We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Service”
Review of Stonewood Tavern & Grill - CLOSED

Stonewood Tavern & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had a large group during the Holidays and the folks at Stonewood got us in and provided great service for a very reasonable price. The food came in a timely manner and portions were nice size and the taste was very good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TimCreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
319 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“great dinner and dessert”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I loved the fish special (mahi mahi), and the orange dessert was delicious. They also had a nice selection of wines. Sevice was great, and the environment was good for conversation.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MizzouLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“very good food for a upscale chain”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great atmosphere, good service, and very good food for a upscale chain.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HJFHJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Great Meal, a Little Oversold”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

While traveling through Florida on a driving vacation, I spent three days in Orlando. A local friend and I visited Stonewood Tavern and Grill at her recommendation. This is a regional chain with restaurants throughout Florida and North Carolina.

The attractive synthetic stucco, wood and cultured stone building, done in a watered down Frank Lloyd Wright style, is located, as are most things in Orlando, in a shopping center in a standalone building in the middle of a parking lot, detracting from the experience.

The interior continues the architectural them with dark woods, coffered ceilings and dim trendy lighting. It's an upscale feel but being seated too near a large group of noisy businesspeople definitely diminished any feelings of sophistication.

Our server was very nice but overall, just too much of everything. Too attentive, too bubbly, too eager, too fast to tell us too much about the food. I was having a hard time conversing with my friend with the continuous interruptions.

I was a little disappointed to find little local seafood on the menu. Once would expect a chain centered in a coastal state to feature local fare.

We shared the seared ahi tuna as a starter. It's a staple of appetizers but it's easy to ruin. Ours was perfect, and the asian slaw was a nice counterpoint to the ginger and wasabi.

I had chosen for my entree the shrimp and scallops. The very large Black Tiger shrimp and scallops were perfectly grilled, not overly seasoned. I had requested the basil cream sauce on the side. Smothering perfectly good food in rich sauces just seems wrong when just a little would do well. The rice and vegetables were nothing worth noting, their blandness allowing the fish to shine.

For dessert, we shared the Florida orange cake, which must also be a staple, as we had seen the exact same cake in another restaurant we had visited! That said, it was quite rich and tasty.

My take on Stonewood Tavern and Grill is that it's catering to the business and tourist trade. Prices reflect this. When considered alongside the menu and service, it's not the value it could be.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Analogkid1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Florida Orange Cake with Dreamsicle Icing was heavenly!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Went to dinner with my mother recently and the food was very good. The favorite meal was mom's pot roast which had the flavor of homemade roast beef with nice dark roast beef gravy and fresh veggies. The favorite dessert was the Florida orange cake which was made with fresh squeezed orange juice and just out of this world delicious. We're definitely going back again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jobaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Tavern & Grill also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing