We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guest; Somewhat Disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosen Shingle Creek
Ranked #32 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“Repeat Guest; Somewhat Disappointed...”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I spend 100+ nights per year in hotels. This was my 7th stay at Shingle Creek. However honest, I wish my review was more positive.

For a 4 star hotel that focuses on conventions it's one of the best. Property and rooms in general are well maintained, pretty and clean/smell nice. Ballrooms are beautiful and state-of-the-art. Offers compelete resort facilities; means you really don't have to leave the property.

My Issues:
Bed in room was poor quality. Bed skirt ripped and stained. Cheap linens and fiber fill pillows. Asked for down pillows and was brought more fiber fill?
Durring my 5 night stay my room was never vacuumed.
The first day the maid took the bath mat and never returned it. Asked for another one, never got it?
Furniture throughout public spaces looks broken down.
Dropped stamped letters in the mail box at the bell desk on 2 different days and none ever got delivered?
Self parking is too far away with not covered walkway. Can fill up quickly; people park anywhere/nobody seems to care...
Food served at convention was cold and not tasty. Completely different quality from hotel restaurants.
Hotel public areas/bars are dark/boring. Booze is extremely expensive; drinks weak.
Had conversations with employees on 2 occasions (Security and Housekeeping). These 3 individuals english was sooooo bad had to deal with management. My issues were resolved but the idea that people who answer the phone and come in contact with guests can communicate is completely unprofessional.

In conclusion: Would only recommend if attending a meeting/convention, golfing event or maybe a wedding...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for being a repeat guest, bowman716, but I'm so sorry to hear about your last stay.

I would love to hear more about it if you have the time. I hate hearing guests leaving with a bad taste in their mouth.

Let me know if you have time to talk and I would be more than happy to listen.

Thanks for reaching out.

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,332
    1,135
    340
    131
    88
See reviews for
1,020
862
100
1,546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (972)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went there a bunch of friends to enjoy the Orlando area and play golf and we loved that resort. The hotel is in great shape, nice maintained rooms, free internet, great views, lots of parking, pools for kids and pools for adult, many restaurants options (steakhouse, italian, market and so on) but a bit expensive. The location as well is easy from the 528 highway and highway 4.

The golf course is in great condition, challenging with great staff.

The only issue is you need to leave to resort in car in order to go somewhere as nothing is close enough to walk.

In general, We will certainly consider coming back in a future Orlando trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fauberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello fauberte!

Thank you very much for the kind words. Our hotel is definitely not near a ton of different options (yet) but I know within the next year our area will have a lot of options.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you do come back again soon.

Thanks again,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Overall hotel is wonderful...the only minus is the self-parking, it is a bit of a walk after a long day at the parks, but well worth it once you get to your room. Three wonderful pools to choose from and right next to a golf course (if your into playing golf).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridaguy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, Floridaguy2020!

Glad to hear you enjoyed the golf and the pool area. Please visit us again soon.

Let me know if you need anything in the future.

Thanks,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had to go here for a business conference and the set up is clearly ideal for conferences. But the rooms really are not up to par. For the clientele that these conferences cultivate, the quality of the bathroom and the room were simply inadequate. In particular, finding hairs all over the bathroom sink was a disgusting experience, and I found even more hidden in the tissue box. I was repulsed by the experience overall and could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I’m so sorry to hear about your experience, citimomma.

I truly hope you found a Hotel Manager or Housekeeping Manager during your stay to assist in making it better for you.

We definitely do not ever want a guest to leave unhappy.

As always, please reach out to me if there is anything I can assist with.

Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am currently staying here at Rosen Shingle Creek. This is a very nice hotel. I will have to say, there is lots of things to do here and the property is vast. While the self parking is fairly far from the main area, it is well marked and rather easy to get to. I have stayed here a few times and always enjoyed my stay. This is a good place for a conference, or even like I saw yesterday a wedding. Happy to stay here anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MASHIE4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello MASHIE4LIFE!

Thank you so much for the kind words. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed (are enjoying) your stay with us.

Please feel free to reach out to me if there is anything I can do to make your stay better.

Thank you

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa.Fl
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked this on Priceline the day before arrival and got a great price for the room. Definitely a "conference center." There is nothing within walking distance except a Publix outside the complex across the street. This is not a place to stay with children or teens but is a luxury conference center about 2 miles from Sea World which was our destination. Check in was a breeze, very large rooms with the two Queen, nice linens, bath room extras with hair dryer and makeup mirror. lots of outlets for business uses. The gym was $10 fee, self park was $16 with valet and numerous limo services at the front door. There is valet parking. The very positive aspect of the place for a conference/business meeting is it has everything self contained that you would need. Very appealing to the eye, several bar/lounge areas inside and out, nice pool area, lap pool outside, natural areas, well maintained golfing facility/grounds. For dining there are upscale restaurants, a deli with quick food, an ice cream parlor area, several areas for light fare and a store selling beverages and snacks open 24 hours. A Starbucks with the usual fare open at 6am. Did not go into the exercise area but it was upscale looking with mutiple machines to use and people were using them so they were in working order. Place was very quiet, low keyed and everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. Too far from the "resort action" for families and not a place for children to run around in but would be great for a conference.....very well done.

Room Tip: We stayed in 12306 which faced the "city area" and was a fantastic view...12309 was a &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Wow FLSandy…thanks for the nice things you said about us.

We appreciate it and the four stars you gave us.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks!

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

To describe this property as large is an understatement. The building is huge. Las Vegas huge. The lobby is cavernous. Not friendly at a human scale.

Staff ranges from courteous to disaffected. Sometimes really annoying. If the checkbox on morning room service door hang indicates 700 AM to 715 AM, do not knock (persistently) at 650 AM. Seriously! When I asked the bellman if the gift shop stayed open late, he responded with a shrug and seemed put out when I asked him to call.

My room was nice. Standard 4-star stuff. As for its location, more than 1/5 mile from the elevator.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shfishburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Shfishburn-

I’m sorry to hear that your experience was only so-so. We never want to hear this.

Please let me know if I can assist with anything.

Our apologies.

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#26 of 338 in Orlando
5,532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#49 of 338 in Orlando
5,101 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#145 of 338 in Orlando
2,874 reviews
7.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 338 in Orlando
4,264 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Shingle Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Shingle Creek

Property: Rosen Shingle Creek
Address: 9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8701
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Family Hotel in Orlando
#8 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#10 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#27 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosen Shingle Creek 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unspoiled natural setting. A hotel that surprises and delights. Designed to please in every way, Rosen Shingle Creek delivers exceptional luxury. From 1,501 elegant guestrooms and suites, to 15 tantalizing restaurants and lounges, to our 18-hole par 72 championship course, Rosen Shingle Creek is, in countless ways, Orlando's most inspiring AAA Four Diamond hotel. Add in RFID locks, no resort fee, free Wi-Fi, close proximity to International Drive and world-famous attractions for an unmatched Orlando experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Rosen Shingle Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Shingle Creek Hotel Orlando
Rosen Shingle Creek Orlando
Shingle Creek Resort
Rosen Shingle Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing