We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere was lacking”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #316 of 3,777 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Doctor Phillips
Cross street: Dr. Phillips Blvd.
Ontario
Level Contributor
175 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was lacking”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Possibly due to our late reservation we found ourselves finishing a $600 dinner in restaurant being prepped for the next day. The food was amazing, the waiter was full of it-didn't really respect our knowledge of both food and wine and made some silly recommendations. I would probably go back to a Ruth's Chris but I would ensure it was not at the end of service. That kind of ruined the dinner for all of us.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonnietheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    108
    55
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Classic decor and always good food and service! Service is always prompt, salads are always fresh, seafood was great too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ruth's has declined :(”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I usually love Ruth's Chris, but our recent visit was not up to the standard they have held in years past. Service was not as attentive, we were seated at our table for at least 15 minutes before our waiter came by for our drink order. We weren't even halfway done with our appetizers when our main entrees came out and when we were finished, it took another 20 minutes for the waiter to notice and have our plates cleared away. The food seems to be on the decline too--our au gratin potatoes were not cooked all the way through (they were hard and crunchy) and the creamed spinach didn't have the awesome garlic flavor they once had. My husband ordered his steak medium rare, but it came out very rare--still mooing; luckily they serve the steak on a 500 degree plate, so he was able to fix that by butterflying the steak open to cook on the plate a bit more to his own liking. I think we will pass on Ruth's in the future; you pay too much money for an awesome upscale experience and this last time I feel like we were duped!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsC052208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never disappointed at Ruth's Chris”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you've never been to a Ruth's Chris, definitely put it on your "to-do" list. Hands down, best steak ever!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRuss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
462 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steaks”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to Ruth's Chris for christmas dinner and had a great time. We had been to the one in Beverly Hills before. The service was excellent and we had their price fixed menu. With the price fixed menu you pick a salad or a soup, your entree and it has dessert with it. I had the filet - which was wonderful. The plates are really hot, so don't touch the plates! All in all it is a very classy restaurant with great service and a nice atmosphere. We were all very happy and satisfied when we left.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing