We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“AWESOME OYSTERS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lee & Rick's Oyster Bar

Lee & Rick's Oyster Bar
Ranked #311 of 3,637 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME OYSTERS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lee and Ricks has the best oysters and atmosphere. we sit at the raw bar and get buckets of tasty steamed oysters. prices are reasonable and service is excellent.We have been going here for 25 years and always had great food and great service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billtampa1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    63
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crunchy Oysters and Sketchy Neighbourhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were visiting Orlando from the west coast. Looked for relatively popular restaurants on trip advisor and found Lee and Rick's. Man oh man was it a bad choice. We went around 9-10PM at night. The restaurant itself was located in an area that felt really sketchy. Me and my girlfriend did not feel safe at all. The other customers in there seemed really sketch too. The restaurant is really run down, paint is peeling everywhere and there were NO windows which adds to the sketchy feeling.

The food itself was not good either. We're from the west coast and are used to eating oysters like royal miyagi's and kushi's. The oysters are on the larger side compared to the west coast ones and seemed to lack oyster flavors. That part i guess can't be controlled by the restaurant since it might be species dependent but here's something that can be controlled. We ordered a dozen (6 oysters between the two of us) and four of them were crunchy (had sand or bits of the shell). I couldn't tell whether the oysters were shucked bad or if the oysters themselves were dirty.

We also ordered a steamed seafood platter that consisted of clams, mussels, snowcrab, crawfish, corn, and potatoes. Only the corn and potatoes were good. The clams... again i'm not sure if its the species but when i took a bite the clam tasted like the ocean. I felt that the clam wasn't fully cooked and my girlfriend experienced the same thing. We left the 3rd clam untouched because it was so bad. The mussles and crawfish were ok, but on the overcooked side. The snowcrab sucked.

After we finished our food we hauled out of there because we didn't feel safe. The service was ok but could be better. Overall the restaurant just felt really dirty, sketchy, and food was sub-par.

To put things into perspective, we also visited Joe's Crab Shack 2 days before and the difference was night and day at around the same price. The flavor's and ingredients at Joe's were soooooo much better and so was the service. Also we visited Logan's Roadhouse and we absolutely loved it. Hopefully if you've been to these two other restaurants you will see what kind of standards we are expecting (pretty low standard). If you are looking for good seafood and a good time i suggest you go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCW818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite possibly one of the best restaurants in the world...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great Apalachicola oysters. Great shuckers (yo Trevis!) Great broken in bar (most fun to sit at the bar, not a booth). Just a great overall vibe. A decade ago I found myself in Orlando a few times a year for business. I'd rent a car just to be able to break from the ho-hum business dinners and eat at Lee and Rick's (multiple times each visit I might add). Just returned for the first time in 10 years with my wife who has heard me wax poetic about Lee and Rick's. We agree: it's one of our favorite restaurants in the world (and we travel a lot for food). If you appreciate a real deal oyster joint (that's been in business 60+ years for a reason) you'll see why we feel that way! Can't wait to go again...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPizzaiolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Well, the oysters are good but it smells bad at the bar, no music poor atmosphere. Service was ok. If they renovated & had at least good music I would go back but the place depresses me..

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
194 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great oysters and plain down to earth food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Very informal place with no windows and no real atmosphere but great oysters and a variety of seafood. We had the oysters which are super fresh and excellent, the clam chowder which was good but not memorable, and the steamed seafood platter including snow crab, clams, mussels, craw dads, and shrimp.....for 20.00, pretty good deal. Added a pitcher of beer and after day fishing......we were happy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee & Rick's Oyster Bar also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Lee & Rick's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing