We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be a great place to eat”
Review of Stonewood Tavern & Grill - CLOSED

Stonewood Tavern & Grill
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Orlando Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place to eat”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Dr Phillips Orlando restaurant is the one I'm reviewing here. This used to be the best casual dining around. Unfortunately, that was several years ago. We now try it every 6 months hoping that the food quality will improve. It actually gets worse every time and more expensive to the point that they will never see us again.

Our last visit this week was an awful experience. To begin with a small point the decor is tired and the tables and chairs even in the dark atmosphere are noticeably worn out.

The most important point of course is the food served cold from standing. The meals were sent back and returned microwaved and the chicken with the bite out still on the plate.

Really a poor choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank astonman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
250 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Shame but you are 5 minutes late for Happy Hour”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Food and Drinks are a little expensive
Missed happy hour by 5 minutes and they were not just a little flexible with times.
Substitutes of Rice for fries is greeted with a "there is an extra dollar to do that "
Really a $120.00 dinner and I'm asked for an extra dollar.
Shame that they cannot be flexible.

Made the food seem very average when you want to enjoy it
Won't rush back and used to go 4 or 5 times a year

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Same good food and service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Every year we eat here on our way to Orlando airport( it's about 20 minutes away). We don't do Orlando, but love central and south western Florida. We arrived in happy hour and got Kendall Jackson chard for usd24 a bottle. All of our food was good and our server had a good sense of humour. I particularly enjoyed the herb encrusted grouper. See you next march.

Helpful?
Thank Rowland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are a local couple who do a nice restaurant date night once a week. We have our favorites and Stonewood when they first opened was one of them. In fact we have had several graduation and birthday celebrations with extended family and loved the place back then. After some time the food and service diminished and we did not come back for many years. We went a couple of months ago on a whim and the bar was hopping, we enjoyed the crowd and the bartenders were exceptional. We were seated and ordered the oak grilled pork chops, garlic mashed, and asparagus and my wife ordered the Salmon. The food was really excellent again. We have been back twice since our re-visit and the consistency of the food and staff have been impressive which prompted us to leave this glowing review. We will continue to come back and are considering having my sons college graduation dinner here as well it was that good again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OperationsManager011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have to tell you not only if the food great- but the staff went well over and above any expectations I had. I called early in the day and asked if I could bring some things to put on the table to surprise my sister and brother in law to say congrats (They found out they were pregnant.) Not only did they allow me to come before the restaurant even opened but when we got to the table it was decorated beautifully with all the gifts put out and confetti on the table. The service was outstanding and even the manager came by to give my family some baby rearing tips that he found helpful! The food was fantastic and it was even better with the addition of an amazing staff. To Michelle, who helped me set this up before the restaurant even opened up thank you- you truly made this night magical. To Colleen, who served us- all of your recommendations were spot on and your service was spot on- never did we want or need for anything. To Michael, you have an amazing staff treasure them and treat them well they make you look fantastic- and thanks for the secrets of what we need for the baby! Again, a fantastic place with great food, a beautiful atmosphere and impeccable service. We definitely will be back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 795JodiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Tavern & Grill also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing