We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & Disney characters at Tusker House”

Tusker House Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 3,828 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Travelers! Take a break from your safari and enjoy a taste of adventure at Tusker House Restaurant, a colorful and bustling Harambe Marketplace eatery.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food & Disney characters at Tusker House”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed lunch at this Animal Kingdom restaurant located in the Africa section of the park near the safari. We all agreed this was the best food at a Disney property restaurant. There was a lot to choose from on the buffett, and everything was delicious, even the bean soup! The kids enjoyed seeing Mickey, Goofy, etc. Reservations are a must!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    910
    388
    119
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Selection”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had breakfast, buffet style with character greetings, at Tusker House. The selection was good and included some African and American choices.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachgrrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good Buffet Meal”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you want to eat in Animal Kingdom, this is the place. Not much atmosphere but the food is good and plentiful. Everything from PB&J to carved RARE roast beef is available. The hot food was hot and there was a good variety of salad, meat, vegetarian, and desserts. Great for families with picky eaters. Nothing was exceptional but it was all tasty.

I'm not sure whether the restaurant serves alcohol (we didn't order any) but there is a bar immediately adjoining the restaurant.

It certainly wasn't the best food we had at Disney. But at the end of a long day at the park, it's nice to eat where you are rather than having to commute to another meal. This is decent fare with good service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MisstheDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Disney meal all week!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We ate lunch there for the character dining experience . Was unsure about the African food when we booked, but the food was amazing ! By far the best meal we ate at Disney all week . We will go back !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family, an oasis in the crowded park”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We ate at the Tusker House with 4 adults (including one vegetarian) and two children (ages 5 and 2) and everyone was happy! The kids were able to eat kid-friendly foods such as make your own peanut butter and jelly, mac and cheese, turkey sandwich, fruit, etc., and also sample more exotic foods from the buffet. The desserts were a strong motivator for the kids to eat their lunches. The adults enjoyed the variety of foods such as several different grains (orzo, couscous, rice, etc), meats, many vegetables, tofu, and so on. Honestly I can't remember exactly what dishes I ate but I felt full and refreshed after enjoying salad, veggies, beans, etc. You can get and adult beverage at the bar outside and bring it in. The characters were great and we got plenty of time with each character as they visited our table several times. Towards the end of our meal, the characters came back and did a dance with all the children and adults who wished to participate. The restaurant servers handed out maracas and other noise makers so everyone could play along. Overall it was a great experience. A little expensive but so worth it, especially in comparison to the crowded, stressful experiences that might be had at the cheaper, counter-service restaurants in theme parks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milesandcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tusker House Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Tusker House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing