We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Kids!”

Akershus Royal Banquet Hall
Ranked #257 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $36 - $59
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Akershus Royal Banquet Hall, part of the Norway Pavilion within Epcot theme parkWorld Showcase, provides a Disney Princess Storybook Dining experience in a medieval castle-themed restaurant. Here, you can delight in American cuisine for breakfast and Norwegian-inspired entrees for lunch and dinner.Each meal starts with an adventurous "Taste of Norway," an impressive Norwegian buffet (koldtbord) of cold dishes. For breakfast, American favorites are served family style as well as from a breakfast buffet featuring breakfast breads, a yogurt station and a selection of fresh fruit.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for Kids!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant where children have dinner with Disney's princesses.
There's a nice salad buffet and some good typical Norwegian food.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank GustavoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,014
    713
    318
    138
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal we had while in Disney”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bf and I had dinner here on the Disney meal plan. I wasn't really looking forward to the meal at Akershus, and only booked reservations because I was looking for someplace to have dinner on our first night at Disney inside of Epcot, and the salad bar and characters appealed to me. Turns out to be the best meal we had all week in Disney! We were seated in a timely fashion, unlike with our other Disney dinner reservations. They brought us in for a photo with Belle, and brought the photo to our table WITHOUT CHARGING US FOR THE PHOTO (as they did at every other character dinner we went to). Once we were seated, we were told we could hit the salad bar. This was basically salad greens and fixings, some cheeses and deli meats, rolls, and some deli salads (think potato salad, pasta salad, etc). I don't know why there are so many negative reviews about the salad bar......it's just a beginning course for the awesome dinner they serve! Bf ordered short ribs and I had the pork chop......and then we shared our meals. Short ribs were so tender you could cut them with a fork, and the pork chop was juicy and flavorful. Our table was visited by all 4 princesses (Ariel, Cinderella, Snow White, and Aurora) in a timely manner (unlike the characters at the other character dinners that we went to). Dessert sampler was delicious, and fun to try 3 different desserts instead of just one. As we were getting up to leave, the princess parade was just starting.......every girl in the restaurant gets up and parades with the princesses around the restaurant. This dining experience is so good, it's a shame that it only caters to little girls. I have many friends traveling to Disney with boys this year, and wish I could recommend this restaurant to them! Disney should really consider adding characters for both boys and girls at this location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandii R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We are at this restaurant for supper at 5 o'clock. It was excellent. My two daughters had their picture taken with Belle when we first walked in, and then to find out that there is 2 pictures included with this meal was a huge bonus, and it came in a very nice booklet of the restaurant. The food was excellent. It had a salad bar to start, and had many choices and I seem to be on the picky side. However, my husband did order the salmon, and he said next time he'd order something different off the menu as the same salmon is located in the salad bar. The princess' were great and had good interaction with both my girls, even though my youngest was 11 months old. They did not seem rushed and chatted, signed autographs and stayed for many pictures. My daughter loved the parade and was ecstatic that Cinderella herself picked her to walk behind her in the parade. It was a great experience, and can't wait to to go back again. The princess' were Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, Ariel, and Cinderella while Belle was only for the picture but still...5 princess' in all...that was awesome!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thezzzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went to Akershus just four days ago with our 5-year old daughter and 7-year old son. We arrived 10 minutes prior to our reservation time to check-in and were seated about 5 minutes after our scheduled time. Our dinner package included photos with Belle, which were taken prior to being seated. Be prepared to be rushed through your photo time. Unlike other character experiences, the dinner ones (Cinderella at Cinderella's Royal Table and Belle at Akershus) are very expedited. Even the princesses themselves did not answer questions or talk with our daughter during these interactions.

Once we were seated, we were introduced to the appetizer bar full of cheeses, fish, meats, and other Norwegian treats. Honestly, one could make a meal of the appetizer bar alone. The other princesses (Aurora, Ariel, Cinderella, and Snow White) came by our table one-by-one to take photos and sign autograph books. They were much more cordial and less rushed than the official greeting with Belle at the door. The princesses also allowed all of the children to follow them in a processional around the restaurant during the meal.

The menu is more than adequate. I had the mushroom-stuffed pasta in parmesan cream sauce, and my husband had the braised short ribs. Both were very good. Dessert came in a trio for our table to share, with the chocolate cake being our favorite. All in all, the service was very good, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere delightful. It would be nice if the character greeting was a few seconds longer. I would recommend this restaurant to any family with children who love Disney princesses. It is not so accommodating for couples without children or families with teenagers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awestbrook23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Second Trip”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate at Akershus a few years ago and were so impressed we made this a must stop on this trip even though we are trying to try all the different places in Epcot. We were traveing with friends who had an 8 year old daughter and this is the place to go for maximum interaction with the princesses at dinner. We mentioned to our waiter how it was our second trip and on our first trip (for honeymoon) we had an awesome dessert that we didnt see on the menu anymore. He went to check and see if it was available anymore, which it was not. Being an anniversary trip for us, he went out of his way to go over to the bakery in Norway, where they made the dessert from scratch and provided it to us along with the dessert tray we ordered. What a shock and what great service! I cannot say enough good things about this place. Surely a must stop for a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foreman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akershus Royal Banquet Hall also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Akershus Royal Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing