We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a great value!”
Review of Cape May Cafe

Cape May Cafe
Ranked #81 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Cape May Cafe at Disney's Beach Club Resort offers all-you-care-to-eat buffets at breakfast and dinner in a lively, beach-themed restaurant.Character Dining at BreakfastStart your day with Goofy and friends at the Beach Club Breakfast Buffet! During this Disney Character Dining experience, delight in a variety of breakfast favorites, including Mickey Waffles, a fresh fruit and yogurt bar, fresh-baked pastries and other favorites.Seafood Buffet at DinnerIn the evening, feast on a seafood buffet that includes crab legs, mussels and clams freshly steamed center stage, as well as a tantalizing selection of non-seafood dishes such as carved meats, ribs, chicken, seasonal seafood salads and pastas.As you dine, enjoy the nostalgic New England decor and seaside setting of Disney's Beach Club Resort.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food and a great value!”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

WHAT a delight - Cape May was wonderful (maybe more so after eating at the mediocre at best Boma the night before). My party and I were all seafood lovers, and this was right up our alley.
The dinner buffet has a large selection of seafood delights - the clam chowder is SUPERB! The crab legs, mussels, clams, shrimp, and fish selections were delicious, and there was a seafood casserole that was very tasty, with fresh scallops in it as well. There is a salad bar, some interesting and delicious rolls. If you are afraid to go because your kids don't like seafood, there is also a selection of pizza, chicken, etc that will be familiar to them.
The service was top notch, and the atmosphere took you away to a beachside resort.
We are definately going back!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,086
    658
    263
    80
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average Seafood Buffet ..get the Imagineers In”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This was the most expensive WDW meal we paid for and the most disappointing.

Yes, there were lots and lots of steamed crab's legs but the rest was really average. I like seafood and was keen to try their prepared seafood dishes such as the lobster pasta etc but all pretty tasteless. I saw lots of people just feasting on shrimp with tomato sauce and the crabs legs but for me a buffet should be more. My husband also tried the meat there but said it tasted 'fatty' after the seafood.

Also their desserts have gone downhill. Not a good representation of a Key Lime Pie at all. Strawberry cheesecake OK and chocolate biscuit mousse.

The waiting line was manageable and the buffet well set out. Again the quality and presentation lets this down, maybe the Imagineers could have a go at the menu. I have been a regular visitor to WDW and this is probably the most dated buffet.

The staff were helpful and we had fun drawing on the table 'cloth'. Compared to places nearer the coast or Sanibel Island it wasn't worth the money for our family and we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Driver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wonderful Character Breakfast”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Booked a Sunday morning breakfast for 10:45am. We arrived 30 minutes early and were seated immediately. Our server was quick and friendly. Food was edible and pretty decent for a buffet. Lots of fruit, parties, and warm breakfast foods. Pretty much the same food as Chef Mickeys. Our coffee and orange juice were never empty. The Characters spent a lot of time at our table and we saw a new character every 10-15 minutes. Loved the beach theme.

I would absolutely recommend this character breakfast.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimber_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton,England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food”
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The menu is very different and the food is absolutely amazing! My partner had the pork which was so tender and had a lovely apple coating. I had the onion and mushroom tart which was amazing. Would definitely recommned this restaurant as the food is amazing and the staff are so polite and helpful!

Helpful?
1 Thank Littleone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“IF YOU LIKE SEAFOOD, THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU.”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Great variety of seafood , snow crab, mussels, clams, great salad bar , also pork tenterloin , ribs , its a buffet so you can get all you can eat , really good quality , freshly steamed right there at the counter ,nice desserts , a really good dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank hazbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Cape May Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing