We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, but service a little unDisneylike”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tusker House

Tusker House
Ranked #129 of 3,764 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: American, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Travelers! Take a break from your safari and enjoy a taste of adventure at Tusker House Restaurant, a colorful and bustling Harambe Marketplace eatery.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but service a little unDisneylike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lunch here was very tasty with a number of ethnic options which were surprisingly fresh and tasty for a buffet. There was an enormous variety of food to choose from and it was definitely a cut above the average buffet. Service in the restaurant was friendly, with my only complaint being rather gruff service leading up to being seated. I realize it is a busy place (as are all Disney character restaurants) but at this one they really seemed stressed and barked orders at us to hurry us through the picture taking process with Donald. They would not permit the kids to get autographs from Donald at the pre restaurant photo op, and this was our kids only encounter with Donald on this trip. This whole experience got our lunch off to a frazzled start and it is about the only time during our 4 trips to Disney that we have experienced service that was less than friendly, but once we got inside the food and the remaining characters and service made up for it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Disney_Dada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,365
    862
    368
    114
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
915 reviews
666 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Falling Down on the Job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second visit to the Tusker House character breakfast, and it's starting to slip
in overall quality.
The access to WDW main characters, Mickey, Minnie, Donald, Daisy, and Goofy are as good
here as anywhere.
In 2011 there was a very strong character interaction celebration that filled the entire room and lasted twenty minutes. It included an exciting children's parade led by Goofy. Our grandson
was enthralled.
This time we spent and hour and fifteen minutes and there was no celebration. We were not amused.
One of the managers claimed technical difficulties, but there would be four celebrations planned
later in the day. We made a special return visit only to see a sorry version of the previous Tusker House celebration.
The buffet now contains many more carbohydrates and less meats than our previous experience. Sadly absent was the great omelet station.

The prices have also increased. They show a 20% to 22% tip recommended on a buffet. That's over the top, but so typical for WDW.
There's also a pretty hard sale with the picture of Donald Duck. It is difficult to turn down
that nice grandpa peddling a $30 photo.
Service is good from the gaggle of servers hustling drinks for a 22% tip.
The volume of guests has increased exponentially with the demise of character interaction.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious Mickey waffles and Jambo juice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved Tusker House! We ate here pre-park opening which was perfect because when we got out we were first in line for the safari. I'd suggest trying to do this because we rode the safari again immediately after our first ride and the animals had dispersed from the paths and were much farther away!

Anyways, the food here was great and the characters are adorable. The Mickey waffles are SO good, I was worried they were more for looks, but I thought they were delicious. They also have some different items for breakfast here, a ham carving station, etc. Their speciality juice is called Jambo juice. I can't remember exactly what our waitress said, but it was something like orange, mango, guava, and pineapple juice, or some combination of those. So tasty regardless of what it was!

The characters are all in safari outfits, which is cute. You line up and get a picture with Donald before going in, and inside you get to see Goofy, Mickey, and Daisy. No need to pay the $30 for the picture of Donald because the CMs will take pictures with your camera. The picture they try to sell you IS nice, but not for $30+!!

The theming of the restaurant is really cool, the buffet area is set up like an African market!

I'd recommend a visit to Tusker House to anyone going to Animal Kingdom, preferably before park opening!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank melissarose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
562 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Rushed Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The staff are in a real rush to turn the tables as quickly as possible. The characters run from table to table and appear impatient to spend time with the children (unlike any other character restaurant). If you're in hurry this is the place for you. Otherwise, I suggest you consider other restaurants.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank damg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had breakfast here and found the whole experience enjoyable. The character interaction was good and not rushed they gave autographs for the kids posed for photos and interacted well with everyone. The food was tasty and plenty of variety for everyone to choose from. The restaurant is done up like an African market place and looks great. Before you enter you get a photo with Donald duck which isn't cheap but makes a nice souvenir they give you the option to purchase it while you eat breakfast. A good choice for a character breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tusker House also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Tusker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing