We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Cake Back to Your Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dessert Lady Cafe

The Dessert Lady Cafe
Ranked #51 of 126 Dessert in Orlando
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Take Cake Back to Your Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Dessert Lady is a favorite of Orlando residents for its homemade, extravagant desserts. We visited the area to celebrate my birthday and stopped by to pick up a slice of cake to take back to our room for later. Instead, we got the four-half-slice "sampler" and enjoyed four different desserts! Try the fudge ripple bread pudding. Visit them at http://www.dessertlady.com/#

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YvettesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“It's closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Unfortunately this place is now closed.
We decided to visit it today and wandered up and down West Church Street before asking in another establishment where we were told it had recently closed. I suppose seeing that the last review was in July that should have given us a clue. So sad considering the good reviews it was getting.
Please ignore the ratings as obviously there was no experience to rate.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hxdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Lousy coffee with dessert does not make for a positive experience. Wine by the glass tasted like it had been sitting for a week. Will not be going back

Helpful?
Thank Eatingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I found this place on TripAdvisor and drove up while staying near Disney World. The short 15 minute drive was well worth it! We ordered the Chocolate Zuccotto cake and shared it. All I can say is "Wow!" My wife is a chocolate lover while I usually enjoy it as much as the next dessert flavor. However, this ganache covered, mousse cored cake had us both reaching for another helping. Such a great balance without giving you over the top chocolate richness. Spend the time and a little extra cash on this wonderful Orlando treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SC77Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great variety of desserts and drinks. Loved the carrot cake!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nottoofussy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dessert Lady Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Dessert Lady Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing