We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill

Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill
Ranked #789 of 3,633 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Smokey Bones, we specialize in three things: good food, good drinks, and good times. We are a bar and fire grill, but not necessarily in that order. We are grill masters who respect the power of the open flame. We like simple, yet flavorful recipes and believe marinating is not to be taken lightly. We know medium-rare isn't the only way to cook a steak, but believe it should be. We believe pork should be slow smoked and pulled often. Slow, as in 11 hours over hickory logs every night, and often, as in every day at every restaurant. We know it's our bartenders who make our drinks great, not the liquor. Although the liquor doesn't hurt. We think beer should be ice cold and consumed regularly. We know our servers bring much more than food to the table. We are big fans of sports, loud music, and surprises. And we believe in laughing often, especially at ourselves
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great happy hour spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I go here usually on Fridays for happy hour, they do not however have a good happy hour specials, I go for the good bar food and the atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    33
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Good Food but Terrible Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I seem to get the same waitress every time I have been here and she is just awful. The food takes forever and it is usually cold and overcooked. That screams sitting under the lights in the kitchen to me. Next time I go, I will sit at the bar and order.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pahhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a long day at Earthday Birthday my husband and I ventured out and found Smokey Bones. To our surprise it was open til 2 A.M so we decided to try it! Everything was AMAZING! The fried pickles were excellent then I had the San Jose Burger and he had the Smokehouse burger and both were awesome. I also had a Caribbean Cosmo which was great. I don't have a bad thing to say about that place and look forward to visiting next time my husband and I are in Orlando! Thank you for the awesome experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patswife0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The burgers and pulled pork were good as usual. Still miss the 'howling sauce', but can't have everything. Solid service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayDub407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in Orlando”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you are looking for great ribs and good food in the Orlando area ; look no further. The portions are larger, the BBQ excellent, and the side dishes very good. The prices are reasonable and overall this is a good place for a " home cooked" meal. I had the BBQ ribs and they were excellent. My daughter had a specialty salad and was pleasantly surprised with the freshness of the ingredients and quality. The cornbread is fantastic though it is a sweet cornbread not an authentic Appalachian recipe which I prefer.
The atmosphere is somewhat " Hooterish" which I do not care for and the bar is a little loud with vacationing middle-aged men and college boys flirting with the cute bartender, but this is Orlando.
Our waitress was excellent and the food was served very quickly. We will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sickofbadplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing