We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Buffet”
Review of Hollywood & Vine

Hollywood & Vine
Ranked #276 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Hollywood & Vine restaurant in Disney's Hollywood Studios theme park offers breakfast and lunch buffets featuring Disney Characters, and a dinner buffet with savory American cuisine. This Art Deco-designed restaurant pays tribute to the Golden Age of Tinseltown and proudly displays in neon across the entrance that this is the "Cafeteria to the Stars" Character Dining at Breakfast and LunchJoin pals June from Disney's Little Einsteins, Jake the Neverland pirate, Handy Manny and Special Agent Oso at Hollywood & Vine for Disney Junior Play 'n Dine—a lively dining experience offered at 2 fun-filled, musical meals!Breakfast Buffet: Start your day with song! Sing along with your hosts to familiar Disney Junior tunes, and savor a delicious breakfast buffet featuring favorites like Mickey Mouse-shaped waffles, frittatas and fresh fruit.Lunch Buffet: The Disney Junior pals continue the festivities at lunch with more singing, dancing and playing. Across the lunch buffet, find kid- and adult-friendly entrees, such as baked chicken and assorted deli selections.Dinner BuffetFamilies can delight in a delectable dinner buffet that features American cuisine freshly prepared at on-stage cooking stations. Dishes may include such specialties as herb-crusted baked salmon with citrus butter, and red pepper pesto multigrain pasta (vegetarian). Fresh-roasted meats, peel-and-eat shrimp and mussels complete the array of savory selections. End dinner on the sweet side with treats from the sundae station and dessert bar.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
516 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Decent Buffet”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Wife and I ate dinner here last week. Though we had reservations and showed up on-time, we still had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. Once inside we waited maybe another 5 minutes for a waiter to take our drink order. We both have our own dietary restrictions, so a chef actually walked us around the entire buffet to point out what we could and couldn't eat.

What food was out was pretty good for the most part, but there wasn't exactly a tremendous selection to work with. Moreover, once you start to eliminate whole classes of foods—sugary for me and gluten-based for her—then the list really narrows. For this reason coupled with the price of the buffet, I don't really think we got our money's worth. We didn't leave hungry or anything, but baked chicken and potato products are only worth so much!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanNowlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    681
    421
    137
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good character breakfast!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

First I would start by saying that in my past experiences with character dining you are go for the experience NOT the food. If you get lucky the food is average or a lil above.
This character dining experience was nice. The characters made their way around to our table about 2/3 times each in the time we were there. Handy Manny even stopped and played with my nephews toys plane for a good five minutes. My nephew loved every minute. The other entertainment came out every 15 or so and sang songs that the kids all got up and danced to.
My kids were very entertained the whole time they were there.
Now for the food. I would say for a character dining buffet the food was better then expected and so was the variety. So that was nice!
The staff was very accommidating, very "Disney".
If you were wanting to do a character dining I would suggest this one. I would recommend this over Cheft
Mickeys.

Helpful?
Thank Limofam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great character dining experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you have little ones that are fans of Disney Junior, then this is a great opportunity to meet the characters and avoid waiting in long character meet and greet lines. The food is served buffet style and is better than most family buffets---lobster and shrimp mac n cheese, asiago chicken, etc. Lots of food choices so there is something for everyone.
Each character comes to your table to visit---no waiting in lines. The characters are spaced out so they don’t all arrive at once---giving you the opportunity to take pictures, etc. We never felt rushed to get out of there, and our server was phenomenal---always bringing drink refills etc. The characters are great with the little ones—kneeling for photos and giving lots of hugs and high fives. Intermittently, the characters line up to dance, and there was a conga line through the restaurant.
The restaurant is noisy and vibrant with lots of little kids—if you are looking for a quiet and intimate dining experience, this is not for you. But, for those with young kids, it is a great dining experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LJLB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“rude waitress!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had breakfast here during our stay, food was average, and waitress was awful, slammed our drinks down, and everything seem to be too much of a chore, very disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samanddickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WDW November 2013”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a character lunch set up for our two grandchildren, ages 4 & 2. I am not a fan of buffets but it was worth seeing my grandchildren's faces to see the Disney Junior characters. The buffet offers a variety of foods for kids & adults and the characters come to each table to greet the children, sign autographs and have pictures taken. They also do a dance routine and encourage the children to participate. Our waitress was extremely attentive and acted as though we were her only table to wait on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 58racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood & Vine also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Hollywood & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing