We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for a table with castle view; fantastic tomato soup”

The Plaza Restaurant
Ranked #312 of 3,777 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Plaza Restaurant in Magic Kingdom Theme Park takes you back to Victorian America with accented mirrors, art nouveau art and turn-of-the-20th-century flourishes.The menu at The Plaza Restaurant contains timeless lunch and dinner classics, such as grilled deli-style sandwiches, burgers, hearty salads and hand-dipped ice cream fountain favorites.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“ask for a table with castle view; fantastic tomato soup”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We made a reservation late the prior night. The only time we could get in was just after it opened at 11 am, but that turned out great...having not had a snack in the morning we were hungry for an early lunch. Going early worked out perfectly, as we asked for a table for four with a view and were given a table right at the window with a beautiful view of the castle, and even of the Celebrate street parade that was going on! Someone on trip advisor recommended the tomato soup (tomato bisque) and they were right on...it was absolutely fantastic...I think they home make the croutons, and put plenty of them on, which we all loved. I had the reuben which was very good. Son loved his kids sized grilled cheese so much that we ordered another (sandwich only...didn't have to have a whole other kids meal with drink and so on). Daughter and husband enjoyed their milk shake complete with the old fashioned tin cup, though it was so big they couldn't eat all their meal (we highly recommend sharing the milkshake in two glasses, it's so much). Server Megan served with a bright smile. I would recommend this place (especially just when they open) as a great way to get out of the noise of Disney yet still see the beauty of the castle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldsCultures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    321
    149
    66
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LUTZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came across this little gem when we were looking for an alternative to the walk-up dining at Magic Kingdom. Normally, we never attempt to be seated without a reservation but it was our lucky day! The hostess got us on the list immediately and we were seated as soon as the restaurant opened.
The menu is small but it offers something for everyone. I had the Chicken Strawberry Salad which was delicious! My husband had the Grilled Reuben which he said was also wonderful.
The atmosphere is quaint and the service is impeccable. Our waiter Paul was top-notch. He made us feel like family and attended to our every need. If you have a chance to visit Magic Kingdom, do not overlook this wonderful restaurant. You will not be disappointed!
I would suggest making reservations to be on the safe side.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Couple022512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We dined at the Plaza for dinner one evening before the Electrical Parade. The service was friendly and quick, and the food was tasty. We enjoyed the atmosphere and will definitely go back again on our next visit to Disney World.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSR119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best tomato soup”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

When in disney we always call in here it serves the best tomato soup in the world, the rest of the food is just as nice and reasonably priced good service is always provided and plenty of entertainment should the mayor happen to call in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location and atmosphere but just a sandwitch place”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellant location in the Magic Kingdom with terrific view of Cinderella's Castle. Nice atmosphere. Desserts are great, especially the ice cream. Service was terrific. Only knock is the food was ok. Really just a sandwitch and burger place. If you're looking for more than that then this is not the place for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmac2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza Restaurant also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Plaza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing