We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should have taken notice of previous poor reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa
Ranked #94 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had booked a 3 Bedroom Barbados Suite with Fireworks View, arriving on the 2nd of April along with my wife and two children. Let me start off by saying that I am in the Royal Air Force and had recently returned from Afghainstan and this was the opportunity for a two week break with my family.

Upon arriving at the resort reception I was informed that they didn't have a 3 bedroom apartment available and that we had been allocated 2 x 2 bedroom apartments on the same floor but not connecting. My wife had booked the 3 bedroom apartment in January of this year and to say we were dissapointed is putting it mildly. A family holiday now meant that we had to share two apartments which weren't connected. Quite frankly the Staff were appalling.

The following day I used guest services to book some Sea World tickets, I asked if a discount was available for Military personnel and was told that no discount was available at Sea World. However, we subsequently found out that Sea World do not charge an admission fee for Military. I am certain that Guest Services knew of this but wouldn't turn down a sale.

In summary, despite booking 3 months in advance (and paying up front) we didn't get the apartment we wanted, we didn't have a fireworks view, and we ended up paying for Sea World when we didn't need to.

Terrible service.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vegnomeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to par. With that being said, we have taken the appropriate measures to make sure our staff remain knowledgeable on all Orlando attractions and room arrangements in order to prevent future dissatisfaction. We hope we have another chance to wow you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,551 - 6,557 of 8,658 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were really delighted with everything about Lake Buena Vista resort and spa. There was 7 of us in a 3 bed apartment. We had loads of room and everything we needed for our 2 week holiday. We stayed in Block 3. There are 2 pools both were refreshing after a day at the parks. plenty of sunbeds and pool towels were provided. All the parks are easy to get to and are all within 15 to 20 mins away. Walmart was 5 mins down the road and sold everything you could imagine or possibly need on holiday. Up the road were loads of restaurants to suit everyone. Sizzler breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay here again and would recomend to anyone reading these reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review! We're elated to hear you enjoyed our amenities, and found our location just as enjoyable! We hope we can continue to impress you and your family during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

LBV exceeded my expectations. The 2 bed apartment was huge and was clean, modern and comfortable. We had 2 bathrooms and an ensuite jacuzzi! There was ample parking, huge wardorbes, full kitchen, excellent air con and friendly reception and concierge staff. I agree car hire is a must though we enjoyed being out of the horror that was i-drive which we stayed well away from! There are ample restaurants, golf and attractions within a few minutes drive. The I-4 is 5 minutes away which allows you to access all Orlando attractions in under 25 minutes.
We did not use the maid service and had no pressure to do so. Staying in an apartment was so much better than hotel rooms - much more space and we had 3 Tvs- no arguments there!
I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnemarieStott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, and our amenities and location. We also appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again during your next trip to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights after staying on Disney for 10 days. I would highly recommend staying on Disney if that is the purpose of your trip. This resort is off a very busy road and is often backed up with traffic. We stayed in a spacious 3 bedroom in the newer building #5. We could see the pool from two of the bedrooms. From the balcony we could see the highway, swamp land and the pool from only 1 side. This corner unit was fairly clean though we noted mold on the window and blind of the 2nd bathroom and some on the walls of the en suite shower. The kitchen was modern and well equipped. We appreciated having a washer and dryer in the unit, but the washer was very loud when in use. Our biggest issues were the carpet in the main traffic areas was worn and a bit dirty looking. The sofa was worn and should have been replaced a few years ago. We can not imagine having to use it as a sleeper sofa. The en suite shower had no shelves large enough to hold shampoo etc. There were no room darkening shades/curtains making it difficult to sleep. We were fortunate to have 2 double beds instead of twins in the 3rd bedroom. The elevators were very fast and efficient. The building has 2 levels of parking underneath. The spots were very tight and it was difficult to find a space later at night. We were told by another guest not to park on the 1st level as she had her car vandalized there on a previous visit. There is outlet shopping within walking distance and a very busy Walmart near by. The key card often stopped working and we had to get it fixed at the front desk. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful which is the biggest plus of this place. My daughter wanted to stay here because of the pirate ship. She reports unless you are under 7 it is no fun because the slide tube is small and it is easy to bang your head. We will look elsewhere next time as there are many other choices around this area.

Room Tip: Buildings 3 and 5 closest to pool. Three bedroom units are on the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frozenathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

the room was spacious and the kids were excited about the pirate ship pool. There were some things that I did not realize upon booking, so please be advised. 1) The huge pirate pool is NOT heated and was cold during spring break trip; also, the kids cannot get on the ship - it is only a slide. 2) There is NO free housekeeping options - not even to exchange towels or change trash; you are on your own. 3) Although the rooms were huge with high ceilings; it was very plain - no towel racks, no place to put shampoo in shower, no DVD player, not many extra linens. The pull out couch was not appropriate to sleep in for long (can feel springs), sample shampoo only in one bath, no sample laundry detergent to get you started. No extra frills basically. 4)The pool side "restaurant" was just 2 very unorganized bartenders that were taking drink orders and food orders/preparing food at the bar (no kitchen).
On the good side: we enjoyed the Irish Pub, there was a parking deck - adequate parking, we had a great view of the pool, it was fairly close to everything - but there are tons of hotels along that strip.
So, it was just okay to our party. We stayed in the Floridays 2 years ago and didn't realize how good we had it. They had a heated pool, towel service included, nicer/newer rooms, and upgraded us from a 2 bedroom to a 3 bedroom at no charge. It had a much grander lobby and better service. With so many hotels to choose from; the pirate ship pool was what drew us in to this hotel but the kids were too cold to enjoy it and it was 85 degrees outside.

Room Tip: we were on 12th floor with pool view and that was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jule256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. It’s great that you were pleased with our location and views, and Frankie Ferrell’s Irish Pub. We truly appreciate all of your feedback, and we assure you that we are passing your comments along to the appropriate departments for future improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at the lake buena vista resort village and spa in march/april 2012. We arrived in our 3 bed appartment and were amazed at the size cleanliness and facilities, well exceeded our expectations. The pool area was imaculate , free towels and full toilet facilties and a well stocked bar with friendly and chatty staff. We had a lot of great tips regarding park entry from one of the local bar staff who was floridian born and bred.

Frankie farrels was a huge surprise as,as english person we expected it to be a bit tacky, it was completely the opposite. Full of character, friendly staff and great food at resonable prices, try the new york strip and the apple pie. Fabulous.

We did have slight issue with a noisey neighbour who liked to rise early and had noisey kid. We complained and our complaint was taken very seriously and dealt with quickley and courteous. Thank you daryl, manager, good job.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

We’re delighted to hear that your accommodations exceeded your expectations, and that you were pleased with our amenities and customer service. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you’re in Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

So many good things have been written about this place that i don't need to repeat them. Yes the pool is great, building five /pool view wonderful and the space in a 2 bed unit is just briliant for a family. However the downside is that you really do need a car if you want complete freedom.

We used the hotel shuttle bus frequently and found the normal driver, David charming, very helpful and always on time. The only problem is that at peak times the park has already been open for several hours before you arrive and so fastpasts etc have often gone and queues are long.

Personally I would be happy to pay a small charge and have more frequnet service.A Taxi to Epcot is $20 each way. Walmart is massive but you cannot walk there. There are no pavements or road crossings and jay walking is just dangerous as it is a very busy 3 lane road. A taxi is $8 each way but still cheaper to do a big shop at the start of your trip and eat in, as hotel shop is expensive and low on fresh goods such as decent bread. The Pizzas from the shop are great though.
Disney Gear at Walmart is cheap but the outlet centre has even better prices for small disney gift items, hats etc.
Yes pool towels are small, use two! They occasionally ran out but were re stocked quickly each time. The water on the first week of our holiday was lovely but on the second week it was freezing, Did the refill the pool or turn the heating off!

The slide is too vicious for under fours! height resriction of 122cm (i think) and I was allowed to go on it once with my daughter who had been really looking forward to it. We both hated it but other kids seeemed to enjoy it.

Other than Frankie Farrells ( not impressed) and the food court at the outlet centre and the pool bar there are no restuarants within walking distance. The Ponderosa steakhouse is closed although the concierge staff did not know this when i asked if it was ok to walk up the roadside to it. Went out to eat a couple of times and used taxis which are plentiful. Had a really good Steak at Johnnie Hallidays at The Crossroads shopping centre following a game of crazy golf but expensive and very noisy, felt a bit under dressed in casual clothes although not in shorts!

Taxi to hotel from airport cost $45 one way and $50 on return, probably upset the driver by not giving him a tip but decided the overcharging made up for it. Many taxis are not metered. We were still quids in by not hiring a car, but did suffer minor inconvenience as a result. I think next time i would hire a car even if i didn't use it every day.

People complained in the reviews about not being able to get rid of rubbish. in our block (5) you could acccess the trash shute from the top floor. The washer drier / hoover etc and the hugh number of towels provided made it unnecessary to use maid service. And yes the sheets did slip off a couple of times, but it took a couple of seconds to sort, not exactly a holiday spoiler!

My main gripe was the rubbish television programmes. Millions of channels to chose from, but try and find a weather forecast or decent kids programme for smaller kids- no chance. The disney channel is NOT Disney Junior. Some better assistance in the room on channels and how to use some of the applicances would be good, us English don't have such complicated ovens/air con units etc!

Can't really see the fireworks, so don't get stressed about not having that view, pool view is much nicer.

All in all a good place to be, particulary if you have a range of age groups to cater for, but sorry to say won't be back. Orlando, been there done that.... Have a good one.

Room Tip: Pool view! mid level floor if you want wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noah585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and that your accommodations were a perfect fit for your family. We also appreciate all of your feedback, and we are passing your comments along to the relevant departments for future improvements. It was great having you, and we hope that you will change your mind and pay Orlando another visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.5 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#84 of 340 in Orlando
3,222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#21 of 340 in Orlando
8,255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#65 of 340 in Orlando
4,106 reviews
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa

Address: 8113 Resort Village Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-5616
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#36 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#38 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Business Hotel in Orlando
#94 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $142 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and amenities! Luxury one, two, three and four bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies, washer/dryer and more. Two pools - one with a Pirate Ship slide and pool bar. Reflections Spa~Salon and Frankie Farrell's Irish Pub onsite. Two miles to Disney and on the doorstep of Lake Buena Vista Factory Stores. Complimentary scheduled transportation to Disney, Universal, and SeaWorld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village Hotel Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Resort Spa
Lake Buena Vista Resort Village And Spa
Lake Buena Vista Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing