We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service”
Review of Portobello - CLOSED

Portobello
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The menu at Portobello was born in the bounty and harvest of the Italian countryside. Celebrating the simplest flavors of Italy; crusty breads, sun-ripened tomatoes, house-cured meats, freshly caught fish, fruity olive oils and sharp, pungent cheeses.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I went there after a long day at the disney parks and were given the weird look because we dressed in khaki shorts and sneakers. We felt ackward the whole entire time as our waiter was being ackward as well. We just finished up and left right away. My idiology is "if I could afford it, you will serve me no matter how I'm dressed".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aamayora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    478
    318
    216
    193
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clermont
Level Contributor
411 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were disappointed with most of the dinner. For appetizers portobello mushroom was good, shrimp was good but eggplant strips which were good tasting were barely warm. They would have been wonderful if they had been hot. The crostinies were ugh! The pasta dishes were a pasty, sticky sauce and barely warm. The menu said the shrimp dishes were rock shrimp but they were tiny regular shrimp. When we asked the waiter he said that is how it has always been. I would call that deception! The othere meals were ok. There are too many other great Italian restaurants in Orlando. I would skip this one the next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whimisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Went in for dinner on Friday, December 14th. I was alone, and the wait for a table was 30-40 minutes. The hostess informed me that the bar area was open seating, and I found a table right away.

I always appreciate when a server knows about the food and is willing to make recommendations. Dennis was my server and his recommendations were spot on. I will be returning for the portobello mushroom appetizer for sure!

I sat in the bar, where the atmosphere was nice and lively. Overall the restaurant seemed a good place for families & groups. But I also noticed some quieter nooks that would serve for a more intimate dining experience.

I forgot my credit card at the table when I left and Dennis found me outside to give it back to me. Now THAT is service :)

Will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kewlkat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Jason and Jen are amazing!!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just ate at the bar here. The service was impeccable. Jason behind the bar was very knowledgeable and friendly. Spoke to the manager Jen who was very caring and cheerful. She was very helpful with my allergy questions. The mozzarella stuffed rice balls melt in your mouth. A+

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeypizzapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our family recently ate at Portobellos, as is our custom when at Disney World. This time it was an "all adult" meal and we were a group of 6. We were seated right at the time of our reservation. Our waiter was great, as was the variety of items available on the menu. We had a great time and all enjoyed our meals, which varied from a pizza with egg, a fantastic seared pork chop and a variety of pastas. It was busy, but not excessive noisy. A highlight of our vacation!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired11yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing