We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa
Ranked #94 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family just completed a 6 night stay at LBVRVS, and I must confess I do not understand why this hotel receives such rave reviews. We rented a 2 BR, 2 BA unit and would consider our total experience to be average:

Plus:
--Spacious unit, which we found to be clean, up-to-date, and pleasantly decorated.
--Master bathroom, with spacious shower and large jacuzzi tub, was great for both relaxation and bathing children.
--Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and full-size stove and refrigerator. Although, small amount of countertops makes it quite difficult to acutally cook.
--Washer and dryer.
--Walmart is nearby.
--The zero-entry “pirate pool” was a hit with our kids.
--Close to theme parks.
--Per night rate doesn't break the bank.

Minus:
--Location of hotel places your room in direct view of an outlet mall, freeway, and/or drainage ditches. Ditto for the pool.
--Three TV’s in unit, with the main TV an HDTV unit. But, this TV had a horrible picture as the resort does not offer HD channels! Come on, people, this is silly.
--Wireless internet is free, but so slow that my 3G (!) cellular connection was noticeably faster.
--Sound insulation between rooms is poor, which is a problem when so many guests of the hotel have children, who can’t help but be noisy.
--Marginally comfortable mattresses—much too firm.
--Bedroom windows did not have light-blocking curtains.
--We were charged a $10/day resort fee, which to me implies that there’s quite a lot of “resort” things to do. This is not the case. Really, other than the pool and exercise room, there’s nothing to do at the hotel.
--Marginal outlet mall. Save your energy and drive to one of the Premium Outlets further north in Orlando.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate your list of pros and cons. We are pleased that you enjoyed the large room, pirate pool, and close proximity to the Orlando theme parks. However, we apologize that your overall stay did not exceed your expectations. Thank you for staying with us- we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,398
    2,355
    972
    359
    253
See reviews for
6,630
529
35
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were in one of the newer buildings and everything was great. We struggled to operate a few things, with them being quite different to the UK and could have done with an instruction manual for the dishwasher and washer dryer. The room was spacious and we had very comfortable beds too. The cleaners even tucked our children's teddies into bed after they had cleaned the room which shows the level of service available. The staff at Lani's Luau (poolside bar) were lovely and friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation. We are pleased that you found the spacious room enjoyable, and hope that your children’s teddies enjoyed their stay as well! We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hi! We stayed here over Christmas in 2011...I know its a bit late, but not for a great review. I was so impressed with everything I even contacted the hotel but planning a long stay there...it was great! The room was impressive and the layout was excellent! We were close to absolutely everything! There is a game room, a store that has a pizzeria and many different amenities.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you don't like high floors, then make sure you specify you want a lower floor. I prefer to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate your comments- it is never too late to write a review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Our close location to all of the Orlando activities makes it easy to explore and stay busy. Thank you for the recommendation- come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family recently spent two nights at the Lake Buena Vista Resort. We rented a 3 bedroom 2 bath unit for the weekend. I have stayed at this property before, but never in one of ther 3/2 units. Our room, 7201, was clean but the furnishings were very old and worn. Every table, chair, dresser etc. had large and noticeable scuff marks. The dresser drawers worked, but were not on any track and would fall out or not slide back in. The TV was something I couldn't believe was in a rental of any caliber. It was a large screen tv but must have been many years old. It was in a box the size of a large dresser and the picture was terrible. We weren't in Orlando for the hotel and the only time we spent in our room was at night to get some sleep, but this unit really disappointed us. The beds must have also been years old as they were very hard and uncomfortable and there were only bahama shutters on the windows - these don't block sunlight at all and the bedrooms were lit up at sunrise. We also had a problem with the jets in the tub not working. I called the front desk and they did offer to send a repair man to take a look, but at 10:30 after a long day in the parks the last thing we wanted was someone poking around out bedroom. With all of the choices in Orlando it will be hard for me to come back here the next time we visit.

Room Tip: make sure you don't get 2701
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm so sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. However, I will certainly pass your comments on to the relevant departments for future improvements. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Go for a fireworks view room to get into the newer buildings. It's worth the little extra. Our room was spacious, clean, and plenty big. They are located in a great place, across from an outlet mall, right down the road from the premium outlets, Walmart, and grocery stores. Epcot, Downtown Disney, and Seaworld are all really close by as well. The onsite Pub is also pretty great with a good beer selection and decent food. Overall, it's a solid place to stay, especially for the price!

Room Tip: Book a fireworks view room, or request tower 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheChurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our resort to be good value. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over this christmas and new year just past, what can i say? best hotel i have ever stayed at! would highly recommend to EVERYONE! all staff are so helpful and no matter how small the or big the question you have they always have someone with an answer.

The hotel has two pools, however we only used one, no reason for this just due to the fact the buliding we stayed at it was a second away, it was also the pool with the big ship in. The other pool is smaller from what people told us, the main pool has a bar which sells food at a very good price it was also very nice. Clean towels are always avaible to use for free of charge.

The shop onsite is a little expensive however walmart is located a few mins away, you will need to get a taxi that only costs $7/8 each way. The Walmart has everything you need and once again all staff very helpful.

Make the most of the Lake Buena Vista shopping outlet which is located next door, it also has a diesny shop and would recommend you buy your presents there if you are because they have the same stuff as the parks for half of the price! Nike and GUESS and the main shops i spent money at and i could pay $40 for something id pay £70 for back home.

The hotel room, i left this one till last because its amazing! before arriving i contacted a member of staff who worked for the hotel, and loverly woman called Trish White, so helpful and gave me and my family all the information we needed and would answer any questions for us, i arranged for balloons, flowers and a gift basket to be in the room when we arrive, for a small fee of $70. if anyone has any questions contact Trish and she will answer everything and tell you everything you need to know. The room is very big we had a two bed room that slept 5 people. Everything you need in your room to keep you going through your stay. The hot tub was used by everyone in the family such a nice thing to get into after a long day in the parks, of a night we would rent a dvd and the player for me brother to watch of a night for a small fee. I can't stress how big the rooms are we could of had another 3 people in are room and been able to live fine, the room phone is free to use for local calls that came in good when you ordered a pizza which was recommend by reception. Block 5 we stayed at, great views of a foggy morning or sunny morning got you in a great mood for the day, we never had any big problems just a few little such as a new light bulb and the room fire alarm was beeping, just little things you couldnt really help and that will need changing time to time.

Once again i will be back to this hotel whenever i visit America again! PLEASE if your looking for a amazing hotel worth every penny of your money STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for Block 5 if you want great views of the pool and beyond, also pay extra for basic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here again last week for 4 nights as stop gap, family of four in 2 bed suite, all clean ,happy staff,nice pool and gardens.
Well done again people.
Ideal for family's of any size good rates for rooms, book through hotel they will match any price quoted by online company's if they can confirm the rate you have seen.
Easy to book and happy friendly staff.

Room Tip: Building 3 or five for pirate ship pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing our resort for a second time! We're glad to hear that your stay was just as enjoyable as your first. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa

Property: Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa
Address: 8113 Resort Village Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-5616
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#36 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#38 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Business Hotel in Orlando
#94 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and amenities! Luxury one, two, three and four bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies, washer/dryer and more. Two pools - one with a Pirate Ship slide and pool bar. Reflections Spa~Salon and Frankie Farrell's Irish Pub onsite. Two miles to Disney and on the doorstep of Lake Buena Vista Factory Stores. Complimentary scheduled transportation to Disney, Universal, and SeaWorld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Vacatia, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village Hotel Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Resort Spa
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village And Spa
Lake Buena Vista Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing