We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Experience”

Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.99*
and up
Sleuth's Mystery Dinner Show, Orlando
Ranked #9 of 71 Concerts & Shows in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You are invited to step into the world of comedy, mystery and intrigue at Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows. You will mingle with unusual characters…watch out! The action is fast and the laughter is contagious as you become the detective and solve the crime through a live interrogation! You’ll enjoy appetizers, salad, choice of delicious dinner (Cornish Hen, Cheese Lasagna with or without Meatballs or Prime Rib for an additional charge), choice of mystery dessert and unlimited beer, wine and soft drinks. Fantastic group rates for parties of 15 or more. Great for all ages! Shows can also travel to the location of your choice! Call for reservations
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First of all the location was easy to find and it had plenty of parking. We arrived around 615 PM. The entertainment started right away when we entered as we were greeted by a policeman. He was funny and informative as he guided us to the checkin line. There were snacks of cheese, fruit and sandwich wraps to hold you off until dinner. Nice touch. I suggest be early if you want any as they went quickly. Nice little gift area but can be crowded when crowd starts to build. Dinner show was funny and entertaining. We saw the mystery that revolved around a casting of a play. Nice use of audience participation. Food was good and tasty. We had game hen. Dessert tasty, especially Key Lime pie. Mystery was well acted and continually entertaining and funny. We would go again. Had a great time.

Thank DelandCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerService01, Manager at Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are so delighted you had a fun time on your first visit and hope to see you many times again! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"prime rib"
in 176 reviews
"lasagna"
in 110 reviews
"cornish hen"
in 80 reviews
"audience participation"
in 88 reviews
"fox hunt"
in 21 reviews
"green beans"
in 25 reviews
"squires inn"
in 18 reviews
"the key lime pie"
in 15 reviews
"unlimited wine"
in 14 reviews
"entertaining evening"
in 20 reviews
"actors and actresses"
in 15 reviews
"comedy show"
in 33 reviews
"all you can drink"
in 20 reviews
"gift shop"
in 49 reviews
"strawberry shortcake"
in 22 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 14 reviews
"pre show"
in 18 reviews
Filter

1,089 - 1,093 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Yes some of the jokes were cheesy but we truely enjoyed our evening out. We laughed, enjoyed the show, the dinner included was very delicious and the key lime pie was amazing! The meal comes with unlimited wine or beer or sodas which is nice. The plot was simple but kept you questioning who-done-it. No foul language so family friendly. And they have 15 different shows so you can go multiple times and not know the ending. They use people from the audience as part of the cast and everyone gets to be the detective!

Definitely recommend!

Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerService01, Manager at Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

You made our day with your wonderful comments! Hope you can come back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice for something different to do. Pleasant staff. Actors were great (Simon was my favorite). Cornish hen dinner was good. Would order the strawberry shortcake or chocolate cake for dessert next time as the key lime was not good. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves.

Thank TiffanyFL407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerService01, Manager at Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us...we hope to have you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went and seen kim and scott tie the knot and had the lasagna, and prime rib.

When you arrive, check in is to the right so just walk to the right, last names from like a-i has a line, and from j-z or whatever has a line. They give you your ticket with your table number. You may drink from the bar (at a price) until your number is called. A beer is $8 at first, but you get to keep the beer mug, then its $4 refills. They will announce table numbers (not in order) via a microphone, and you will be led to the stage area.

The prime rib was "OK", I ate it all but the look (color) was just odd, I don't know if it was baked, or boiled or what. I was not impressed with it overall. The lasagna was OK as well, nothing I would want again or get a craving for. the salad that was on the table when we arrived had some sort of dressing on it (not ranch or thousand island etc.) tasted like mayonnaise, I ended up not eating that. The mixed veggies were "OK" as well, not really a fan of those either. I hate to say that about everything but it just was not that great.

The water tasted good (some laugh, but sometimes water at places is awful).

The beer came in pitchers and we NEVER ran out, the waiter was a very nice fellow (Josh?) he helped us out and was great!

They do some random advertising and what not before the show begins, they do a mic check (Turn these up, I had to listen closely to hear and it seemed most of the time they were not picking up the actors).

The acting was fine, no complaints really and the one women was hot (pink outfit, stiletto boots etc.). You don't eat till the act is over, then you get to ask questions (each table has a spokesperson) then you decide who your table thinks did it. Most people get it wrong so don't feel bad.

Overall is was an average experience I guess, not worth the price that is for sure. I hate giving "average" ratings but it just was not that great.

Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerService01, Manager at Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Phillip -- We are so sorry that your experience was just "OK" instead we like to hear that it was "fantastic!" Thank you for noticing that we do have a system for checking our guests in and for mentioning our great bar specials.

Our prime rib is slow cooked throughout the day so that it reaches a final temperature of "medium" and is tender. We usually receive really nice comments about our prime rib -- I can explain why you thought the color looked odd -- it's because of the colored lights we use for the theatre, not because the product was off (I hope that helps give you a little piece of mind). The vegetables are just a seasonal fresh cut mix (not frozen) that we sautéed in butter.

The salad dressing is Honey Mustard and it's a brand we have been using for 23 years because we get so many compliments on it. We're sorry it wasn't to your liking. Glad you liked the water!

We were delighted to hear that Josh took care of you throughout your evening with us! We sure wish we could have WOW'd you! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We wanted to do something in the evening which would be fun, relaxing, and would be good for a family. This was a good choice. The show is a mystery, but for us that was secondary to the fact that it was a good comedy. They have fourteen different shows, which means you can come back another time. I imagine the experience would be similar for any of them.

There are lots of dinner show options in Orlando. Some are arena size and serve popcorn and beer. This one had about twenty table of ten, which was a nice size. They also served a real dinner, with a waitstaff. We opted for the roast beef over the lasagna, which we paid extra for, but it was worth it. We liked the food. It was comparable to going to a family restaurant. They served beer and wine from pitchers, and we had all that we wanted to drink.

People were there with young children, and that was fine. There were some jokes that they missed, but that's a good thing. The acting was very good. It's not Broadway, but the actors are professional and know how to please an audience. There is an audience participation piece where you get to ask the characters questions, which adds some improv to the mix.

Some other reviews talked about the before show experience. There's some definite down time there. Don't bother to show up early. If you show up at the time they suggested, or even a little later than that, you're fine. There's a lobby area with gifts and a no host bar. There's some business they need to go through where you can upgrade your meal and/or put your tip on your credit card, and assign you to a table. Then you're seated by table for the show. It takes a little bit of time, but I didn't think it was unreasonable.

Note that on Fridays, the show after this one is "Moma's Comedy Show," right in the same theater. That show is #3 in Orlando, beaten out only by Cirque de Soleil and the Disney Wishes Fireworks. It's strictly adult. We didn't go, but I plan to next time. You could definitely combine the two for a full evening of food, drinks and comedy.

Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerService01, Guest Relations Manager at Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for such a thorough and informative review! We are glad you had a such a good night out with the family. We are positive the crew with Mama's Comedy would love to see you visit as well and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows also viewed

 

Been to Sleuths Mystery Dinner Shows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing