the very motel-like Disney Pop Century Resort to this facility, presented a stark difference. The facility is clean, modern and very expansive. Almost too expansive as the walk from the elevator to the room seemed to cross a time zone! This is important to know if you have a disability. The same was found to get to the Sebastian meeting rooms: long walk. The restaurants were good, but not great, having served all three courses simultaneously in the sushi restaurant. But this was quickly corrected. I loved the poolside ice cream, sandwich, convenience store as an alternative to room service. There is no airport shuttle and cost $55 with tip for a relatively short ride. The meeting facility was comfortable but universally cold. Banquet service was tasty. The rooms are OK..nothing too special. I was concerned when I passed the executive suite which was cordoned off with what appeared to be a bug sprayer. Some things you just don't want to know, right? Also, there are no other restaurants in walking distance, so you are at the mercy of the resort offerings and prices. Oh, very nice work out facility with good free weights, machines and free bottled water.

Room Tip: If disabled, elderly or lazy, specify a room near the elevator. It can be a real hike.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieFile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi FrankieFile!

Thank you so much for your review of the property. No worries on the ‘bug sprayer’. We do a lot of preventative maintenance to ensure we never have an issue with our pest friends in the south.

We appreciate your kind words. We hope you come back soon.

Thanks for staying!

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at Rosen Shingle for 5 nights for a conference, and it was fabulous. I only wish that my husband and our 5 children had been able to enjoy it with me! Every single member of the staff was professional beyond words. They all went the extra mile, were pleasant, helpful, and seemed to genuinely like their jobs. Rarely do you find so many employees who wtay for so many years in their jobs. This is truly a credit to the Founder of this great company, Mr. Harris Rosen, who is doing a magnificent job of providing both tourist and convention first-rate options in Orlando.

Our organization ended up needing more than 100 rooms at this hotel at the last minute, when another hotel in town advised us they had overbooked, and many of us would need to change hotels. Thus, we were fortunate enough to meet the best of the best of the Rosen family!

The price they gave us was outstanding. The others from our organization were in two other top hotels in Orlando. They asked to see my room at the Rosen. When they saw my spacious, modern and clean room, they said they wished they could be moved to the Rosen Hotel - even though our meetings were taking place at the other hotels!

The food has got to be the best conference food I have had anywhere in the world. It was always served hot, lots of choices, and delicious. And there were numerous conferences going on at the same time.

It was nothing short of amazing that so many of their staff were able to accommodate our every need (and more) at the eleventh hour. Special kudos to Lisa Burrows, Fernando Ching, the General Food Manager, Executive Chef, and so many others all around the hotel who helped, smiled, and made our stay as perfect as could be. You all truly understand the meaning of the word SERVICE. Thank you! Thank you!

Now, I hope to return soon with my husband and our five teenagers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmtrees2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

So many kind words…THANK YOU, palmtrees2000!

We appreciate you and your business more than you will ever know.

I would love to help you in the future if there is ever anything you need.

Thanks again. I’ll make sure that Lisa and Fernando get a copy of this.

Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel does not provide a shuttle from the airport. This seems a little odd. MEARS Motor Shuttle will take you for $16 (one way).

The room was okay. We had a nice view of the pool, although the pool itself looked a little dirty from the 9th floor, as if it hadn't been vacuumed in a while. The AC in the room didn't work. I kept turning the thermostat down (to 63.5F), but it didn't get any cooler. The headboard was starting to peel, so that you could see the plastic underneath the wood veneer. When I moved the chair, a red drink stir stick emerged on the floor.

The pool has six small pavilions, each with three pieces of cushioned deck furniture. I went there at 10am and sat on one of them. I was quickly told that I either had to rent the pavilion for $75 for the entire day, or leave. At the time, there were three people at the pool, other than me.

There is both a nature trail and a jogging trail. The nature trail is nice, with lots of signs. You can see alligators, rattlesnakes, and tortoises, at least in theory. (I didn't see any.) I did see Saw Palmetto, though. It looked just like the picture on the vitamin bottle.

The jogging trail is poorly marked (I only saw one sign.) You can easily end up on one of the golf cart paths. If and when this happens, you will be quickly visited by the "golf police." This could easily be avoided if there were as many jogging trail signs as "Speed Limit 18" signs.

This fitness center may be the best I have ever seen in a hotel. However, as I mentioned earlier, they charge $10 to use it.

One last tip: avoid the pizza at 18 Monroe St. Market. They basically take a frozen pizza (and not a very good one) and toss it into the oven. (Okay, I didn't actually see them do this, but it tasted like that.)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Tony_802_701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi Tony_802_701-

I’m so sorry to read that you didn’t have an outstanding stay. We definitely try our hardest and it seems like we may have missed a few marks this time.

If there is anything you would like to talk about or if there is anything I can do for you, please let me know. I would love to have you back.

Thanks again,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised, especially after reading some of the lesser reviews here. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the place was spotless. My room was in perfect working order - The furniture was in great shape, and was kept very clean by housekeeping.

They did a great job with the little things. the sheets were particularly soft, and the pillow top was a great touch. The soap and shampoo was probably the best I have used - A nice orangy scent, and the bath bar had an exfoliating grit. I ate at the Mexican restaurant for one dinner (The Guac, made tableside, was a high point). I also ate at the downstairs restaurant. I'm not sure about the full menu, but the salad bar was surprisingly good - and a bargain at under $20 for dinner (Remembering that this is a resort).

The excercise facility was top notch. Every piece of equipment was working (and was being used - I showed up at 5:45 each moring, and by 6:10, the place was full).

I did not get a chance to use the pool or grounds, but from the inside, everything was beautiful. I look forward to coming back there some day when I can have more leisure time to experience the whole place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Next time you will need to get outside and enjoy the beautiful amenities, ladderless.

Thank you so much for your kind words about the property. We love it too!

Please come back soon. Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 340 in Orlando
5,711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#144 of 340 in Orlando
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,221 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
4,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Shingle Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Shingle Creek

Address: 9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8701
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Family Hotel in Orlando
#8 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#10 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $124 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosen Shingle Creek 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unspoiled natural setting. A hotel that surprises and delights. Designed to please in every way, Rosen Shingle Creek delivers exceptional luxury. From 1,501 elegant guestrooms and suites, to 15 tantalizing restaurants and lounges, to our 18-hole par 72 championship course, Rosen Shingle Creek is, in countless ways, Orlando's most inspiring AAA Four Diamond hotel. Add in RFID locks, no resort fee, free Wi-Fi, close proximity to International Drive and world-famous attractions for an unmatched Orlando experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosen Shingle Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Shingle Creek Hotel Orlando
Rosen Shingle Creek Orlando
Shingle Creek Resort
Rosen Shingle Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing