We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the Indian palate, an excellent option”

Woodlands Indian Cuisine
Ranked #763 of 3,776 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For the Indian palate, an excellent option”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting Orlando with the family and wanted a pure vegetarian restaurant with orthodox elderly people in mind. Good choice. Food was very reasonably priced, the place was clean and best of all, the food was excellent. Will definitely recommend the place.

- a Madras boy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karthidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    63
    18
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing vegetarian food with lots of jain options”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I and my family follow jainism and this was the only restaurant who had jain options in almost all cuisines. We had veg manchurian, chilli uttapam, paneer makhani, chana masala, and tomato soup. All food was jain and spiciness perfect. Superliked, if I ever visit Orlando (which i am sure i will), will make sure to visit woodland. they are pure vegetarian restaurant

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mokamilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My family of 4 went to this restaurant. We wanted to look for a restaurant near the Homewood Suites Orlando airport. This restaurant was not our first choice, a search for Vegetarian restaurants in the Yellow pages app on the Android phone showed Saravana Bhavan, so we decided to go there. However, we noticed that it had been closed for a long time. The phone was also disconnected and that should have been our first indication that something was wrong.
Another search revealed Woodlands as the closest one, about a little over a mile North. Since this was a pure vegetarian food, we did not have to think twice.
The location is a little difficult to reach in that you need to take a U-turn at a signal which turns green only for 4-5 seconds. Add to that, a slow reacting driver in the front, by the time 2 cars turn, the signal is back to red. We got the red signal twice and finally turned and went to the restaurant.
From the front, it is not very appealing, but inside the food was delicious. All the items were freshly prepared from scratch using fresh vegetables. None of the food items were from frozen food, unlike other Indian restaurants. The menu was primarily South Indian - although they did have a couple of items like the Manchurian to cater to the North Indian crowd. We went on a Friday. None of the food items were oily, and the cooks replenished the buffet table as soon as it was nearing empty. The masala dosa was superb as well. I could go on and on about the other dishes, but I think it is best left to the readers to visit and taste this little heaven.

We liked it so much that we went there the next 2 days on our way to Disney's Hollywood studios. However, we ordered the takeout for $4.99 a pound. We found this to be more economical and practical since we could eat on the road at our convenience. There was no repeat vegetarian dishes on the 3 days we went!
The area is close to the Indian grocery and other shops - Publix, Winn Dixie, Wawa etc, as well as easy proximity to the 528 to I-4 (no toll for this stretch), the Florida turnpike, as well as the airport. The entire area is always jam packed, and none of the signals on the Orange Blossom Road are co-ordinated - we hit almost every red signal while going at the speed limit.
To sum it up, we will definitely visit this restaurant the next time we are in Orlando.
Hope the owners keep the same quality up, and not get into the temptation of cutting costs and switching to frozen food or other short cuts.
A must visit for every vegetarian who loves Indian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pkganapathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent food, terrible service. Tourists do not go!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have just visited this restaurant after it was reccomended to us by a friend who lives locally. When we arrived at 9pm we were told at the door that we had to order fast as the kitchen closes promptly at 9.30pm. We said that was ok as we didnt mind ordering quickly. However the manager failed to mention that they would rush us out before we had even finished eating. When we requested more sambhal for the dosa we were told no because the kitchen was closed, however when the waiter came to clear the table he asked if we wanted more sambhal in a sarcastic manner attempting to Take the micky. The waiter brought out the bill whilst half the table was still eating. When we requested he take it back, he took it and then reappeared with it two minutes later. Its worth noting that other tables who were seated before we arrived were still at their tables whilst we were being rushed out. He kept saying that we should consider ourselves lucky because they still served us. An automatic gratuity of 15% was added to the bill which is customary in the USA, however i believed this was the price you pay for good service, which we clearly didnt recieve. Everytime we tried to air our complaints to the manager the waiter who had been rude to us kept walking past giggling. The manager couldn't even muster up an apology. When we left we the manager made a comment to the man behind the till about why "people like us" had been given a table purposefully loud enough for us to hear.

To me it seems this place is best suited to locals. The tourists do not get good service at all because they arent expected to return. I have visited many restaurants of varying cuisines all over the world, and id have to say this was the worst service ive ever recieved. Even though the food was some of the best indian food weve had in orlando we will not be returning. I don't normally write reviews but the service was so awful its the first thing I'm doing when I'm back in my hotel room. I come from the London and i can confidently say that I'm positive that id get better service than this in any restaurant/fast food place in the whole of the UK

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian Indian food !”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We had been told how good this restaurant was by many locals who knew we were vegetarians. We made the 40 minute trip from New Smyrna Beach and upon arrival we saw it was a refurbished building that maybe used to be a ruby Tuesday. Very clean appearance and we were seated ASAP. We chose the lunch buffet and it was so very good. Such savory items ! I loved everything. Some sort of desert balls were very delish. We were given water but never asked if we wanted another beverage. Upon leaving we asked the man at checkout if they served other beverages and he said they did serve tea, coffee and sodas but NO Alcohol... So this will be a lunch place for us. We really loved the Buffett and will eat here every time we come to Orlando. Cost was less than $20.00 for us both and we were really full !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melissarunsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands Indian Cuisine also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Woodlands Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing