We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Duck!”
Review of Primo

Primo
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #399 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: Primo specializes in Italian cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, an outstanding wine list and exceptional service. The restaurant features on-site organic gardens. Located at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes with a captivating view of a tropical paradise and Greg Norman designed golf course, you will enjoy the Primo experience.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome Duck!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently took the whole family to Primo. I have to say this was an excellent and memorable meal. I had the duck. It was the best duck I've ever had. The taste was amazing. The perfectly crisped skin (which I don't normally like on dick), really added to the flavor. We also had a half portion of a pasta dish for starters. Once again the mix if flavors made for a truly unique dish. I also liked the draught brown ale from Tampa. I highly recommend Primo and will certainly be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    84
    38
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First rate organic food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Everything everyone had was excellent. The food is expensive, but superb. Many things are grown on site and the others are sourced locally as much as possible. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller9876123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading the reviews we choose Primo for dinner while staying at the JW Marriott for 5 days. We were seated in a side room/area so we felt the ambience was not the same feeling as if we sat in the main restaurant. We have a pizza for an appetizer and it was very good - should have stopped there. I had the pork and my husband had a pasta entree. Both were served cold/luke warm. We told the server since he asked and he would have taken it back but it was late and we were both tired and wanted to leave. He did bring us complimentary dessert. The service was great but for what we spent we left disappointed. Nice wine list but most bottles are priced very high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good food and wine, but pricey”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

While you should expect to pay a premium for food and beverages at Primo simply because it is located in the JW Marriott property, the food was quite good -- soup and salad with very fresh ingredients, followed by pasta dishes with freshly made pasta. You can get the pasta dishes in half-portions, which were totally sufficient for us. The wine was wonderful, but, again, really pricey. If you choose to stay on the property at the Marriott, Primo is a fine place to dine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pegali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Make reservations as soon as you check in!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent food and service. As I noted above, this place gets booked in a hurry every night, and for good reason1

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing